We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So wanted to love this place...”

The Boys Italian Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 141 Restaurants in Gravesend
Price range: $19 - $35
Description: A Cosy restaurant for seafood lovers and attention to detail.
Restaurant details
Description: A Cosy restaurant for seafood lovers and attention to detail.
Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

We had loads of people tell us how great this place was and kept forgetting about it.
Decided to try it out the other week.
To start with the location isn’t great , the restaurant is also far too bright and has no ambiance- maybe dim the lights and some candles?
We were the only 2 in there and was told 2 of the mains weren’t available- menu is very small so didn’t have much choice.
One of us had calamari to start which was tasty but very small portion for the price. The spaghetti vongole was ok but had much better around the corner.
For mains we had lobster with cream and asparagus- we asked what it came with and were told nothing- there are no sides you can order on the menu and weren’t even given bread.
We had to wait ages between courses which was strange when we were the only ones there.
Lobster came out - 2 tails in what was like a lobster soup. Lobster was really over cooked and rubbery - very hard to eat.
We were still starving after it so had a desert - again had to wait ages. One of us ordered the chocolate cake which came out a chocolate fondant and was very rich and not what was expected.
Meal came to a lot of money for a very very average meal on surroundings that made us feel uncomfortable.
We weren’t even offered a liqueur at the end again strange when we spent so much and they knew it was our first time there.
We so need decent restaurants in gravesend so was reluctant to write this review but I do do in the hope they read it and take note!

Date of visit: June 2018
6  Thank Al_Gravesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

The food here is excellent, wide selection of choice in nice surroundings. Highly recommended in my opinion. The staff were very friendly and didn't linger about whilst we ate but still very attentive. Delicious high quality wines. Other more established places in the town could learn so much from this place and should take note. Keep up the excellent work...I'm definitely going back soon!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank robertgprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

So we were looking for a nice restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday, with our two kids. My wife is a lover of seafood so found really positive reviews for The Boys Italian Seafood Restaurant.

It's hidden away down Queen Street in Gravesend - a quite area of the town close to parking.

OMG - this is heaven if you, like my missus, love all foods that come out of an ocean or river.

What can I say. Great food (couldn't fault anything at all), very good service, very friendly family run business, reasonably priced too.

They specifically made a fresh pizza for our three year old son (it was delicious by the way).

If you, like us, love seafood....or if you want to grab a freshly made true Italian pizza, then I'd recommend The Boys anytime. We're so impressed we will be going back real soon.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rupert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

Excellent service, well presented and well worth a visit.Situated in Queen Street, Gravesend, just off the main road.
Attentive staff, without being too intrusive throughout the meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Ian272015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

Have been to this resteraunt twice now and it never disappoints , the starters excels, as does the main course, and the Lemon Sorbet , cleans your palet after and excellent meal, I can 100% say one of the best seafood meals I have had , please go and try for yourselves you will not be disappointed, we will be going back again and again x

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boys Italian Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Boys Italian Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing