We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay. Good Value. Would happily return......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel London Watford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good stay. Good Value. Would happily return......”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I booked a deal in advance and paid for a Standard Room for two on the second floor. Included was a three course meal for two, breakfast for two and use of the Gym and facilities. Booking in advance I got all of this for just under a £100.00
Room was cleaned thoroughly and no quibbles for the price. Meal I am going to try in a couple of hours (!)
I would just say one thing that might help other travellers. The gym feels quite public and the pool is noisy from children playing, that adjoins the Steam, Sauna and Hot Tub/Spa areas, so not that relaxing. If you booked a spa massage etc and wanted to chill then this may not be the place. If you have a family then the pool area might suit you as well as staying in the rooms.
Nice atmosphere all around, quite busy and high energy, staff at the front desk professional and efficient and I am really looking forward to the Bar Mitzvah celebration that will take place tomorrow evening!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buck_stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    468
    256
    83
    82
See reviews for
326
611
86
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a two night stay with the first night dinner included and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we didn't have to choose from the 'inclusive' fixed menu but could use the amount (around £14.50) towards anything from the a la carte menus in either restaurant. We chose the Buca di Beppo Italian and were really impressed with the high quality of the food.

The bedrooms were lovely and the beds super comfortable.

The reception staff were extremely helpful and we happy to find out anything we needed to know about the local area.

The only minor criticisms we would have are that: the railway station is a good 2.5 miles away, not 1 mile as the website says so walkable but you need to leave yourself a good 35 minutes to do it comfortably; the lovely large swimming pool was mostly cordoned off for swimming lessons - even when only one man was being taught - and the young man staffing the leisure centre reception couldn't have been more off hand and dismissive if he'd had lessons in it.

Apart form that though, lovely stay and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel was convenient to RNOH in Stanmore, my business destination; but not convenient to other places of interest in Greater London (nearest tube access about 3 miles away) or other restaurants. Having 2 restaurants, including Starbucks and full English breakfast available, was a plus. The attached gym access was a big plus for me, as I like to work out. The room was clean and comfortable, but a bit dark in places due to the recessed lighting, and made it difficult to see into the clothes closet. The shower/tub was annoying - the small glass pane did not do a good job of retaining spray and the sloped tub floor made for unsteady footing. The staff were very friendly and aimed to please.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. Rooms are clean and comfy- only have a shower, no bath. Reasonable tea tray and aircon in room. Parking can be tight at busy times.
The food in the Italian restaurant was very hit and miss. Pizza had no taste except salt. The burger next night was better but they completely forgot one of our party's starter and dessert so he was eating 20 minutes after us!! (Instead of fessing up they also said 'we haven't forgotten you,your food is coming!).
Stay here but eat elsewhere if possible

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor are apparently upgraded but one of our party was put in one free of charge and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I would strongly advise against booking in advance at this or other De Vere Village hotels. You are offered 2 rates when making an online booking, one slightly cheaper than then other, IF you are prepared to pay at the time of booking and accept no option to cancel.

I did this and then found that a week before I checked in I could have made a booking for £30 less and could have paid on the day -what a rip off. They define the rate as an Advance Rate/Leisure Saver/Promotional Rate -there is nothing saver or promotional about it.

The hotel rooms themselves are small, shabby maintenance and dark due to colour scheme and lack of good lighting. Not what I'd expect for £139 B&B

Room Tip: A good tip for getting a good room, book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night with two children aged 10yrs and 4yrs. We stayed in the Upper Deck rooms which have upgraded beds and bed linen, Starbucks coffee/tea, sky movies, flat screen TV, docking station and toiletries. We had a double room inter-connecting into a twin room so plenty of space for us. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Check in was quick and informative. We ate in the Victory Pub food was hot and delivered in good time. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. When we mis placed a sticker book in the pub it was found quickly by a member of staff. Breakfast was good the following morning and it was very quiet at 8am on the Friday morning when we went in. Good choice of food no one left hungry. We didn't use the leisure facilities as we left early to visit Harry Potter so cannot comment on them. Overall the hotel is ideally located to visit the local area and for trips into London. We all enjoyed our stay the rooms were clean and comfortable. Would have no problem staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

- table in the room is way too high compared to the chair so it very uncomfortable to work in this room
- hotel room has the worst hotel lightning that I have ever seen, impossible to work more than one hour and you start to feel sleepy soon, room lightning is good if you only sleep in the room, I always had to go to the bathroom to check my bag in case I was trying to find something, lightning is good in the bathroom
- breakfast, internet and gym were included to the price, I paid 577 £ for 7 nights in January 2013
- pizzas and pastas cost 8-10 £ in the Italian restaurant downstairs, for the room service you need to pay 3.50 £ extra, there is also Starbuck's in the same building
- there are no other restaurants nearby, just Esso gas station within 5 minute walking distance, if you want some other food you need to order fastfood or take a cab and go to the city to get something to eat
- bed is comfortable, bathroom, shower and air-condition are ok and work fine
- gym is very nice, lot of free weights, tredmills, bikes, air-condition is not too cold and there is a big swimming pool in the premises as well

Room Tip: Don't spend your money to the upper deck rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kepluuttaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elstree
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.8 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,687 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Elstree / Borehamwood Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ramada London North M1
Ramada London North M1
#5 of 6 in Borehamwood
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel London Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel London Watford

Property: Village Hotel London Watford
Address: Centennial Avenue, Elstree WD6 3SB, England (Formerly Village Urban Resort London Elstree)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Elstree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel London Watford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel London Watford is located just off Junction 5 of the M1, 1 mile from Elstree and Borehamwood Train Station and just 30 minutes from Central London. It is ideal for quick access to the M1, M25, A1 and Watford Junction Train Station. Nearby attractions include Wembley Stadium, Harry Potter Theme Park and Legoland. Village Hotel London Watford has 120 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, Hair Salon, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel London Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village London Hotel Elstree
Village Hotel London Watford Elstree, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing