We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Reception at the Grim's Dyke!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding Reception at the Grim's Dyke!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I would definitely recommend this Hotel. The Wedding Coordinator, Claire O'Donovan and all the staff made our special day run extremely smoothly. The whole day as a result was relaxing. Even though it rained, it didn't spoil the day at all and John made sure we could use the Lounge for our photographs. The grounds of course are amazing. The food was fantastic and many people commented on how lovely it had been. The Bridal Suite was beautiful and had recently been refurbished.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    240
    95
    38
    29
See reviews for
181
299
33
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Grim's Dyke, in the main house not the annex, which gives the feeling of living in a grand country home. My room had a bow window overlooking the garden and a 4 poster bed; all very glamorous and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful except for those who served in the dinning room at breakfast. They had no interest in giving the patrons a menu, or filling cups or seeing that food was swiftly served. This is the only negative for an otherwise delightful break.
The house has extensive grounds which offer good outside areas to explore, what beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stopped for two nights in the annexe and were highly impressed with the room and facilities.There were porcelain mugs and ground coffee in the room and two comfortable beds. My only complaint was that there was no mirror available next to a power socket so I had to keep unplugging my straighteners to reach the mirror. There was a hand mirror in the bathroom though but I suppose I'm fussy and like a big mirror to do my hair with. The breakfast was very good and the £12.95 two course evening meal in the restaurant was reasonable although chips, veg etc. were extra. The meals were adequate for me but for my husband I don't think there was quite enough to fill him but the food was lovely and service excellent. The grounds are well kept and beautiful, with woodland and streams and on a lovely day they were very welcome. I got this break on a half price deal and was 'over the moon' with my find. I would definitely use it again and I would highly recommend it. All in all a lovely time was had

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilfiepoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After searching for the "right " venue for our daughters wedding we finally looked closer to home and looked at the Grims Dyke (we had been there for dinner some time before and from the moment we were greeted by the co-ordinator we were made to feel relaxed and in good hands...extremely helpful and professional, very honest with pricing (which was a welcome change) ..The lovely feeling of homeliness and comfort was a delight, the food was delicious and correct temperature, selected wine and service was great... needless to say the wedding went without a hitch. We had all the bedrooms in main house and guests had garden rooms all of which had no complaints. Plenty of parking and most beautiful private drive through woods to get to the house which is of historic value with beautiful gardens. We still go there to have lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here as it was convenient for the local hospital. There was a wedding taking place, so it was quite full and we ended up with a dark room in the annexe overlooking the car park. There was only one other room available which was a twin, but they quickly converted that to a 'double'. The only problem was that the mattresses didn't zip together, so the result was a very uncomfortable night's sleep!

On the positive side, the building and facilities were very good and the food in the restaurant was excellent (although I do object to paying extra for 'vegetables of the day'!). The grounds are great for a short walk before a drink in the lovely bar.

Overall, u, I would recommend this hotel, but I think they could improve their scores even more if these irritating minor issues could be addressed!

Room Tip: If you want a double, make sure you get a real double, not a pushed together twin as they don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We attended last night's performance of Ruddigore in the very atmospheric Music Room of what used to be the home of W,S Gilbert of Gilbert and Sullivan fame.
The Opera Dinner Evening was superb, we enjoyed a three course meal and watched the performance in a relaxed yet elegant way. I think the candelabras on each table, and guests in evening dress gave an atmosphere of bye gone days. The food was well presented, tasty and served hot and with a smile from a very efficient team of waiters and waitresses. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt welcome and comfortable all evening.
If you are a G&S fan then this is a MUST GO, if a general music lover then again it is truly something to experience.
The principal performers are all professionals so a real treat to the ears and eyes as the perform in full costume. The chorus are all volunteers but clearly experienced and polished singers.
There are other events hosted there and I truly appreciate it is a delightful venue, the gardens are well cared for and the Hydrangeas looked particularly stunning at this time of year.
In summary, I cannot wait to return to experience more of this unique hotel.

Room Tip: Not applicable this time, but we will return and stay over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ka h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My son's wedding took place at the Grim's Dyke Hotel in July 2013 and throughout the planning stage the wedding advisers were extremely helpful and courteous. On the day everything was perfect. The wedding breakfast was delicious, the service second to none and everyone commented what a wonderful day it had been. The rooms for the wedding guests were discounted by 50% and the rooms for the immediate family were superb.
Their Golden Summer inclusive package was excellent value and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Barn Hotel
The Barn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ruislip
493 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing