We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous building”

Guru Nanak Darbar Gurdwara
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Gravesend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the biggest Gurdwaras in Europe hosting fantastic facilities for Sikhs and the wider community, including three Meditation Halls, two Langar Halls, fully equipped Lecture Theatre seating 140 people, ICT suite, Library, Meeting Room, etc. Nursery provision to be developed. The compex also includes Sports fields and Sports Hall (home of Guru Nanak Football Club, Kabaddi, Karate, Basketball, etc), Guru Nanak Day Centre for the Elderly, and Punjabi School at weekends.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gorgeous building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I visited this place as I had a function to go to here.

I was amazed at the building, atmosphere and people that was inside the building.

The function was only for a couple of hours and before we could do anything we had to take our shoes off. Put a covering on heads/ shoulders and we was allowed entrance.

Luckily it was a very cold evening so everyone was wearing attire that was mostly acceptable before any additional requirements. Everything food drink wise was free the architecture was amazing very clean and tidy.

I cant fault anything. Ample parking. It really is worth a visit. People are nice I am a white female and I didn't feel intimidated at all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“More than just a place of worship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Temple, built in Gravesend on the site of an old army barracks, is well worth a visit even if it is just to admire the standard of workmanship.
The marble, which is everywhere, was cut to size and shape in India and shipped here for assembly.
No one is ever refused entry, and if you are hungry, you only have to ask and they will find something for you.
A landmark in Gravesend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank lignumbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I am a Sikh and resident of Gravesend, so my review will seem biased. As someone who has been born and bred in Gravesend, one cannot imagine the impact the Sikh community has made to the town; and this wonderful place of worship epitomises this. The building is nothing short of breathtaking; one or two things I would've done differently e.g. clad the main part of the building in white marble instead of the grey granite, but this was only to keep the costs down, and the fact that the granite would require less maintenance and lasts longer than marble (according to the architect). In a way the main features of the building which are marble and intricately carved by craftsmen from India, contrasts well with the rest of the building and creates a wow factor for every visitor to the gurdwara. It is set within the heart of the town, and is within a complex that includes, a sports hall, a day centre for the elderly, a punjabi school and sports fields that now has a walking\running track for safe exercise.

The building itself is modelled upon the Golden Temple in Amritsar (but a lot bigger - no gold though!), and has four huge domes at the top which are marble clad. It has three prayer halls to accomodate the various programmes occuring most of the times (e.g. weddings, blessings, birthdays etc); the main prayer hall (called the Diwaan Hall), has a stunning 'Paalki' where the Sikh Holy Book, Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji, resides when prayers are read out. The domes inside are stunning and has much intricate mosaic work, and then finished off with beautiful chandeliers imported from India (most of the intricate designs were carved in India and imported here and then applied to the building like a jigsaw). The main windows are stain glassed. The middle floow comprises of a Lecture Theatre, IT suite, Library and the Langar Hall (free kitchen). Here people will come to eat after paying respects to our Guru (Sri Guru Granth Sahib). The place is abuzz with activity and open seven days a week and open from early morning to late evening.

The site has become a popular attraction in the town, and visited by people of all faiths and organised school trips. It is is a beautiful addition to the profile of gravesend similar to the Brighton Pavilion, if you like. It provides contrast to some of the Victorian architecture you find in the town and of course the shabbiness of the town it self. It has breathed new life into the town, and conveys the positivity of what Sikhism is all about! Please visit, I do most weeks, just for a moment of reflection if anything....and it is free to visit (you can donate if you so wish!)...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SS_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An education in culture & hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been along to visit the Gurdwara on several occasions and are always greeted with warm hospitality, the experience of Sikh culture is a genuine reflection of the Golden Temple of Amritsar, where everyone is welcome, to not just look but find out a little more of this honourable and cultured civilisation, the building's stature must be second only to that of Amritsar itself.
If you have not been along then we would recomend most heartily that you should venture into this amazing experience of what must be the 'Amritsar of Europe'.
please be ready to cover your head whilst inside (clean headcovers provided) and to remove your footwear (pigeon holes provided).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sydney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A warm welcome received”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Please take time out to visit this lovely temple, just remember to wear suitable clothing, head and shoulders covered, and take shoes off on arrival.

The welcome is friendly and so interesting to hear about the history and what the temple represents.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaSS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guru Nanak Darbar Gurdwara also viewed

 

Been to Guru Nanak Darbar Gurdwara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing