We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hindes Hotel(Harrow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Watford(Watford)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveler rating
417
269
103
42
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
269
103
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegarden lodgemusic roombeautiful groundsgilbert's restaurantlibrary barcream teabeautiful hotelanne mariefour poster bedcountry housedrawing roomwedding partyold housewedding breakfaststeeped in historyfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 861 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I came here to celebrate my friend's civil partnership with his boyfriend and the place was amazing...and this was during winter! I can imagine what its like during summer! The staff are very friendly and accommodating. It has an eerie feeling of being a lord's house during the Elizabethan age. The room I stayed in was quite small but was adequate. It was clean and had all the amenities.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank marbitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the past 20 years but felt that the magic was slipping. However at the 90th. birthday party that we attended last night our faith was restored. Great service, excellent food and the hotel beautifully decorated for Christmas. The garden lodge has been superbly upgraded. Our only small concern is that on the long driveway there are speed humps and in the dark, they cannot be seen so we had some unpleasant bumpiness. Perhaps some white paint or illuminated signage please?

Room Tip: Never slam a revolving door! That's a good tip! However, room 115 is very good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We only stayed one night and didn't have much chance to look round the wonderful grounds, but we found the accommodation very peaceful and comfortable. We were glad to be staying in the annex as there was a wedding in the main hotel. Despite the excellent television, we somehow couldn't find Radio 4, but that may have been down to us. We stayed in a twin room, in very comfortable adjacent beds.

Breakfast was OK, though we didn't get enough tea or coffee. My teapot was too small and my husband only got one cup of coffee. We could have asked for more, but needed to get off as we were visitng relatives nearby. My husband enjoyed his full vegetarian breakfast, but my mushrooms on toast weren't very exciting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank RuthandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed in the Grim's Dyke in December 2013 for four nights.
On the whole a quality hotel, my room was comfortable and very clean. The parking is also convenient though the stairs are quite difficult to negotiate once inside the annex building.
The reception was welcoming and always helpful. The location of the Grim's Dyke whilst set in a wood of beauty, requires the use of a car, as it is somewhat remote, returning at night in the dark by foot and public transport would not be an experience one would relish.

Room Tip: For the more more elderly in the annex, a ground floor room is an advantage.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews