We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Watford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining”
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Enjoyed a superb dinner for 18 to celebrate grandmother's birthday - delicious food, glorious old-world opulent dining room, excellent service. Had had an equally excellent lunch previous month, and looking forward to more celebrations there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    244
    95
    38
    30
See reviews for
183
302
33
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2009

This location was idea. Bordering on the country this lovely hotel surprised us by its sweeping drive up to an enchanting hotel. We were greeted by the very helpful staff and the accommodation was far better than we thought. The Sullivan suite was a delight and with its 4-poster bed, you were transported back in time.

The food in the restaurant was enough to enlighten the most harden of taste buds and the service was exemplary.

We will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlloboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Located down a country lane and surrounded by trees, it got off to a bad start when the elderly receptionist couldn't find my pre-booked breakfast on my Laterooms confirmation. I found it easily enough, and then he sent me off to my room in an external annexe block with a keycard for the outer door but no key for the bedroom door. I traipse back with all my luggage, and this time, the key-card for the bedroom was so tricky, I had to get a porter to force it to work!
Free wi-fi, but you need a cable (another thing not mentioned by the receptionist, who also didn't deem it necessary to point out breakfast times or the location of the dining room )- hmmmmm.
Reasonable tv coverage in the bedroom, but the pillows and old fashioned bedding was uncomfotable and I was cold through the night.
Breakfast was fine, but as I paid, the guy in front was complaining of no hot water to his shower either at night or in the morning.
As I left in the morning, the maid was hovvering outside my door ..... on bonus perhaps ?
At £79 bed and breakfast it was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

My birthday treat was to be a Gilbert & Sullivan evening at Grims Dyke. My wife thought it might be a bit expensive to stay the night but enquired anyway and was told that, as an August Special, we could have any room or suite for £65 a night including bed and breakfast. She booked The Gilbert Suite and it was just wonderfull - huge bedroom overlooking the gardens with four poster bed, beautiful high ceiling and all the little extras that you usually pay a high premium for. Lovely bathroom with huge cast iron bath and a feeling of opulence.

The hotel is the former home of W S Gilbert but is not typically Victorian - all angles and quirks. Lovely grounds with lots of surprises - would not have expected redwood trees.
Gorgeous rose garden too.

Ok, we got it cheap, we had front row seats for the performance and the best table for breakfat. But we had a brilliant time enhanced by friendly staff amd lovely weather so absolutely faultless.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitegates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford,UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed for one night in Mikado Room which was lovely. Hotel is a bit dated but really nice to be in an old fashioned hotel. The food was very good, dinner and breakfast, service also very good. Beautiful setting and could not fault it at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 5824jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I have been stayinging in the Grims Dyke for 7 months, 3/4 nights a week.
I can honestly say thet the service that i have recieved from all staff ,everything from checking in at reception to using its wide range of services has been excelent.
The staff are very friendly and helpful no matter what the time of day or night.
The standard of the hotel is excellent and the suroundings are breath taking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The hotel is lovely - typical countryside hotel. Goood location - surrounded by very nice gardens. Rooms are ok - standard rooms. I have been there several times and I always booked my room in the new part of the hotel (as those are the cheapest!). Unfortunately there are not many special offers and the price - being far away from London - is quite high. The main building is an historical mansion, very nice and posh. They play operas and concerts and there's a very nice cafè with a gardew view. I would recommend it especially in summer time.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kc_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
4.8 mi away
The Barn Hotel
The Barn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ruislip
502 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#5 of 8 in Harrow
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing