We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent alternative”
Review of Carmela Restaurant

Carmela Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 164 Restaurants in Horsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Carmela Italian Restaurant is run by the Raciti family and offers an authentic Italian dining experience for all the family. Based in Denne Road Horsham, West Sussex, the 16th century listed building has been completely renovated from top to toe in a contemporary yet charming style which is both warm and inviting.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent alternative”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Tucked away out of sight from the hordes, this is a gem. OK, it's another Italian in a town full of them, but it has a good range of dishes other than pasta and pizza and the staff are friendly and helpful. The little patio area outside has been well designed to shelter it from the road and in the warmer weather feels about as Mediterranean as you're going to get in Horsham.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boundah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    141
    83
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked for six people,on a Sunday evening. When we arrived the welcome was great and our drinks order arrived very promptly. Starters of calamari and arancini were excellent, as was pasta dish for 5 year old. Mains however tasted tired: my lamb shank did not seem to have been cooked in the sauce in which it had been served: sauce excellent, lamb tasteless. Accompanying mashed potatoe tasted peculiar.

Booking is chaotic if you book via the website, even when confirmed by telephone AND follow up email.

We have been before and enjoyed it but there is more restaurants in horsham which are superior so we won't be back

Helpful?
Thank skukusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ate here on a wild and windy December evening . The welcome was very warm . We were seated in a table in the window overlooking the outdoor patio . A great table . However some diners were eating in an area just as you enter the restaurant which seemed very impersonal and certainly not a table I would want. For starters we had a selection of Italian breads and some Sicilian sausage which were both very good . Our main course we shared a meat meze which was excellent. The plate was huge and consisted of 2 steaks which were a little overlooked 4 lamb chops 2 Sicilian sausages 2huge chicken breasts and some polenta chips. This I think was about £25 which I thought was good value. We also had side plates of roast potato and grilled vegetables again both superb. We were too full for dessert . The waitress was more than happy to wrap our leftover meat and allow us to take away. The restaurant itself is lovely. Almost like someone's front room. Atmosphere was lovely and warming . I would be happy to recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frenchfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was the first time we had been to Carmela. We had such a good time. The atmosphere was so charming, warm and welcoming. All the staff knew their food and were very helpful and friendly. The menu was truely Sicilian and varied. The food tasted out of this world. We would certainly visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madgefuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A modern twist to Sicilian cuisine. Ristorante Carmela adds a twist to Italian / Sicilian food that works a dream. Carmela Ristorante sits in a Tudor building on the corner of Denne Road in Horsham, which when your on the inside opens up into a smart, modern and charming Sicilian Ristorante.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hotdog_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmela Restaurant also viewed

 
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to Carmela Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing