We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location and classy”

Riva Waterside Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Riva Waterside Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 118 Restaurants in Gravesend
Price range: $40 - $101
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Riva we pride ourselves on offering our customers fine modern Mediterranean cuisine served to you in a relaxing atmosphere. Situated directly over the River Thames on the oldest surviving cast iron pier in the world the panoramic views are as breath taking as the cuisine itself.Riva’s newly refurbished bar is a fabulous addition to the restaurant serving an extensive range o f stylish cocktails, wide range of Champagnes, wines by the glass and appetising nibbles.Located in the heart of Gravesend's Heritage Quarter, Riva is the perfect destination for that special occasion. Come in have a meal, drink some wine and relax. Have a conversation with friends, colleagues and family while you enjoy a calm pleasant surrounding taking you back to 1834.Whatever the occasion… From breakfast meetings, luncheons to gatherings of family & friends we have "that perfect place", offering an A La Carte and set menus as well as simple bar snacks, canapés, buffets and private lunch or dinner parties.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

First, this is a restaurant and bar built out on to the river where those wind turbines against an orange sky at near sunset with all kinds of interesting ships and river life come by- one would believe it a world class location. The restaurant and bar itself is very clean. We have used both the bar and the restaurant and the food has been excellent. The barman is especially welcoming. We always have a good time here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eugeneeugeneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    68
    40
    49
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We are having a reception at the restaurant so went this evening to check out the food and wasn't disappointed. We got there very early so the restaurant wasn't busy, but the good and service were great. Food was nicely presented and was all served promptly. Location is the best, with views over the Thames across to Essex. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have wanted to go to this restaurant for a while as I know the owner Anastasia and it's on my door step and there are very few good restaurants in Gravesend, first impressions are great as it's right on the river with large glass windows to watch all the boats go by and it's very clean with nicely presented tables, unfortunately that's really where the impressive stuff stops i'm sad to say, there is a constant draft as the main entrance door does not shut properly which means lots of people near the door sitting around with coats on I asked the waitress to lock it and she did, the menu was limited which I quite like as I feel this normally ensures good food and in essence it was although the portion sizes vary to the extreme my wife's meal was fine and she really enjoyed her starter and main, my meal on the other hand was tiny and although not a bigger eater was more like a starter and approx. the same cost as my wife's meal @ £15 I did not feel it was good value for money, our 10 year old was with us and whilst it was not on the main menu they provide fish or turkey goujans with chips our daughter said they were disgusting and unfortunately we both tasted them and have to agree with her the bonus for her was the chocolate ice cream but a kids meal for a tenner is way to expensive, I have marked it as average as it was not all bad and the waitress tried to provide us with a nice experience but all in all i'm afraid her attention could not make up for a cold restaurant with in the main overpriced with small portion food, this could be a fantastic restaurant but in my opinion needs a bit more attention to detail or alternatively down market the restaurant to provide more of a fast food environment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mthilthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy family lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having read reviews of this restaurant, we did not have any great expectations. We were very pleasantly surprised - the staff were welcoming and the bar area was a comfortable place to wait for other members of our family to join us. The restaurant itself is bright and well designed with an excellent view of the river. The menu is not extensive but I take this to mean that the food is cooked in the kitchen rather than simply reheated in a microwave. The three vegetarians in our group were happy with their pasta dishes and my haddock with crushed new potatoes and sauce vierge was very well cooked and pleasingly presented.The short dessert menu offered the usual favourites and we were pleased with the cheesecake and panna cotta - three year old grandson very happy with his icecream.The drinks were reasonably priced and the coffee was excellent .
The only disappointment was the lack of other diners - would like to see it advertised more as it is somewhat off the beaten track.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went recently for a friends celebration in the afternoon, supposed to be a buffet but it came out 1 plate at a time every 20 minutes. We had to leave by 2pm as kids were starving!! Apparently the buffet did finally arrive as it should but most people had left so it was wasted. Real farce, quite amusing really - unless you were the one paying for it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riva Waterside Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Riva Waterside Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing