We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Hotel London Watford
Nearby Hotels
$120
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elstree Inn(Borehamwood)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood(Borehamwood)(Great Value!)
$45
$43
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Borehamwood(Borehamwood)(Great Value!)
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$72
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$69
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,918)
Filter reviews
1,919 results
Traveler rating
839
571
311
99
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
571
311
99
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomthe upper deckleisure facilitiesthe pubsky tvstanmore tube stationcoffee machinemodern hotelgreat facilitiesswimming poolan industrial estatebusiness parkexcellent hotelwalk in showerstandard roomreception staffcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,710 - 1,715 of 1,919 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was a recommendation from friends living in the area where we were visiting. We had driven down from a stay in Birmingham.

We were warmly greeted at reception amongst a melee of children and yummy mummies who use the area as a meeting spot after school and retired to the comfort of the bedroom. The bedroom was impressive with lovely bathroom and comfortable bed. Why was there a constant noise from some services in the grille above the entrance door? Disturbed sleep was a result. We had a drink in the bar and then into the Buca de Beppo restaurant. The Italian name when translated means a certain rear anatomical part of Beppo. Probably what was meant was Boca di Beppo, meaning Beppo's mouth. In spite of the name, we had a very nice meal served by friendly and enthusiastic staff.

The next day, we learned that our onward travel plans were changed by bad weather and this would mean an early start the following morning. We had paid for two breakfasts and were aware that we would be gone before the breakfast restaurant opened. We asked if it would be possible to get some bread or croissants so that we could have breakfast in our room before leaving. Unfortunately this was not possible so we had to leave and eat in a motorway cafe. Maybe the hotel should consider making arrangements for early leavers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surveyorDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you like a quiet restful oasis of a hotel then the Village De Vere Elstree Hotel is definitely not for you. It's a useful base or stopover if you are en route to London, its airports or the South. This was a return visit for us when we recently spent a three night stay in a standard room on the third floor encompassing Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings whilst we had engagements in London. Please note the fourth (and highest) floor is charged at a premium rate for its Upper Deck rooms. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and check in was smooth. The room was modern, clean and well presented with flat screen television and separate bathroom with walk in shower - a nice touch. Room service daily was good. We had breakfast each morning and whilst it was nothing special it was perfectly adequate with good service from friendly and helpful staff. The Leisure Club is modern and well equipped with a good swimming pool. One negative is that in our experience this hotel gets exceptionally busy at weekends with not only its own guests but also with evening functions swelling the numbers. This might be a problem for some people as some guests late at night and early in the morning are sadly lacking in consideration for their fellow guests by carrying out noisy extended conversations on the bedroom corridors and slamming doors. Sadly smokers are also allowed to dominate the exterior of the main entrance doors at most times of the day and evening which should not be tolerated by management. Best practice in the hotel industry would not tolerate this and would provide signage to ensure that designated smoking areas were provided for guests away from the main entrance area. A good example of getting the balance right is shown at one of its sister hotels at the Village De Vere Hotel in Cheadle, Manchester. De Vere needs to provide greater consistency in this respect. Overall it's a decent hotel but stronger more client centred management could improve it in a number of ways.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsearcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

PROS, nice and very clean hotel . Rooms are clean and well stocked. The reception staff are very helpfull and a pleasure to deal with.The breakfast was just ok again the staff were very good and pleasant. It is only 5 mins from the M1.
CONS It is situated in a trading estate with nothing around but wharehouse`s and factories, it has the worst outlook of any hotel I have stayed in. The noise that is generatedby screaming kids waiting in the foyer!!!!The hotel is a popular health club so during the day it gives the impression of a lot of people walking around all the time. There is no quite area in the hotel. But my main complaint is about the bar prices,£3.10 for a 330cl of diet coke and £6 for a small glass of white wine, beware.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived hungry and thoroughly starved anticipating a feast at the "Buca Di Bepe" seven course buffe for Mothers Day.
Lots of lovely extra touches were given such a glass of lovely champagne on arrival for all "Mums", chocolates at the end of the meal and a lovely pot plant! Really nice touch i must say however the main objective is to get the food right!
The soup starter was nice, followed by some salad ( this needs reviving or some kind of revamp - rather boring now) and then the carvery - a lovely mash i had before was not being served and was replaced by hard cold veg. A crater sized HARD Yorkshire pudding is also offered.
There is a team of Eastern European (are they the only people hired these days) serving and maybe they are not in charge of the temperature of the food? Also i think in 2013 there should be a better Vegetarian option other than pasta, why are we still overlooked?... A simple Quorn pie or escalope would do!
Dessert is the same old dry chocolate cake and profiteroles and a apple tart. Not nice at all and i LOVE dessert.
We were served by a lovely girl whos name i cannot remember but had black -red- ish hair and black eye make up (if you are reading)
Big groups that draw out the afternoon into the evening are off putting too! Some people are really greedy as its an all you can eat buffet, they have to get "their monies worth" - LOL... You know who you are.
Someone needs to go back to the drawing board with the sunday lunch as i wont be going back till they do.
p.s - I had to cook a roast on the monday as i felt like i had been cheated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I came here for a 30th birthday party at the start of the year and have never been so underwhelmed. We still talk about 'Black Saturday'. Quite apart from anything else, my sympathies lay with the person who booked it as for them it must have been hugely embarrassing. £20 a head for what was a very tame meal. The garlic bread was cold when it arrived, the mozzarella in bread crumb bites were caked in grease, the pasta was full of oil and the pizza was tasteless and lacking in any real flavour. The best part was the birthday cake (which I found out later had been supplied by a member of the party rather than the restaurant).

I'm not from Elstree so can't recommend an alternative. Suffice to say - keep your money in your pocket and stay away from here.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank tombof610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews