We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hindes Hotel(Harrow)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Watford(Watford)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveler rating
417
269
103
42
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
269
103
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegarden lodgemusic roombeautiful groundsgilbert's restaurantlibrary barcream teabeautiful hotelanne mariefour poster bedcountry housedrawing roomwedding partyold housewedding breakfaststeeped in historyfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
641 - 646 of 861 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Gorgeous grounds but it stops there for us.

Arrived to a packed restaurant, great atmosphere and we thought umm popular place must be good. Then it went wrong, were told there was no lamb left which was not the best start, they had 12 AAA rosettes and with two other large tables still to eat had run out of food. Anyway, starters arrived and we had to ask for bread, seems they don't offer it to everyone all the time.

Dessert if you can call over whipped cream cheesecake was not nice, neither was the homemade ice-cream,more ice than cream the only saving grace was the Creme brûlée delicious.

It's a shame, maybe they were having an off day but if you turned up for a celebration and they had an off day I don't think you would be very happy either.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Have-You-Been-Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to our niece's wedding in May and decided to take advantage of the special wedding rate on offer and stay over. We were glad we did. The b and b rate we had was a bargain compared to the hiked rates being offered by nearby budget hotels because of the football playoffs at Wembley that weekend. £120 for a family of 3 in this part of the world is good! Nice location and beautiful grounds/setting. It was a brilliant wedding and the organisation of the day seemed superb. Our sons special dietary needs were met well and service was efficient and courteous. Wedding meal was good quality and well thought out and put together. Breakfast next morning was good value and freshly cooked to order. So much better than a buffet! Bedroom and bathroom were nice and clean with good quality tea/coffee trays. Would definitely stay again if needing accommodation in North London area. Well done Grims Dyke Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivusndiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

One night stay at this country house hotel. Pleasant location, lovely old house in mature woodland garden. Has the appearance of a good wedding venue for album images, if albums still exist?

A little unfair to give an average rating for the hotel, based on a late arrival for an overnight stay. Rating related to the accommodation in the garden lodge annexe. Clean and well presented accommodation but not special. Again maybe unfair with consideration to the tariff. Average doesn't mean sub standard. A reasonable room, clean sheets a good night's sleep and full english breakfast at a fair rate. No complaints, but the garden lodge was more budget hotel than country house for me.

Gilberts restaurant offers a pleasant dining room with a standard cooked breakfast and service.

Not a bad place to be, but not twice for me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I got married at the Grim's Dyke on 30th May this year and had an amazing day, I couldn't fault the hotel in any way. Thank you to all the staff who were involved in the planning of the wedding and in the day itself, everyone was very helpful and polite and made us feel very special, it was a totally stress free day. The food was delicious and the people with special dietary needs were well catered for. This is a beautiful venue and we had a perfect day. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELAINE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Together with six colleagues I stayed here for one night. We arrived whilst the hotel was obviously busy as it was one of their cream tea afternoons. Invited to join in we declined due to prior arrangements but were dealt with quickly and booked in with offers to carry luggage to the garden rooms still provided. The rooms were large, comfortable and if I had remembered to shut my curtains I wouldn't have been woken by the sunlight streaming in at 5:20am. But the early start gave me the opportunity to walk round the wonderful gardens. Breakfast was quick and efficiently served with replenishment of coffee whilst I chatted with colleagues not an issue. Well done Grims Dyke staff.

Room Tip: Main house rooms are not suitable if you need wheelchair access, but others are. For a treat seee if you can book a room with a four poster bed !! Some rooms also have patios that you can sit out on, if it is nice weather this might be a nice way to end an evening.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews