We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Thai but over priced in some areas.”
Review of River Kwai - CLOSED

River Kwai
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Thai but over priced in some areas.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Ate at the Thai resturant Thursday gone. All three of us found the food to be tasty but not amazing. The mixed starter which consists of a couple of bites of chicken and prawn toast cost a whopping £16.00!! Service was fine and typical of a Thai setting. I would return but certainly not for the starter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    30
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We still love it”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We first visited over 20years ago and have been regulars ever since.Over the years we've introduced our children and friends to it and all love it.
Having spent a considerable amount of time visiting Thailand on business the food is about as authentic as you can make it in a UK environment. The wine list is reasonably priced and includes a Gerwurtstraminer the wine of choice with spicey food. The starters are as someone else has said a highlight although we always add the chicken wings (no36) to our selection.
We probably visit about once a month and in all the years have had perhaps one iffy meal which was a Sunday night when the chef was off. Our last visit was last weekend with friends who particularly asked to go there and it was as good as ever. The staff are lovely particularly if you take the trouble to get to know them and follow the normal courtesies. Horsham has been inundated in recent times by mainly restaurant chains using microwave technology and by comparison the River Kwai is an oasis of freshly cooked delicious food.Long may it continue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful Service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant is ok if good service is not important to you. The food is ok, portion size ok, but the service is just awful. You do not feel as if there is the slightest hint of them being thankful that you've chosen to spend your money in their restaurant.

From the start your order is taken by someone who obviously feels smiling and appearing welcoming is unnecessary. There were 4 of us and we were only given 2 menus between us. It clearly irritated the waitress when i asked if we could have another menu! When the food arrives, it is virtually 'chucked' on the table - if cutlery or any of your possessions are in the way, the dishes will be thrown on top, again with no smiles.

This must be the only Thai restaurant that does not serve sticky or Jasmine rice! I had to ask for a knife as well, as they don't seem to provide them, just forks and spoons.

Getting the surly waitress's attention was very difficult - they march around with sour expressions and you feel like you are in a Gulag camp, not a restaurant. When you do manage to ask them for something, you receive an irritated response and what you have asked for is eventually dumped on the table.

Unfortunately my daughter and son in law like going there (their standards are clearly a lot lower than ours!), and it is always a disappointing experience because the service is just so atrocious.

When we finally left after paying, two of the waitresses were there and there were no smiles or thank yous, just the usual stern expression. I made a point of saying a loud thank you and good bye - well they weren't going to say it!

My advice - don't bother. Go instead to somewhere that makes you feel welcome and where they are grateful that you've chosen their restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skapole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stil la great place to eat”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant for over 20 years and have never been disappointed. The starters are legendary - order at least three between you! Forget the comments about the decor, who needs to sit in another bland beige restaurant anyway?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked to return here as a treat for me and my boyfriend. From our memory some 8 years ago, we had a lovely evening with good food and service.

This time as soon as we entered I felt it wasn't up to standards we expected and remembered. The decor was tired, carpet on the stairs was ripped and when I put my bag down on the carpet I noticed black sticky marks.

The table top and menus felt sticky. Though the staff were all polite and courteous.

The menu was repetitive with same sauces just different meats. Portion size was adequate and food ok but not special.

As usual, we had a loud table next to us which added to my frustration, though obviously nothing that the staff could do about this.

We will not be returning to the River Kwai as it really wasn't pleasant.

A big disappointment.

Helpful?
1 Thank jax26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Kwai also viewed

 
Rudgwick, Horsham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing