We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with beautiful gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with beautiful gardens”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a nice hotel with beautiful gardens. We stayed in a garden room which was lovely. The room was a little run-down, but ok. Staff were ok, but need more training. They often didn't have the right menu or didn't know what specials they had etc. We had room service one night that took about 45 minutes for a sandwich.

I wouldn't rave about this hotel, but it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyinAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    235
    91
    38
    27
See reviews for
174
292
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A beautifully set hotel, with charming genuine staff, everybody from bar to reception team.

The grounds are beautiful, as is the whole property.

Food was really delicious.

I'd definitely consider using the hotel again. It'd make a good romantic break location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeOn74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I went for a cream tea that my daughter treated me and my husband and a friend too. It was very nice sitting in the garden and the tea was nicely presented. There was a wedding on so we had a little look round. The place was a little edgy and needed pulling together, the staff were not professional enough and rather slow. It's such a lovely place but needs a make over.The entrance to the hotel needs a very good tidy up, should be better as its the first impression.
I didn't see the swimming pool but can't delete the rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteHeywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After having a lovely stay when it was colder in terms of weather, my wife and I decided to go back and enjoy the lovely grounds now we had the sunshine.
We booked a Garden Lodge room on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal that was a very reasonable price.
Starting with the afternoon. We had a few drinks in the sunshine and found the staff to be extremely friendly, accommodating and generally lovely to deal with.
The gardens were immaculately groomed and sitting in the sunshine was a wonderfully relaxing experience.
Dinner / service was excellent in terms of quality and taste.

We paid extra for breakfast to the room at 09.30 - Everything was PERFECT. We requested soft boiled eggs as part of the selection on offer and even though the lodge is situated away from the main building / kitchen it arriveed exactly as requested.
The member of staff was bang on time, and all of the othe breakfast elements were cooked beautifully.
The garden lodge room we booked had a large balcony, and it was a delight sitting out in the morning sunshine, looking out over the gardens eating / relaxing.

The rooms was spotlessly clean, and the bed really comfortable.

All in all a lovely hotel, great staff and a big THANK YOU from a very happy couple for a stress free relaxing break!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked two rooms for three nights in July 2013 and chose the hotel because it was close to Harry Potter World and had nearby train connections into central London. We phoned the hotel direct and got a very good room rate, but we had to purchase breakfast separately ( we booked at checkin and were charged £9.50 per person for a full English breakfast).
We were housed in a garden room sited in a block near the main building. The rooms were adequate, comfortable and clean - but in need of an update! The main building and grounds are very pretty and were formally the home of Gilbert (of Gilbert and Sullivan fame).
We ordered lunch at the bar and ate in the gardens which was very pleasant and the sandwiches were good. We also had a dinner in the restaurant which was nice, but the breakfasts we had were poor. The breakfast buffet was not fully stocked and we had to ask for orange juice, milk, butter and croissants. The croissants were promised but never came!!! We also had a cooked breakfast which was served at your table and was okay. It was difficult to get coffee and tea as the restaurant was understaffed and getting staff attention was difficult!
The hotel was conveniently situated for a visit to Harry Potter World which is a short 25 minute drive away. We also drove and parked at Bushey station (a 10-15 minute drive away) and got the train into central London (Euston) which was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed for one night on business - last minute booking turned out to be cheaper than the cheapest business chain hotel up the road. The hotel is wonderful, so calm and peaceful after the noise and activity of my working day in north London. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ztarfizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Finchley, London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently got married at the Grimsdyke hotel and we had an amazing day. The staff were very helpful from the beginning and they did everything they could to accommodate us on our big day.

Our day was well organised by the hotel (right down to the finest detail) and all of our guests were amazed by the quality of the venue, the food, refreshments and friendliness of the staff. We had fantastic weather and 10 mins before the guests arrived I asked for the drinks to be served as they arrived rather than after the ceremony. This was no issue for the hotel and they laid out the drinks as the guests arrived - a very nice touch.

Our day was a truly special one and one that we will never forget thanks to Claire and her colleagues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PG123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
4.8 mi away
The Barn Hotel
The Barn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ruislip
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing