We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grims Dyke Hotel, Harrow Weald”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grims Dyke Hotel, Harrow Weald”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on business primarily used for location. When I arrived and discovered the history associated with the property (once owned by Gilbert of Gilbert & Sullivan fame), used as film/ drama location. It is a very lovely hotel with lots of history and very peaceful and quiet. Very easy to access major routes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    235
    91
    38
    27
See reviews for
174
292
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

An amazing place with historical connections. Recommend staying here just to experience this unusual building and gardens which is tucked away in Harrow. A beautiful retreat and away from the crowds. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Staying in the main hotel, our room was clean and tidy. As this place is so quiet and away from the noise and traffic of London, you could be anywhere in the countryside. Getting off to sleep was at first difficult only because of the sound of a water tank continually filling above our room. The night staff came into the room at 2am to investigate and fortunately ten minutes or so later the sound stopped, so I can only assume they found the cause of the plumbing fault. Well done and thank you! We arrived almost exactly at half past nine which is when the chef disappears, so unfortunately we had to go out again to hunt for food, which was a little disappointing. Maybe the new management will address this problem? Also, strangely for some reason, there was no direct access to the dining room from the main house. To get to Gilberts (the restaurant) we were forced to venture out of the main entrance and around the front of the house to reach the place. Not so good if it's raining heavily or freezing cold! The breakfast bar was quite limited and cramped in the corner of the entrance hall. Again a little disappointing and I'm sure something the new management may well want to address. However, all these things aside, this is an extraordinary place to stay, not in the heart of London but not so far from anything and convenient if you're traveling by car. It's worth a look even if you're only passing by!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently held our wedding at the Grim's Dyke and could not fault the service both running up to the day and on the day itself. The staff were all friendly and extremely attentive and the day went very smoothly.
Fantastic venue for any occasion.

Room Tip: Book in the main house for the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Was there for a wedding, four days only, it was something else, food fab,staff brilliant. I taught at one stage I had lost my phone charger, all the staff who had heard about it, were searching for it for me....... but, of course it was hiding in a corner of my case.
Fabulous place, very relaxing, staff brill, grounds, wow. One tiny problem.......... the bar staff are not trained in the 'Art' of filling GUINNESS. Here's how...... The glass is held up to the tap at approx 45 degree angle, then the GUINNESS is poured in until the glass is filled to more than three-quarters, THEN, it is let settle four a few minuets, the longer the better, GUINNESS drinkers DO NOT mind waiting for there drink.
The next stage is, the topping up, this is where you bring the glass back up to the tap and, very gently push the tap forward and fill the glass right to the top.
If you do this properly, you will have the PERFECT pint of the black stuff...... Cheers.

I hope to get back to Grim's Dyke soon again, for a longer stay...would recommend to anybody who would like a very nice, relaxing holiday

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickmac1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I only stayed for 2 nights but I wish it had been more ; the environment makes for a refreshment of your inner person. I will definitely return and stay longer even if it was for the location. The breakfast was excellent but a larger 'full English' would have been nice. The grounds are amazingly peaceful for a stroll, one wouldn't think you are so close to London.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with work. Checked in a Sunday night very late and was booked into one of the garden rooms, which are a short walk from the main house. Room was ok with all the basic amenities. Decided to have a bath before bed and unfortunately the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been. Bath plug hole was clogged with hair and there were hairs on the edge of the bath (not mine!) While lying in the bath, i glanced over and noticed stains on the underneath rim of the toilet so this area had been clearly missed when the toilet was cleaned!
On a positive the room was quiet and the bed comfortable, although the room was hot and there is no air con, however you can fully open a window.
I was supposed to receive a wake up call the next morning but this never happened so luckily I had set my phone alarm as well! Used the tv once to watch the breakfast news but reception was poor, very grainy on all channels.
Breakfast was good, I had poached egg and bacon and croissants. They had decaf tea which was good as many hotels don't.
In summary, this place is ok if you just need a bed for a night for work but I wouldn't stay here for pleasure as for the money I'm sure you could find a better and cleaner place! Shame as the place has so much potential given it's history.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great new lunch dish for me in the hotel recently - Chicken Kiev with a curry sauce filling. Simply delicious. It's the kind of dish that makes you want to go back another day, and I most certainly will. Add the friendly and efficient service into the mix, alongside the stunning surroundings, and it's a real winner. Good on you Gilbert. Ray P.

Room Tip: N/A as I didn't stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
4.8 mi away
The Barn Hotel
The Barn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ruislip
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing