We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“somewhat dissapointed...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“somewhat dissapointed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Breathtaking entrance and check in, which turned out to be a teaser. We were relegated to a depressed looking building in the back of the property that could only be compared to a Travelodge, or a college dormitory that had been built 40 years ago. The sign said it had been built in 1982 but the decor and the air smelled as though it was from the sixties. The decor was sad, the furniture made of particle board that had been kicked so many times you could tell from across the room what it was made of. It was worse being in a room like that in the middle of such splendor than if the entire hotel had been dingy and worn down. It was like someone pulled the rug out, so to speak...

Over a 24 hour period there were bags of dirty linens in the hallway that were moved to a fro, but never actually removed. Our room was on the first level and looked out onto a parking lot with dumpsters and broken garden furniture. About 20% of the bulbs had blown and the entire place could have used a fresh coat of paint. When we asked about switching rooms (because the two men in the group had been given a double bed contrary to our request) we were told that the place was full even though it was a Sunday night, we never saw another soul in the building and the parking lot was virtually empty.

There was one young black man in braids that seemed to be doing all of the work. When we first checked in the receptionist couldn't reach housekeeping or anyone else so she asked him to help us out. Every time we were out after that, he was carrying furniture or bell-hopping. We never really saw any other staff, save 4 behind the reception desk. My husband remarked that someday that young man will be running the place; if it lasts that long...

I was embarrassed because I had chosen this hotel for a group of friends for the Wembly game... they provided the tickets, and we "treated" them to a hotel. I couldn't stop apologizing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_dilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    232
    91
    37
    27
See reviews for
169
290
33
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

I attended a wedding at the Grims Dyke hotel. The grounds were lovely and very spacious so there was plenty of room for everyone and for the children to play. the wedding was held in the music room - which is lovely decorated and a good size. the food at the wedding was a buffet, and it was very nice and catered for all ages. The staff were also very helpful and polite. We stayed at the hotel that night so we didnt have to travel home late, the room we stayed in was very clean, tidy and comfortable. we also had breakfast the next morning and all restaurant staff we friendly and willing to help, the food was exceptional too! I would recommend this hotel to friends and family who are maybe thinking of getting married. I would love to attend more weddings there in the future!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

We had our wedding at the Grims Dyke on Friday 17th September. We couldn't have had a better day, even the sun shone. The gardens looked beautiful and full of flowers even so late in the year. We have been there several times this year in the lead up to the wedding and it has always looked stunning. The hotel itself is full of character and the building is spectacular.

We have stayed in one of the garden suite rooms and found it very comfortable and peaceful. We have eaten in the restaurant twice and all the food has been delicious, artistically presented and imaginative. The staff throughout the hotel are incredibly friendly, helpful and professional, nothing is too much trouble.

All our wedding guests loved the hotel and grounds, and the food at the reception. We will be definitely be back, whether for a tea on a summers day in the gardens or for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWN0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

I stayed in the Grim's Dyke Hotel last weekend from Friday the 17th September to 19th September. I was very impressed how comfortable and clean the hotel was. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was really comfortable and the decor was beautiful. i had my two teenagers with me and they were even impressed with the hotel.

The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

I will be definitely recommending the Grim's Dyke Hotel to my friends if they are going to visit London.

Lisa Mardell
Limerick
Irelad

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I returned to the Grimsdyke Hotel to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, a year to the day on which we said our vows to each other at the very same place.

We spent the afternoon walking around the sumptuous grounds, into the Weald Common, and reminisced of our wedding day. I am fortunate to be a 'local' lass and have spent may an occasion with family and friends for celebrations at Gilberts Resteraunt. I had not, however, until this day appreciated the beautiful surroundings to their full especially when after a relaxing stroll we found our selves in the rose garden, rested ourselves on a seat in the sun (with a glass of Pimms) listened to the wind in the tress and absorbed the historical atmosphere around us.

Having checked into our room in the main house, a luscious suite with large windows overlooking the grounds, we got dolled up to go out to dinner.

We were escorted to our table in Gilbert's Restaurant by Phil, our maître d', and selected to enjoy a glass of the house Champagne whilst perusing the menu. I opted for the Mille feuille of courgette, following by Halibut on a bed of samphire with Baileys Creme Brulee to finish. My husband had a tempura of soft shell crab with a mango salsa, followed by seabass also with the Creme Brulee to finish - all of this enjoyed with a bottle of Puilly Fuse. Whilst we waited for our entrees we were served with a complimentary mise en bouche of carrot and orange soup which was bursting with flavour. Following our delicious meal we only just had room for the sumptuous petit fours that arrived with our coffees! The service throughout was impeccable. Although there was not a spare seat in the house there was such an atmosphere of intimacy created that we hardly noticed the other diners. After dinner we retired to the library bar for a digestif to round off our perfect romantic anniversary.

I cannot talk about the Grimsdyke without mentioning my warm affection and gratitude for the them team who provided the perfect wedding day for my husband and I. With such attention to detail, professionalism and pride in their work all we just had to sit back, relax and enjoy our special day. Our guests still talk about the excellent food and service!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomarieadamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

The Grim's Dyke continues to offer high quality service, a friendly and obliging staff and excellent value for money on the outskirts of London. The blend of historical, architectural and artistic influence around the main building with the requirements of the modern traveller is not an easy thing to achieve - The Grim's Dyke does it magnificently. The ambience in the main building and surrounding gardens is calm and relaxed, whilst the additional accomodation in the Garden Lodges provides modern, well equipped and functional accomodation.
The cuisine in the Gilbert Restaurant is top class with options for bar or room meals also available.
Overall, I continue to enjoy my stays at the Grim's Dyke, which provides a serene and relaxing escape for the pressuresof work.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon_Gloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

A very nice hotel with beautiful surroundings. Ordered food in the Library bar which was lovely. Staff (especially reception) were very polite and helpful and I would definitely go again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonylw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
3.5 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing