We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
26
22
18
24
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
26
22
18
24
29
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Our parents booked into a superior room and it ended up having one double and two single beds, hardly a superior room.

We had our sons with us at the time and the plan was that they would be able to change in the room quickly as we were gping to a family wedding anniversary, afyer lunch our sons returned and after 5 minutes of being in thevroom to get changed we had a knock at the door with the receptionist explaining that guests are not allowed to be in the rooms, we politely explained again that our sons had no intention 9f staying in the room, they were only getting changed quickly to go to the anniversary party.

The receptionist explained that the management do not allow guests to be in the rooms. Assuming this was a childs hostel this would be an acceptable rule, we considered it rediculous because the room had been paid for by us
and therefore we should of been able to have who we wanted in the room, and it being none of the managements business to tell us who we could have in the room.

We just found the whole experience very poor..

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank A1995DOmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Guest Relations Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.
We appreciate both positive and negative comments.
As per our Hotel Policy and per Fire Safety policy visitors are not allowed in the rooms unless they are registered at the reception. The receptionist on duty was following the hotel procedures in this situation. We apologize if he has not explained this when he knocked on your door.
We apologise again for this inconvenience and we hope to see again you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

The staff are the best thing about the place.

Upon entering the first floor there was strong smell similar to a public toilet.
Upon entering the "superior room" we were instantly disappointed.
The carpets were stained and worn. Only one mirror in the bathroom.

There was dusty in all corners and edges of the room.

The bathroom had damp on ceilings and couldn't get the water to balance it was either super hot or cold

The mattresses might as well had not been there as they were so worn down.

The room is small with only a small section to walk to the bathroom at the bottom of the beds.

A major renovation is needed

If we were staying more than one night I would of left.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank nicole11c11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Front Office Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for providing feedback on your stay. We are sorry that your stay did not meet the standards we aim to offer. We expect our guests to report any issues they have with the room as soon as they check in. We are happy to help them and make sure they enjoy their stay. Another room might have been allocated. Also, due to a high number of users at the same time, the water pressure might drop a bit.
We hope that you will give us the chance to revert your experience into a better one next time you'll choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

At short notice had to make a trip to London. Last stayed at this hotel 2 years previous. Parking very crowded but space made for our car. Small overall room but just right for a short stay. Hotel going through future renovations and look forward to seeing these. No means of getting food on site but available and close to various outlets.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B5507WKdavidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Front Office Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

The staff are among the nicest we have ever encountered in the hospitality industry.The Superior room we had booked was recently refurbished and spotlessly clean, as was the reception area. It was however at the front of the hotel which is on a busy road, so we switched to a room at the back.The second room was old but adequate and enabled us to have a good nights sleep. I would definitely stay at Holtwhites Hotel if I'm ever lucky enough to visit Enfield again in the future.

Room tip: Quiet rooms are at the back of the hotel. However, these rooms are dated and need to be refurbished.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KatBee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Front Office Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay. We would be happy to welcome you again to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2018

The 'Superior' Double room was v small with little room to manoeuvre. The bathroom was from the 70's. Enamel was almost gone off the bath & the shower didn't work properly. All the décor was dated & badly needs to be changed. Our room was roasting with the heat off while another couple's room was freezing with the heat on!
Reception staff were pleasant but everything was a slow process.
Breakfast is not available on site. They will charge £10 for breakfast in a café across the road but don't book it as you will get a far cheaper breakfast in any of the local bars/cafes.
Overall was v disappointed with the place & definitely wouldn't consider staying again.

Room tip: Pick a different hotel!
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Receptionist at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. We appreciate both positive and negative opinions. We are sorry that the room allocated wasn't the size you were expected. We could have shown and allocate you a different room if this would have been reported. Breakfast is not available inside the hotel, there was an agreement in place with the opposite coffee shop. With regards to the radiators, our maintenance team, that is available on site might have been able to check and fix the problem you describe, again, as long as it is reported.
Although your stay did not meet the standards we aim to offer we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews