We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Gardens, Shame about the Cafe!

My boyfriend and I went on a day trip to the gardens and really enjoyed ourselves. The highlights... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Molly_FisherUK
,
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Peace & beauty.

Wonderful gardens, pets welcome, just would not believe it was in Enfield. Nice cafe, toilet... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Elizabeth A
,
Hertfordshire
Read all 237 reviews
  
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
144
70
16
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
70
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chelsea flower show own garden individual gardens car show nice restaurant large site self service lovely place to go fairy forest keen gardener cup of coffee animal area walk around beautiful flowers rose gardens few hours worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I went on a day trip to the gardens and really enjoyed ourselves. The highlights were most definitely the Wildcat enclosure and the Holly Maze (which took me a little longer to complete than I had hoped!) There is lots of different areas to walk around which keeps things interesting, even if you’re not a gardener. However, I would NOT recommend the cafe, it’s the colleges lunch hall and reminds me of the 1970s. There were hardly any choices of food and a sad looking woman in a hairnet serves it to you as you can’t be trusted to select your own salad. My top tip would be to eat before you go!

Thank Molly_FisherUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Wonderful gardens, pets welcome, just would not believe it was in Enfield. Nice cafe, toilet facilities everywhere around, even take your own food with plenty of seats and tables to sit & eat. Disabled transport available, ring in advance & book. Parking free & right out the front for special needs. Love it.

Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is primarily a college teaching various horticultural matters but is open to the public and utilises its grounds for events at various points during the year.

Various smaller gardens which are nicely laid out, café available and landscaped areas to walk around pleasant lake and established tree areas as well as various sculptures to view. Generally peaceful although site backs into the M25 so there is always traffic noise wherever you are.

We have visited several times over the years mainly on event days. These include classic car rallies, antique events etc. The event days may not be truly representative of the place as a whole but I think it is definitely worth a visit.

Thank fork_handles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We visited during term time so got one of the last spaces in the car park at 10.30am! We mentioned this when purchasing tickets and they opened the overflow car park. Lovely gardens to wander around. The restaurant is more of a college canteen so go into Cruise Hill to eat.

Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday with friends. It is a lovely spot and the gardens are very interesting. Gives you ideas and is a nice place to explore. We will visit again in another season.

Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

A beautiful setting with many wonderful gardens which are inspiring. A lake and many gorgeous views, we just couldn’t stop taking photos.

Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

A wander around a magnificent cluster of garden styles, lovingly and diligently maintained by horticultural students. There's a working farm, too, and a corner with animals for children to enjoy.
On a fine afternoon, it was wonderful for energetic grandsons to run off their energy and explore their favourite corners. The M25 is nearby, a perpetual noise. Yet you can lose yourself and shut the noise out while looking and admiring and getting fresh ideas for your own garden.
One terrible let-down: a dreary badly stocked café (The Terrace Restaurant, having no terrace and being no restaurant). I had a horrible cup of coffee from a self-service machine, and it tasted like very weak instant. Oh my: no food except ice cream, a dismal hole in urgent need of complete renovation. Come on, Capel Manor... All that beauty and this wretched canteen!

Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Although we have lived in the Abbey for over 30 years, this was our 1st visit to these gardens. The grounds are spread over 35 acres and you will need a full day to view everything. Our highlight was the national gardening centre which is divided into different garden layouts all designed by various professionals and shows you what you can do in your own garden. There are plenty of seats available to take a rest no matter where you wander and the only downside is the tyre noise from the M25 which is very local and can be loud when the wind is blowing from that direction.

Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We were recommended to visit and were so impressed we bought a family season ticket. Fantastic gardens, interest for kids, including a maze. Only downside is the cafeteria, which needs an overhaul in every sense, with a little management thus could be really good and a money spinner for the college too.

Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We have lived in Enfield for 15 years and only got around to visiting this week. This is a real hidden gem for local folk looking for a relaxing afternoon out.
There are multiple examples of different gardens some of which have won at the Chelsea flower show, a lovely old manor garden area and a maze which the kids enjoyed.
The animal area was disappointing but was aimed at those with very young children rather than the 10yr old we had with us.
Not sure what the lunchtime offering in the canteen would be like as we visited from 14.00-17.00 but the cafe range was basic so would definitely take a picnic if returning.
We spent a very pleasant 3 hrs here and covered everything during this time. With free parking and easy to access from the M25/A10 it is well worth considering for a lazy Sunday afternoon pottering around after a local pub lunch.

1  Thank McGuinness_129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews