We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel London Watford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Good points:
Modern, clean,decent size rooms,great gym,service friendly
Bad points:
Why spoil rooms by giving them doors which do not keep out the light from the corridor never mind the sound?
Breakfast dreadful
Food in bar looked inedible so did not not bother to sample

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebedee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    456
    252
    82
    80
See reviews for
317
592
84
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for tweo nights.On arrival at approx. 13.30 our two adjoining rooms were not ready, however, the receptionist was kind enough to let us store our bags in a room behind reception while we went into London.
When we returned to hotel check in took around 15/20 mins as there was only one person behind the desk. When we got to the rooms the ajoinng doors where locked therefore I had to go back down to reception and wait until the keys were hunted down. The two rooms, one a family the other a double were decorated nicely but the carpet had not seen a vacuum for some time. There were only two pillows on the double bed so had to borrow fro the other room. The shower in both rooms was very slow and there was no shower gel in one of the dispencers. Also we only had one TV control between the two TV's. Only minor things but still annoying. The first morning for breakfast, (Saturday) we were told there was no hot /cooked breakfast because the gas was off, therefore had cereal and toast. All five of us then used the leisure facilites which were excellent, remember to take your room card down fore the locker as I had to go back up. We ate in the Victory pub on Saturday night and the food was excellent ad a reasonable price for London. Dispite the hiccups I would return to this hotel and recommend to others, after all I didn't put weight on by only being able to eat one cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott_topping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This has the potential to be such a great hotel, its really hit on something, it has everything you could want, starbucks, pub, restaurant fitness centre, great big pool, however.....
After only 2 years the rooms are looking very poor, lights not working, furniture damaged, bathroom grubby.
The reason could be that the staff really don't care & arnt passing on customers concerns, but then again the management is non existent. When asked to see a member of the management team. They are never there. Asked for the head office address told to look on the Internet.
You get the feeling they just dont care...... about the hotel, the business, THE CUSTOMERS !

Oh and yes the rooms are very dark, which works if the contemporary look is kept up.

One last interesting comment from the spa / sports club. children are not welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed here for 2 days last weekend. If you are after a cosy country feel then forget this place but if you want a swish stylish Hotel then this just may fit the bill. It has an excellent health club with a fab pool area. The rooms and the bathroom were very chic and if it hadnt been for the dust on the bed light, shelves and around windows, we would have said it was perfect for the price. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our party. 2 Adults, 3 kids, 5,3 and 6 months. The family room was fine although not big enough to accomodate a cot. To be fair we knew this as we checked before hand and decided we'd work something out as you do. We found a good solution in the end.
Hotel reception staff very polite (Phil sorted the check in with a smile and answered all our questions).
We knew the hotel had a pool and the kids were looking forward to try it out. This is are only gripe. The hotel advertises that kids can use the pool from 2.00pm until 7.00pm. We arrived at 4.30 so plenty of time. However, when we double checked with the leisure staff they said kids could not use the pool after 5.30pm. Another family also wanted to use the pool and got turned away. We used the pool the following morning and the advertised times are up to 7.00pm. We didn't follow this up as we double checked before getting the kids ready. However, another family had got all their stuff prepared and once told they could not swim their little boy was in floods of tears.
This is not on really.
Our stay was for 2 nights and we did enjoy it. The room was nice and although not much space because of the 2 extra kids beds we easily made ourselves comfortable. The room was clean enough. I guess the blinds and other corners should have been cleaned better as the dust was certainly present but apart from that all good.

Breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly and attentive. It was busy but we never had to wait for a table. Coffee/Tea served very quickly and enough cold and hot food to keep us energised.

Being familiar with the area and central London we found it a great base stay and will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byron121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We have just just returned from a wonderful weekend at the village hotel Watford. From the moment we arrived we loved this hotel, it has a lovely welcome feeling and the design and furnishings are fantastic! The management and staff were wonderful we have to single out Lee who was very helpful. we could not fault the customer service. The Spa area is so lovely and relaxing, the gym is state of the art. The beds were comfortable.. we will certainly be back. Thanks again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank americas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Booked online and got a great deal for bed and breakfast. Check in at reception was easy and staff were extremely helpful. Rooms have recently been refurbished and I really liked them. The only problem in the room was the walk in shower completely flooded the bathroom and we had to wade through to use the facilities in there. We ate in the Victory Pub the first evening and the food was very good although they did shut the bar at 10.40.
We ate breakfast both mornings and this was very good and again staff were very helpful.
Access to London is good. We got a cab from the hotel to Stanmore station and then the tube from Stanmore into London on the Jubilee Line. Our round trip to London for both of us was 25 pounds. Far cheaper than staying in London.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elstree
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.8 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,658 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ramada London North M1
Ramada London North M1
#5 of 6 in Borehamwood
749 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel London Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel London Watford

Property: Village Hotel London Watford
Address: Centennial Avenue, Elstree WD6 3SB, England (Formerly Village Urban Resort London Elstree)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Elstree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel London Watford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel London Watford is located just off Junction 5 of the M1, 1 mile from Elstree and Borehamwood Train Station and just 30 minutes from Central London. It is ideal for quick access to the M1, M25, A1 and Watford Junction Train Station. Nearby attractions include Wembley Stadium, Harry Potter Theme Park and Legoland. Village Hotel London Watford has 120 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, Hair Salon, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Village Hotel London Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village London Hotel Elstree
Village Hotel London Watford Elstree, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing