We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay for London Christmas Shopping.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Hotel London Watford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One night stay for London Christmas Shopping.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on a Sunday night and took advantage of a special offer which 'included' a three course meal and a room on the 'upper deck'.

Given the price this was an excellent stay and the hotel is very clean and comfortable. We made use of the spa and pool which were also very clean. Lovely large swimming pool and gym but my partner did cut her foot on some broken tiles in the female changing area.

This is quite a posh hotel and I think more suited to adults as opposed to being a great place to take families and children, although there were families there who seemed to be having a good time.

The only disappointment was the evening meal which was supposedly three courses in with the special offer. I did expect some restrictions obviously but we were restricted to just £14.95 each. One would struggle to get three courses in for that much and would have to involve the cheapest item for each course. When the wine we were drinking was £7.50 per glass it didn't go very far.
To be fair though the waitress that took care of us was very pleasant and extremely knowledgable about the menu. The choice is good and there are an Italian or the pub on site to choose from to eat. The food was very nice. We did retire to the bar afterwards but I didn't find it particularly homely or felt like staying there.

The room was excellent if ever so slightly small. Sky TV and good shower, well appointed and very clean. A very comfortable bed and a great nights sleep.
Not a great location if you are not driving and wanting to get into London though, £10 taxi to Edgware tube and £5 train fair adds up.

Over all excellent value and a top class hotel with helpful and friendly staff and nice room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    446
    246
    76
    79
See reviews for
308
576
82
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I am only reviewing the banqueting facilities at a shared Christmas Party event at which a dinner was served followed by a disco. The setting was a modern but uninspiring banqueting suite. Much had been done to make the place festive but the tables, seating ten, were overcrowded and there was barely room to put the plates down. Music was playing too loudly throughout which meant talking was difficult and everyone needed to shout to be heard.

Vegetarians were not catered for in the set menu and those organising our event had ask for a main course especially. The result was inedible. To start I had a goats cheese and red onion tart served with a spiced apple sauce. This was not freshly prepared and the pastry was broken around the edge. It was bland with none of the red onion breaking through and the sauce still had a broken piece of star anise in it. My main course was turkey with the usual trimmings. The plates were hot (I find this detail often missing in mass catering). The vegetables were cooked al dente but served plain. The roast potatoes looked as though they were cooked from frozen. The turkey was a roll with a square piece of stuffing in the middle and served unsliced. It was slightly overcooked. Worst of all was the Christmas pudding it was a solid lump served cold in cold crème Anglaise.

The service was slow and chaotic; there were too few waiters. They were courteous but there was a distinct smell of body odour about some of them.

The disco was too loud and I found this so uncomfortable I had to leave. (Others may have found this acceptable and seemed to be enjoying the dance.)

Generally the facilities were clean and tidy but there was an unattended area where there was leftover food from a buffet left un-cleared. Most unforgiveable the cloakroom was left unattended and accessible to the public.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robfoolery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, General Manager at Village Hotel London Watford, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Greetings Robfoolery,

Although it has been some time since your experience at Village Urban Resort London Elstree I wanted to take this opportunity to contact you. Firstly, please allow me to apologise for your disappointing experience. I appreciate Christmas is an extremely important time of year to celebrate and as a party provider it is paramount for us to deliver an exceptional experience.

Our hotel has recently been through a transformation with an entirely new management team. Our Christmas last year was a success and I wanted to personally touch base with you to assure you the challenges experienced during your event have been resolved.

I would like to take the opportunity to speak directly with you as I would very much like to restore your faith in Village Urban Resort London Elstree by providing you with an enjoyable Christmas experience. If you would be so kind at to contact me at luke.pearl@village-hotels.com it would be greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night for our wedding anniversary. We went to Harry Potter World at Leavesden and the hotel was a fifteen minute drive away in an easy to reach location just outside of Watford. The hotel itself is very modern and has a Starbucks and an Italian restaurant and pub bar. Be warned the Starbucks is a franchise so more expensive than your regular Starbucks. It was Nice to be able to get a decent coffee though. We had a standard double and after reading all the reviews on here am glad we chose not to upgrade to an upper deck room which the receptionist said was 'about' £25 pounds!!! Seeing as others were charged £10! We had a perfectly big enough and quiet room with a large bathroom and rainforest shower. We couldn't fault the facilities at all except maybe the furniture was a little worn in places and the carpet needed a good Hoover around the edges!! There wasn't a great selection of tv channels (bbc1 2, Itv, ch 4 and 5 and a few sky sports and news channels). I've seen a lot more in cheaper hotels to be honest but wasn't too bothered for such a short stay. We had tea and coffee making facilities and an iron and ironing board and hair dryer in the room. The swimming pool was nice and clean and enjoyable. Breakfast was in the Italian restaurant and included continental or hot breakfast so enough to please most people. Aside from the ridiculously random upgrade price quoted by the receptionist we received perfectly good service from staff. Be warned however that this hotel holds large party nights and as its near Xmas there was a large Xmas party going on and it was difficult to even enter the hotel doors from the car park for drunk groups standing around smoking. I'd have been a little put off by this if our children had been with us. Luckily we heard nothing from our room and were able to sleep fine. No more noise than in any other hotel and we were on the 2nd floor. Overall a pleasant stay. Would stay again but think they need to review their so called upgrade prices.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
535 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This little hotel complex is very interesting. The facilities offer great bar with food, new American Italian chain now operates in most of the Village hotels, there's a top knotch hairdressing salon 'on campus' and the function rooms are very popular locally.
I had a one night stay in their 'UPPER DECK' floor. This floor, for an additional £10 per night, offers me extra Sky channels (mostly suitable for the male of the species as it's sport) - tea and coffee making facilities and a bottle of water.
It also offers one of the most comfortable beds and head pillows I ever used.
What it does NOT offer, and is one of my main gripes, is adequate bathroom facilities. The en-suites are tiny so there is only a shower (there could have been a bath with over shower facilities but modern thinking took over and let those who prefer to bathe be damned)! HOWEVER, the only equipment fitted was an overhead fixed shower with no shower caps in the amenities, so I could not use the bathroom without ruining my hair (AH, that's why the hairdressing salon is making money).
The hotel will vastly improve with the addition of slide bar OR hand-showering options, a shower cap and more amenities that already there.
The bathroom was not an enjoyable experience.
The cost of this was some £119 excluding breakfast. Pretty awful value I think.

Room Tip: They're all the same - situated in an Industrial Estate they all offer quiet and there is no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from Village Elstree on a one night break.Everything was great, staff were friendly and helpfull, Food dinner very nice but breakfast was outstanding so much choice. Asked for a quiet room and got exactly that. Room was spotless, warm and bed great. You also get Sky Sports 1 and 2 a big bonus. Will definatly be back

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank th0mas02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Me and my partner have stayed here a few times now to visit family
The staff are so helpful and smiley
The food is excellent and so is the breakfast (was not pounced on like a lot of other hotels and actually got to sit down)
The rooms are gorgeous walm colours and the bed is so comfy :) and the shower is so nice :)
There is lots of car parking spaces and the facilites are excellent :)

There is pub down stairs and you can not here any noise what so ever from it :)

Mt advice is to go there its a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalee_Jeckyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for a work event but was disappointed by the overall experience. The hotel is very modern looking and the public areas promise a lot but the bedroom was a bit if a let down. It was quite small and very dark with ill positioned lighting. The bed was comfortable but the chair was far too low for the desk which made it very difficult to use a laptop. The bathroom does have a very good walk in shower which was nice. The room was clean but the mirror was broken and had been patched up with gaffer tape!

The food was disappointing - lunch both days was quite tasteless and the food was barely warm. Breakfast was ok, usual selection of hot and cold offerings. Coffee provided in the meeting area on both days was also only luke warm.

I did not get chance to use the gym facilities but the swimming pool did look a very good size for a hotel pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elstree
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.8 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
6.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel London Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel London Watford

Property: Village Hotel London Watford
Address: Centennial Avenue, Elstree WD6 3SB, England (Formerly Village Urban Resort London Elstree)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Elstree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elstree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel London Watford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel London Watford is located just off Junction 5 of the M1, 1 mile from Elstree and Borehamwood Train Station and just 30 minutes from Central London. It is ideal for quick access to the M1, M25, A1 and Watford Junction Train Station. Nearby attractions include Wembley Stadium, Harry Potter Theme Park and Legoland. Village Hotel London Watford has 120 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, Hair Salon, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Village Hotel London Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village London Hotel Elstree
Village Hotel London Watford Elstree, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing