We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Only stayed at Grim's Dyke for one night but throughly enjoyed our stay. We were planning on going into London on the morning we arrived and although we knew it was unlikely we could check into our room at that time, there was absolutely no problem with us leaving the car at the hotel for the day. The receptionist could not have been more helpful, she gave us advice on the train/tube routes into London and also arranged for a taxi for us to the station. In the evening we had a lovely meal in the restaurant with excellent service and the breakfast in the morning was also first class. We stopped in one of the garden rooms which was clean, comfortable and perfectly satisfactory. The staff were excellent throughout.. We would thoroughly recommend Grim's Dyke and found it ideal for visiting London but great to retreat back to the peace and quiet of this location.

Room Tip: Will definitely visit again but would probably upgrade to one of the period rooms located in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    232
    91
    37
    27
See reviews for
169
290
33
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I found this hotel late last year and have stayed there a number of times since. Superb grounds, a long drive-way to a beautiful building - once owned by WS Gilbert of G and Sullivan fame.

Rooms are in a lodge next to the main building. They are well appointed with the usual complementary bits and pieces - posh biscuits and trouser press etc. probably a solid 3 star except for the slightly tired corridors.

The restaurant is in the main building. It's been through some refurbishment in the last year and now presents as up-market and sedate, quiet colours with original decor features. The bar looks out over superbly manicured lawns and mature shrubs. Quite beautiful.

Only minor irritant is that I've found, despite arriving at the restaurant at the 7pm opening time, it's quite likely you'll wait up to 45 minutes for the first course. Strange, because the management have obviously applied attention to detail around service. I'm told they are currently recruiting so perhaps it a manpower thing. I hope so.

I'd certainly recommend Grim's Dyke - oh and they've got a dawn chorus you'd expect from a rural setting - nice way to wake up !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel as a last minute idea when coming to London to see Robbie Williams. Very reasonably priced, good location, didn't see much of the hotel as we were staying in the garden rooms however the next morning we were stunned by the beauty of the place.
Room was comfortable and clean. Will stay again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CasperEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have to own up to being frequent Premier Inners and Travelodgers - cheap, sometimes cheerful, sometimes not, but always good value for money. However, when we want a "proper" hotel and everything that goes with it - good rooms, good service, good food, good location - nothing beats Grim's Dyke. The dinner/bed/breakfast deals are well worth it. Some querkiness in the booking/admin systems - somehow the computer always say "no" when it should say "yes" - but always rectified by willing and competent staff. If you can afford it, get the rooms in the main house. They are worth the extra and you can feel part of the house's intriguing history. The staff are great, working as a team, both in the hotel and the restaurant. The restaurant menu is varied and interesting and the food well cooked, presented and served.

Room Tip: Go for the main house if you can. Just so much more fun than the Garden Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaw43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a gem of a place on the outskirts of North London. I was fortunate enough to get a room upgrade into the main building and the Mikado room - 4 poster bed and bay window over the lawn. Stayed here a couple of times now and this time I saw the place in daylight. Former home of W.S. Gilbert - he of Gilbert &Sullivan opera fame. Indeed, they have Gilbert & Sullivan weekends with performances in the large Music Room. So the Mikado room and bed was fantastic. Breakfast was OK. The setting amongst the woods is wonderful. All too short a stay for me

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEdwinI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a refreshing surprise - good value, fabulous hotel within commuting distance of London. I shall return. The restaurant offered high quality food at a reasonable price and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The rooms in the separate annexe are perfectly acceptable considering thei price. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraint Hywel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in room 114 for one night, two single beds, smallish but very nice bathroom had obviously been recently renovated as looked new, modern square shaped toilet and overhead fixed shower which was very invigorating and heated towel rail, restaurant meal was very good, steak cooked how you like it (medium rare), crunchy carrots and whole beans (how they should be, crunchy), breakfast next morning help yourself to cereal, fruit, etc; first (nice to see Alpen muesli, original Swiss recipe, along with the other cereals), hot cooked english breakfast to follow, delicious bacon, egg, and sausage.

Stunning grounds, a tranquil and peaceful setting, two lounges (with daily papers to read in one), and a pleasant Library bar, would definitely go again on special rate deals.

Just a couple of minor things would make a difference, a clock radio, as mall clock on table beside bed tended to tick, and had to put in a drawer, plus like to listen to radio in the morning instead of TV (a large TV was in room), plus a couple of bottles of complementary mineral water would also be most welcome, as most other hotels have this, other than that it was all very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
3.5 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing