We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat .....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great retreat .....”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Attended a wedding at the Grimsby Dyke Hotel and what a joy. Amazing grounds, excellent staff, amazing service. Stayed overnight in one of the rooms in the Garden Lodge and this was very good. Well serviced, very comfortable bed. Furniture is a little dated but in very good condition and well maintained.
Excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    244
    95
    39
    30
See reviews for
183
302
33
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My Wife and I had our Wedding Reception here in May 2012 and have nothing but good things to say about it. We stayed the night in a Bridal Suite and had breakfast the next day with all of our guests as it was all part of the package. We had originally looked at a few places to hold the reception but didn't consider the Grim's Dyke thinking it would be too expensive. But when we inquired of the costs compared to other places we found it very favourable for the package we got. They were flexible and worked with us on the arrangements including the menu and the food and the rooms were wonderful. The setting is fantastic, especially for such a big event and we found the staff couldn't do enough for us with great preparation and execution on the day. In short, they helped make our big day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Enjoyed this hotel a couple of times before but this time the experience was very different with a catalogue of incidents, and we will not be going back. We telephoned in the morning to make a booking but the receptionist said she couldn't do it and would have to call back, which they did within 5 minutes,confirming a table for 6. When we tried to add drinks from the bar to our tab we were told, in a slightly accusatory manner, that we didn't have a reservation, but after 5 slightly uncomfortable minutes, we were told we were, after all, booked in. Unfortunately this hadn't filtered through to the dining room because we were again told we did'nt have a reservation and were left standing at the door for well over 5 minutes until, once again, it was agreed we had a reservation.
With the first course, only 5 starters arrived and we waited for quite a long time for a bowl of soup to arrive. Because one of the starters was a cheese souffle we eventually started to eat and had nearly finished before the soup arrived. Of our main courses the roast beef came as just one big slab of meat per plate, not carved slices - mixed reviews with 2 saying it was good and 2 who found it fatty, gristly and not good - the green beans were not so much 'al dente' as warmed through raw, and the gravy was just about non existant - Yorshire puddings were good though. The main disaster though was the vegetarian meal - choice of rather predictable mushroom risotto or a chick pea curry. The chick pea curry was uneatable - it looked as if a can of chick peas had been heated up in a thin tasteless sauce, served with white rice and a white flat bread. Our guest tried valiantly to eat it, not wanting to make a fuss, but just could'nt continue. When I told the manager he took it away and offered an alternative, but unfortunately there was only mushroom risotto, which she can't eat, and so she went without. We were told the bill would be adjusted accordingly, but that never happened.
One person didn't want dessert and told was told 'well you'll be charged for it anyway!'. A very uncomfortable meal and we didn't want to stay for coffee but it took five embarrassing, bumbling attempts to pay the not-insignificant bill by credit card before it finally went through. To cap it all, there was a big hand-written scrawl across our bill which said that 'service was not included' - well, they were right, service was not included and they didn't get any gratuity from us!
We didn't recognise any of the staff from when we had been there before, and the food was not nearly so good.This was meant to be a celebration meal but it was spoiled by a succession of incidents and we left feeling very dissatisfied. It was far too expensive for what it was, and not up to standard with either the food or the service. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

this hotel was amazing, the building the grounds,the food,staff,location,which was a £10 short taxi ride away from harrow on the hill tube station,which is a few mins from wembley,its an ideal spot for a visit to the capital especially a match or a gig at the stadium or arena,for that extra bit of class you are looking for rather than the normal bog standard hotel fare.10/10.will defo go again,

Room Tip: ask for a room in hotel,or you may be put in the outside annex which was still very good but we woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenjohn508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a Garden Lodge room with balcony, the room was very clean and of a good standard, comfortable beds with fresh clean linen, the bathroom was well equipped and nice new white towels were of plenty. It was nice to have a caffetiere with sachets of fresh coffee for a change along with a variety of teas. The breakfast was very good with some alternatives at a supplement. The hotel grounds are really nice along with the afternoon teas. We would definitely stay here again

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank josster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Taken by friends to see a Gilbert and Sullivan concert [my first experience of any kind of opera] and stay over at the hotel. The entertainment was Iolanthe and I was converted immediately to a fan. A brilliant performance. The food was very good and we had a wonderful, memorable evening. Hotel very old so a little squeaky [the garden lodge is modern and will stay there if we come again] but clean and comfortable. Highly recommend. A fabulous treat.
I've put value average, because it was expensive but with the evening operetta it was worth it and most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Garden lodges probably a bit quieter as they are modern, but the old house has great charm and is co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our second visit to the Grim's Dyke. Both occasions were for friend/family celebrations and on both occasions we've attended the Gilbert and Sullivan Opera/Dinner and also stayed in the hotel overnight. The first experience was very good in all aspects except the checking in process which was abysmal. Luckily on this occasion there was a change of personnel at reception and the whole process went very smoothly. Everything else was near faultless. The room was comfortable (particularly the bed). The show is an experience not to be missed by any Gilbert and Sullivan fan - such a treat to see such a polished and professional performance in a very intimate setting. We had a small glitch with the TV set on our arrival (our fault - we forgot to put the room key card in the slot which is required to get power to the room), We called reception and there was someone knocking on our door to assist in less than a minute! If I had to make a complaint it would only be that there was a patch of enamel missing from the bath. Otherwise, all in all, a most enjoyable visit. We shall certainly be back!

Room Tip: If you want a comfortable quiet night's sleep try the annexe (known as the garden rooms). For a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
4.8 mi away
The Barn Hotel
The Barn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ruislip
503 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#5 of 8 in Harrow
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing