We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great location Awful Food”
Review of Old Etonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Etonian Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Harrow B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, great location Awful Food”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I wanted to first suggest that this is a good hotel with old fashioned values. Smart attentive hotel staff and the room itself was clean and tidy. Not expensive not cheap, about where it should be. The breakfast is OK without being anything special; would have preferred a big fry up rather than a continental breakfast. We were off to Wembley for the FA Cup.so some substance would have been appreciated. The restaurant though needs a Gordon Ramsey Make Over. It was simply awful. Overcooked food, poor ingredients and badly presented. Staff were a little faulty towers bit willing.
Would stay at the hotel but the restaurant food was a disgrace.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
10
32
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
EPORT
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

stayed in Hotel prior to a visit to Wembley stadium.
Found room clean with very comfy bed. also request a put me up bed for my friend who said he had a very pleasent nights sleep.
Breakfast is served in the restaraunt and is a basic continental one with a good choice of cereals etc.
Manager and staff very helpfull and would recommend this to anyone requiring a stay in a quiet hotel close to London.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HIGGYEPORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

If you want to stay near Harrow School this couldn't be closer. Clean, comfortable bed, good linen and supply of soaps, coffee, etc but very cramped room up two flights of steep stairs. Ample continental breakfast. Parking only in nearby streets,

Room Tip: First floor rather than higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommillerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Friendly staff, pleasant rooms and good food. Choice of two restaurants providing good quality fare. Plenty of choice of menu and reasonable wine list. Breakfast is continental but excellent choice. Location is on the High Street in Harrow on the Hill village just past Harrow School. Nice setting with pleasant views from the rear.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious and quiet. Ground floor with views from the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My sister in law and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 9 October 2011 and enjoyed our stay immensely. It is a small hotel but the room we had was anything but small. We shared a twin room which also had a futon which could be turned into a third bed. Everything was spotless. The beds were really comfy with pure white bedding. The welcome tray was the best we have even seen with tea, coffee, fruit juice, bottled water, biscuits etc.Our room was lower floor as the hotel is on a small incline with a fire door in the room to the street but even with that we slept like tops every night. The breakfasts were continental but plenty of choice. All members of staff were polite and helpful. We were hoping to do the tour round the famous Harrow school which is next door to the hotel but our timing was off as the next tour was for 15 October so we fully intend returning next year to do so and will definitely be staying at the Old Etonian Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel for less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELAINE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed as both a single business traveller and also for social reasons. Each time the service levels are excellent, people cant do enough for you, I am able to work peacefully if I choose to. I have also previously had business meetings at the hotel and again I cant fault the level of service. The rooms are clean, the choice of food from both the Old Etonian and La Collina are excellent. Having stayed in numerous hotels it is a pleasant change for people to remember you by name and welcome you as an old friend when returning
I also advised friends to stay here when they attended a concert in Wembley, and they had a great 2 day stay. Transport links are good, only 20 mins into Baker Street from Harrow on the Hill station. The Old Etonian is a hotel I would and do come back to every time I am in London. As a single female business traveller the fact I always feel safe is a massive plus point as well as the character of the hotel and the area

Room Tip: Each room is individual. some overlooking the school, some giving great views of London and if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveller264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Old Etonian hotel whilst visiting our friends who live nearby. It's a lovely little hotel, with clean rooms and very nice, pleasant service. The rooms are a good size and are quiet, include free wifi and breakfast. I would consider this a typical old English hotel and worth the rate (which we found cheap).
The location is beautiful, and only 5 minutes walk to the train or the bus stops 2mins away. I probably wouldn't stay here if I was wanting to shop or see the sights of London city, as its a 30-40min train ride. Although Harrow on the Hill is a wonderful location to stay and feels as though you are in a country town!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrow
0.5 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Harrow Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#5 of 8 in Harrow
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Wembley
Hilton London Wembley
#3 of 12 in Wembley
2,635 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kingsland Hotel
Kingsland Hotel
#696 of 1,068 in London
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Etonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Etonian Hotel

Property: Old Etonian Hotel
Address: 38 High Street, Harrow HA1 3LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Etonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Etonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Etonian Hotel Harrow, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing