We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive hotel with beautiful grounds - 12 miles from central London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
1 review
“Impressive hotel with beautiful grounds - 12 miles from central London”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

It's hard to believe when strolling in the tranquility of the Grim's Dyke Hotel's 40 acres of beautiful grounds that you are just 12 miles from the centre of London.
An added bonus is that It is very competitively priced considering its location and facilities.
The hotel is steeped in history being the former home of Sir Wiliam Gilbert - of Gilbert and Sullivan fame. It is also believed to played a part in the 'secret war' during WW2. The management have an infectious enthusiasm for the hotel's rich history and the building itself is an architectural gem - a grade Two listed builiding. It the ideal choice for a leisure or business trip. The food and service is first class and the hotel has an atmosphere of its own.
I also think it would be the perfect choice for a wedding venue or corporate function. It is also well suited for leisure breaks to London. I have visited many hotels in my private and business life - without doubt this is one of the most memorable .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    238
    93
    38
    28
See reviews for
181
295
33
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

It was a surprise night away for Valentines and the perfect choice! This hotel is something special and has everything; character, excellent service, fantastic food and nothing is too much trouble!

Our room was the Garden Suite, very spacious with the biggest bed I've ever seen and even a jacuzzi. Just a shame we had to go to work the next day! Would love to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We have stayed at the Grims Dyke on many occasions. There is nothing grim about it!We like the beautiful gardens and excellent food. The restaurant service and quality is of a high standard and prices are reasonable as is the wine. They hold many different types of theme nights and a regular Gilbert & Sullivan performance in the Music room. (The property was once the home of W S Gilbert). The main house contains a number of period feature rooms and the annex overlooking the gardens has recently been refurbished to a high standard. Good value for money and friendly staff.
We will be back again!.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadhempston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I found this place by accident - we had a business group meeting here last summer. It was one of those balmy English evenings when everything looks a bit crisper after a shower of rain. We were lucky enough to have a tour of the gardens before dinner; a friendly and informative guy called Eddie took us round. I think he was the manager. There was a rose garden, a veg garden (much used by the kitchen), a lake, lawns and acres and acres of mature pines, oaks and shady rhododendrons.

Dinner was memorable, in a massive Victorian oak beamed hall. The bedrooms have everything I need and the beds are comfy; breakfast is a civilised affair and the hot menu is freshly prepared and not from a buffet. The staff are very efficient, polite and discreet in a rather British way. Tea is in a porcelain teapot and the absence of stainless steel is welcome.

The history of the place makes it worth a stay. Gilbert & Sullivan memorabilia is all over the place, although I'm not really a fan. Much more interesting is that Ronnie Barker filmed Futtocks End here and (if you're an anorak) I saw a TV documentary quite recently that showed this locality to be the earliest venue for the Camping & Caravan Club!

I've been back several times now - unfortunately for me, always at work and with no time to have a really good look around but honestly, if you're used to the faceless hotel chains you will feel so refreshed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Just spent a night at the Grims Dyke Hotel & stayed in one of the period rooms.
Wow!! a fantastic experience in a truly wonderful hotel.
The room was spacious, beautifuly laid out with attention to detail, bathroom was a nice size & very clean & well presented.
Staff are very smart & were always willing to help with the smallest of requests.
Eddie was great & looked after us during our stay, will definitley be returning very soon!
I also intend to attend one of the entertainment evenings arranged by the hotel over the coming months & will be bringing my wife.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I spent last w/e at the Grims Dyke with 25 work colleagues.
I spent since last November arranging the conference with the hotel and they were brilliant from start to finish.
Our rooms were very comfortable, the food and entertainment and service was outstanding.
The attention to detail for a large group was wonderful and we all felt that we were the only guests there.
I would highly recommend companies and private parties to consider having their functions at the Grim's Dyke.
I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretskibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Over the last two years, I have stayed in the Grims Dyke a couple of times on business with two other colleges, and we all agreed that the hotel seemed to have improved no end (not that we had any particular complaints before).
It would appear the rooms we had in the annex had been refurbished and were very good.
Food and service were also first class, well done

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
2.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel London Watford
4.8 mi away
The Barn Hotel
The Barn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ruislip
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing