We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary and Noisy”
Review of Holtwhites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holtwhites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scary and Noisy”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We where told the Hotel had been refurbished and under new management so we decided to give it a try after hearing some really negative reports about the previous owners.
We really wish we hadnt gone! We initially asked for a spacious room non smoking (because apparently and you can smell it) they have smokng rooms.We knewn it may be noisy as it is on a four way junction but there are rooms at the back which we asked for although there isnt a really quiet room.We where given a tiny attic room facing the main road!! with no ventilation as the open window made you feel you where sleeping in the road.The next morning we complained and the manager who seemed a nice chap moved us to a bigger and suposedly quieter room.It would have bee better except the guests that rolled in that night where SCARY!! AND NOISY.Its one of those places where once you are in your room which does not have adequate locks on the doors you would be wary to leave!The receptionists! one is nice the other couldnt care less and you cant understand her anyway.
The refurbishment is very nice but what good is cosmetic if the things that matter like .pillows .comfort ,cleanliness and working showers arent there!!
There is no breakfast and it is very expensive forroom only.The pillows if you can call them that where dreadful,the shower was broken and boiling hot and the bed was lumpy.We couldnt wait to leave .
DONT GO THERE !!!

Room Tip: back of the hotel rooms may be quieter but its a long shot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Mr Jean,
the hotel and staff would like to thank you for taking some time to provide a feedback on your stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet our usual high standard. I appreciate your comments about the aspect of the room and I am happy to tell you that there have been some upgrades done; we have refurbished and redecorate most of the rooms. There have been a number of smoking rooms, but now after us decorating them we keep them as non-smoking rooms. There are rooms in the hotel that are smaller size and are located in the attic. We do not arrange, organize or hear domestic arguments happening, however if mentioned on the night we would have stopped it from continuing. Please feel free to ask to see the room prior your next stay if you choose to stay with us again to ensure you have the room that best describes your needs as we like you and every guest to have a great experience on every visit.
We would like to continue by thanking you for your stay and to acknowledge the changes we have made we would like to invite you for another stay and guarantee a changed atmosphere. Please contact me directly at reservations@holtwhites.com if you would be willing to come and stay with us again. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back. With much appreciation, Ioana Baciu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    18
    21
    25
See reviews for
16
32
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Looks good from the outside, and from the pictures, and indeed the entrance and hallway are attractive. Then the smell hits you. The cigarette smoke in the building is so sunk into the fabric of the property that you're probably on 40 a day just breathing. Our family room had no floor space between crammed in beds, no decent storage, and a broken toilet.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annieje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Ms Annieje,
thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay. I am really sorry that your stay din not meet our high standard. There were a few smoking rooms available but I am happy to announce that all our rooms have been refurbished and we do not have smoking rooms any more. I am sure that if reported not being happy with the room you have been allocated the reception staff would have done their best to find a solution to this, maybe even upgrading you to a different room. Please reach out to me directly if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel! Ioana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Enfield hotels

Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel has a handy location. There ends the good news.

Uncaring staff, no breakfast available (incredible but true!!!), manky room, just, oh; let's short cut the whole thing and say "find a Travelodge instead".

Awful place, yet could be so good.

Room Tip: Find one somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller3333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Sir / Madam
Thank you very much for your review on your stay in our hotel. I greatly appreciate your comments about the room that needed upgrading and I am happy to announce that there were lots of changes done, starting with redecorating the rooms to a higher standard, changes of carpets, new chair,etc…
We are trying to invest more and soon we’ll have a new lounge area where our guests may serve breakfast and relax at the same time. I really hope that I can convince you to change your mind about visit to our property. I will be happy to welcome you back! Ioana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Unfortunately as soon as you walk into the rooms you can smell cigarette smoke, we were with children and they commented on the smell immediately. We were also told not to let the children run around (this was as soon as we arrived!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jools-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
’Good afternoon Mr Jools-Neil,
The hotel and staff would like to thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay. We apologize if your stay with us did not meet our usual high standard. There have been a number of smoking rooms but we refurbished and upgraded all the rooms to non-smoking rooms. For the safe of the children, we recommended not to let them to run around the hotel. We hope to see you again soon ! Ioana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night the price of the rooms is a bit on the expensive side as no breakfast is provided. the rooms are basic but clean. chekin / out staff came across as freindly which made this hassel free was a bit concerned to see signs saying all common rooms are under video survailance which made us feel a bit uneasy as this is advertised as a hotel and hotels do not usually video public areas. on site parking is ok if a bit cramped and not secure but the overall experiance was ok

Room Tip: Go for non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LincolnshireTroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Sir / Madam,
the hotel and staff would like to thank you for taking some time to provide feedback on our stay. We are now ready to announce that we are improving our hotel and soon we are having a lounge where our guests will serve breakfast and relax at the same time. The car park, located at the back of the hotel has a controlled security barrier and all the rooms are non-smoking rooms now. We would be happy to welcome you again to our improved hotel. Ioana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Was booked in here by a company. On arrival told that the price does not include breakfast and no breakfasts are served. The answer to "Where can I get breakfast?" was simple: "Elsewhere!".

Difficult stairs and corridors to negotiate with cases - no lifts.

My bedroom was clean and newly decorated, and the bathroom had recently been refurbished. However there were some alarming arguments coming from some rooms, and I was woken by a row in the middle of the night.

At £70 per night (without breakfast) this seemed a lot of money. I would only use this again if I was faced with absoultely no alternative.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Duty Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Sir /Madam,
The hotel and staff would like to thank you for providing feedback on your stay. We do not advertise breakfast, we do however have excellent business relations with the local eateries and the local “Artisan Bakery” or “Chefs Kitchen” are delicious to eat at and staff do try to point out their favorite places to eat. We are sorry you had trouble with the stairs and corridor albeit we do have a standard 22 step staircase, we were happy to have carried the baggage for you as part of our service. We do not arrange, organize or hear domestic arguments happening, however if mentioned on the night we would have stopped it from continuing. We would like to continue by thanking you for your stay and to acknowledge the changes we have made we would like to invite you for another stay and guarantee a changed atmosphere. Koz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were in Enfield to celebrate a friend's 60th birthday, and he booked a number of rooms for family and friends to stay over on the Saturday night. The place is shabby and smelly; the only staff we encountered seemed to be eastern Europeans.
Ours cost £60 for bed only – no breakfast – which is dear for a place like Enfield, and the water in the shower and in the handbasin were scalding hot (no cold water at all), so not even the chance of a wash for our £60. Reception's attitude was completely unconcerned (they take your money as you check in, so they don't care) – the man said: "Oh, the thermostat's gone again. If you had told us sooner we could have given you another room." The total nonsense of this was just so maddening, I mean how can we know before we need the shower that we couldn't have one? Do yourself a favour and don't go there.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisCourchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwhites H, Duty Manager at Holtwhites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Sir /Madam,
the hotel and staff would like to thank you for taking time to provide a feedback on your stay. We do apologise if your stay did not meet our usual high standard. Shower mechanisms do sometimes break, however we are proud of our onsite maintenance team who would have repaired it fast if the problem was reported or as the reception staff mentioned you could have upgraded you to another room. We hope that in despite of all you’ll give us the opportunity to change this experience into a better one if you choose to stay with us again. Please contact me directly on reservations@holtwhites.com. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our improved hotel! Koz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
1.2 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge London Enfield Hotel
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Cheshunt
Travelodge Cheshunt
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
670 reviews
2.4 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
3.1 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holtwhites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holtwhites Hotel

Property: Holtwhites Hotel
Address: 92 Chase Side, Enfield EN2 0QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Enfield
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holtwhites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holtwhites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holtwhites Hotel Enfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing