We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem - great at any time of year!”

Myddelton House Gardens
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An enchanting place to visit at any time of year. Delve into the beautiful eight acres of Myddelton House Gardens and discover the compelling story of Edward Augustus Bowles, one of Britain’s most famous self-taught gardeners, artists and expert botanists.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - great at any time of year!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The house and gardens were the home of the great plantsman, E A Bowles, and so it is filled with very special plants - but it also still feels as if he might still be there. A fine balance, and a great tribute to the gardeners. It is very peaceful and pleasant with lots of seats in hidden spots, so you can take time to study the plants and the many views around and through them. If you can, go there at different times of the year, as there is always something fascinating to see. Truly, an unusually special garden!
(There is a pleasant place to have food, tea/coffeee etc. and easy parking)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review and your excellent summary of what we’re trying to achieve – to maintain the balance of being a public garden while retaining the feel that Mr Bowles could step out of the house at any moment. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    67
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
171 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Morning”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had visited Myddleton House several years ago in the fall. This was an opportunity to stroll the gardens in the spring. We had missed most of the daffodils, but there were still some iris and tree peonies blooming. The construction that we saw a few years ago has been completed and the greenhouse areas are open for viewing. This is a very pleasant way to spend half a day or so. Due to their funding, the visit is free.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your visit to Myddelton House Gardens. It's a shame that you missed the daffodils as they were looking particularly good this year but I’m pleased you managed to see our glasshouse. We’re particularly proud of this and how it completes the look of our kitchen garden. If you’re able to visit in the next few weeks our hundred year old wisteria and our national collection of irises will be blooming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful Gardens for a strole any time of year”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

These gardens are free to enter and whilst not that big do offer a little piece of tranquility and calmness. There is a good cafe and produce grown on site for sale

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeJay1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
It’s hard to believe that Myddelton House Gardens is within a mile of the M25 and yet it’s still able to provide such peace and tranquillity for the visitors as well as the gardeners. The produce we grow in the kitchen garden is for sale within the Visitor Centre and this year we’re growing the largest range of produce to date. Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Myddelton”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Beautiful and charming hideaway,Gardens have a great variety of formal and informal planting. Well worth going to visit at different times throughout the year. Free parking and admission.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Den123M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of the gardens and for suggesting visiting the gardens at different times of the year. This allows visitors to follow the changing seasons and watch our progress as we continue to restore the gardens. Please do come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“A wonderful stop off from the hassle and bustle of the A10 and M25 traffic”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I was told about this place by one of my work colleagues. She said it was different from Capel Manor, has new visitor centre and free entry. The entrance of the house is on the sharp turning before a small bridge and clearly signposted. There is ample free parking and the visitor centre clearly signposted. There is a small museum detailing the life and work of the Bowls family. There are a number of audio guides which are needed to explain the layout of the garden. The large pond was a real feature alongside the small bridges and footpaths. I enjoyed my 45 minutes here away from the traffic jams. There are toilets in a modernised block but not monitored hourly. I had to report the fact that the toilets were filthy when the signature on the wall stated it had been inspected. The restaurant is accessed via the visitor centre. Fresh displays of cakes and scones alongside a range of hot and cold drinks. The visitor could sit inside or on the terrace outside. There are reasonably priced plants, books and logo stationary. There were unfortunately no wonderful fridge magnets of the garden in full bloom or in the snow. I would have liked to have seen fridge magnets of the garden in all seasons. I was disappointed that dogs were not allowed as dogs on leads are allowed in Capel Manor down the road. I wrote in to the owners to allow dogs on lead to walk the pathways. There are signs informing visitors of behaviour etiquette whilst in the garden. No children's bikes or scooters, no running around and respect towards those seeking tranquility. I enjoyed my time here and will return for the audio trail.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Myddelton House Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review of Myddelton House Gardens and for your suggestion of selling fridge magnets highlighting the gardens in bloom and in snow. I’ll add this to our suggestions for new merchandise lines.

We took the decision to only allow assistance dogs in to the garden due to its small and intimate layout, combined with our expanding visitor numbers. We’re also very fortunate to have both Forty Hall and Capel Manor as neighbours which allow dog access. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myddelton House Gardens also viewed

Enfield, Greater London
Enfield, Greater London
 
Enfield, Greater London
Enfield, Greater London
 

Been to Myddelton House Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing