We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok but little or no mobility problems addressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“ok but little or no mobility problems addressed”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a garden room. Room small but adequate. Ventilation poor as when you had a shower, despite the bathroom door being closed, the whole bedroom area steamed up and there was condensation. This was obviously a problem as the windows were deteriorated around the sills/window decoration. Decoration was a little tired. Our daughters bedroom - the hinge was broken on the front door. This meant to close their door it had to be lifted and then closed. It was reported immediately and they were offered a change of room --excellent.

Brekky nice and the poached eggs were good and not poached with the aid of vinegar - good! Service very attentive but an extra £2.00 for a frothy coffee??

To stay here was cheaper than a Travelodge/Premier Inn which was why we booked it.

The Old House is lovely and the service was impeccable in the bar. Bar food good value and the sandwiches were freshly made.

I have to agree with a previous reviewer that are no facilities for those with mobility issues. There are stairs everywhere, either in the main house or in the garden rooms that are quite new. I am surprised no ramps are available.

Experience let down by detail.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are cheaper but a little tired. Brekky nice either continental or full English. Boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    235
    91
    38
    27
See reviews for
174
292
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

When we stayed at Grim's Dyke the room was clean and well decorated, overlooking the water, and the bathroom was clean and bright. The shower was not the best - difficult to control the temperature and there was a lack of pressure. The only other thing which did let the place down was the breakfast staff, they were not the most caring or helpful. Otherwise, top marks from me!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moss R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

*BEWARE* if you have mobility problems...our elderly parents wanted to attend a family wedding here but having established that there are NO facilities for disabled people to access the main function room and NO access to disabled toilets we cancelled their room. When we attended the wedding function and having seen the alleged access problems to the main function room we quickly established that these access matters could be resolved with little effort and cost despite the excuse that they make that alterations can not be done due to planning regulations. To add insult to injury having cancelled the room for them twice by phone and well in advance as it states in their terms and conditions these people had the audacity to charge our parents for a room that was not used, when we tried to speak to a manager about this they refused to discuss it further and hung up, we have now to fight to recover the money for our octogenarian disabled parents. Shocking stuff...the family spent a fortune here on that day as well. Shame as venue and wedding were superb.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in room 207 in the garden rooms. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, warm, and the bathroom was clean and bright. Bed very comfortable ( which I know very well as unfortunately I went down with a bug for most of the break) Lack of TV channels did not help my bed-rest as there were no Freeview channels and no information on the screen and no radio. Could have done with a clock of some sort in there too, always handy when you are away. The only food we had there was breakfast-all we can say is what is said in the heading of this review. The last time we had this quality of food was in a not very nice hotel in Scarborough about four years ago. This is not the sort of thing I was hoping to write about the Grims Dyke as a stay there has always been a wish for me. After this stay I do not think we will rush back/

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Could not fault the Grim's Dyke Hotel. A Victorian beauty to behold.....Situated in a green part of North London, (Yes there is such a place !), well away from the hurly burly of the A5. A landscape view of the city in the distance visible from the entrance . Interesting walks look as if they are close by in park land. You need a car if you want convenience, as I was at RAF Museum Hendon for a seminar . Railway & Tube stations are not too far away, but I don't think any buses pass the entrance of what is a small estate ...so you might need a taxi .
Staff are delightful in all respects, and I would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: The lower price rooms are in the annexe, which is where I stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just got back after a lovely one night stay at this hotel! Honestly I could not fault a thing!
My husband and I were there for a family birthday celebration on Sunday afternoon. Food was gorgeous and service second to none! We had the birthday meal in a lovely function room but had an evening meal in the restaurant late evening which was equally excellent! Our room at the lodge was spotless and very comfy! And to finish our brilliant weekend we had a peaceful Monday morning English breakfast ! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiebabe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a fabulous country house hotel in many respects - a beautiful old building with historic connections (W. S. Gilbert, of Gilbert and Sullivan fame, lived here), lovely public rooms, and extensive grounds. It is also within very easy reach of central London. The restaurant is superb. But, visiting for a dinner dance and staying overnight, at an admittedly competitive price, I was disappointed to be packed off to the newer building that contains the majority of the hotel's bedrooms: the Garden Lodges. Having to trudge through the rain to and from the main building for both the evening event and breakfast was no fun, particularly when wearing one's best bib and tucker. The bedrooms in the Garden Lodges, furthermore, are characterless and run-of-the-mill: you could easily believe yourself to be staying in a Travelodge. Bedrooms in the main building are far nicer, if (according to a fellow guest) "a little tired". With some renovation (and a rather more enthusiastic reception staff), the Grims Dyke Hotel could be a top choice among the luxurious country house hotels that now ring London. Otherwise, the outlook for the Grims Dyke could be....er.....grim.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel, not the Garden Lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinmeadtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
4.8 mi away
The Barn Hotel
The Barn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ruislip
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing