We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and so much to see!”

Capel Manor Gardens
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Beautiful and so much to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was here for a Classic Car Show and so had lots to look at as well as the Gardens, but i must admit we spent as much time walking around what feels like the hundreds of gardens! Such diversity! There are a lot of ex gold medal Chelsea Flower Show wining gardens set up and everything from an arid Australian desert garden to a garden made from recycled rubbish, to an italian style cottage garden, SO much to see and beautiful at any time of the year!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsJen1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    54
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful - but a maze for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

A great place to see so many different gardens beautifully laid out and so well kept. There is a maze for younger kids too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Capel Manor- individual gardens giving you great ideas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I visited Capel Manor last week and on a hot, sunny day. I was surprised as I expected one large garden; however what I didn't know was that it housed a college for horticulture, countryside/environment studies, floristry and garden design. So it's a large site which houses different gardens and different designs. For instance there's a family-friendly garden, a japanese garden, an Italianate maze, a minimalist garden, rustic garden etc etc. It really is delightful to see so many gardens and you can get many great ideas about planting, water features etc which no doubt you can incorporate or modify into your own garden.
There are some lovely ponds/small lakes beneath beautiful trees where you can relax, have a picnic or do some painting or drawing.
There is a reasonable cafe if you fancy a basic meal or snack with seating inside or outside.
The downside to the whole place is the constant traffic noise from the M25 otherwise I'd have given it 5 stars. However, on a sunny day this is a lovely way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank iankaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A LITTLE BIT OF COUNTRY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Well set out, lovely plantings, good cafe & shop and, despite pouring rain had a most enjoyable visit. I would certainly return if I had the opportunity, particularly in the sunshine!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

As an educational centre, the gardens are frequently changing so it's a great place to become a member of - always something new to see. Frequent events too. Whether or not there's an event on the gardens both constructed (along the lines of the chelsea experience) make for a good day out. Plenty of room for picnics and a decent cafe for those who prefer to buy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capel Manor Gardens also viewed

Enfield, Greater London
 
Enfield, Greater London
Enfield, Greater London
 

Been to Capel Manor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing