We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay very warm and friendly welcome.”
Review of Old Etonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Etonian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Harrow B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Made very welcome and good value for money. Continental breakfast had lots of choice. Room recently decorated although ensuite a little tired. A bit of traffic noise a disturbance in the night. Italian restaurant was friendly and food good. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 96 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Located in harrow on the hill.

Comfortable guest house with good standard accommodation . Very comfortable bed.

Room 9 was large, well furnished with great views. Free wifi, juice, tea and coffee in ensuite room.

Breakfast was continental style with nice selection of juice, cereal and bread/ pastries.

Easy to get in to central London and close to wembley.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked this hotel as we were attending the NFL game at Wembley and wanted somewhere out of London centre and close to Wembley and the underground.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk away from the centre of Harrow (and where the tube is) and then it's 2 stops to Wembley which is partly why we chose this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful even if their English is lacking in some areas and did try to overcharge us on arrival.

Parking can be difficult with no designated hotel parking and some extremely narrow streets to navigate but we managed okay because we arrived on a Sunday.

The rooms are okay however the room that we stayed in was at the end of the building so we had a sloped roof and was very cramped and a real danger for anyone sleeping next to the wall as waking up you would hit your head if not careful.

Breakfast was okay, a selection of cereal, bread, crumpets, croissants etc. Adequate for a short stay. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone attending events at Wembley.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here and we really enjoyed it. It is about 20 mins walk from Harrow on Hill tube station. Clean, tidy and comfortable. Nice selection of hot drinks and biscuits. We ate in the restaurant, La Collina twice as the food was excellent and all the staff were lovely and friendly. Was great for getting to Wembley on the Sunday for the American Football - only two tube stops and 30 mins into Central London. Get an Oyster card if making a few journeys back and to. It works out cheaper and saves buying tickets all the time. The breakfast is continental and that suited us. It was cheaper to book straight with the hotel than with any of the sites that advertised it.

Room Tip: A room at the back gives a view looking down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisTim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Harrow on the HIll is a very affluent area with a village feel to it very close to all the bustle of London. The Old Etonian is a quirky hotel with fabulous far reaching views. When we arrived, there was no one around but the very friendly, helpful manager of the Collina restaurant next door showed us the rooms. First two rooms were unacceptable as one was very cold and no window. The second was at the front of the hotel. Room 12 was at the back with amazing views. Comfortable bed. A little odd with the shower in the room but it is a very old hotel. Had an enjoyable meal at Collina restaurant in the vine covered garden on a very hot afternoon. We took a taxi to Wembley Arena to see Leonard Cohen in concert. £9 each way. The continental breakfast was disappointing. Would have liked the option of a full English breakfast although there was a good selection of breads etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dohoPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went to there restaurant on the main road called La Collina Italian What a great place there were 7 of us.My Calamari starter was very good hard to get right but they did, main spaghetti with king prawns again very good. we only had one small problem with my brothers spaghetti it was much to spicey and he was unable to eat it, they were very good about it and wanted to give him something else but he did not want it so they took it of the bill. All the other mains were very good. Desserts Apple pie and ice cream and again very good. The bill came to about £23 per head. Service v v good food 10 out of 10.So if you are in Harrow on the hill go and give it a try you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Booked directly through the hotel for a double room at £77.50 (Laterooms quoted £85.00). Very casual reception (had to knock on restaurant door as the manager there was looking after hotel ). The room was very clean, bedding lovely and the bed very comfortable and I think a five footer. Nice view too over the hil.

Shower-room was very clean, liquid soap and shower gel/shampoo to use. Nice strong hot shower.

Bottle of water, cartons of juice and plenty of coffee and tea for drinks. And hot chocolate which was nice. There was also biscuits and a couple of kitkats.

I had asked for a quiet room and was given one at the back of the hotel. It was above the restaurant area and we could hear the restaurant being cleared away as it closed up but it wasn't intrusive at all. All in all, had a very good night's sleep.

Breakfast was the usual continental type, juice, cereal and lots of bread products - waffles, croissants, toast, scones, muffins, pain du chocolate etc. Would have preferred a hot brekkie but it was fine and filling. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

No parking facilities but we had no trouble parking a few minutes up the road.

I was really apprehensive using a small independant hotel as have had some dreadful experiences in the past, so would have preferred a chain but didn't want to pay their ridiculous London prices. Have to say this lovely little hotel has restored my faith in the independants and I fully recommend the Old Etonian!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meettheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrow hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hindes Hotel
Hindes Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harrow
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Brent Hotel
The Brent Hotel
#6 of 15 in Harrow
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#5 of 9 in Harrow
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Etonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Etonian Hotel

Address: 38 High Street, Harrow HA1 3LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Harrow
Price Range: $102 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Etonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Old Etonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Etonian Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing