We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and attentive service”

Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 63 Restaurants in Didcot
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Kingswell has a welcoming atmosphere & provides the highest standards of freshly cooked, locally supplied food, drink & effortless service. Located in the beautiful south Oxfordshire countryside only minutes away from Harwell Campus, Abingdon, Wantage, Milton Park & Didcot. We also have 20 fully equipped bedrooms & meeting facilities within our traditional building, parts of which used to be a 16th Century Farmhouse.General informationThe sixteenth century oak-beamed restaurant offers extensive menus, as well as a traditional Sunday Lunch.Luncheon is served between 12 pm and 2 pm Monday to Sunday. Dinner is available between 6.30 pm and 9.30 pm Monday to Saturday and between 7 pm and 9 pm on Sundays.All dishes are freshly prepared in our kitchen, with an emphasis on using local produce. To the best of our knowledge no GM ingredients.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We visited the Kingswell without a reservation for dinner and this was not a problem. The 2 people in charge of the bar and the restaurant were very welcoming. We had one starter and two main courses all of which were very good. The total bill was £42 not including a tip but including drinks. We thought this very reasonable for what we had had. Would have no hesitation in calling here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cheshirepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Many thanks for the review of your recent visit to the Kingswell. We all take pride in our work and it gives us a real boost to have it recognised. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 156 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We took some friends over here for their special wedding anniversary. We went over in the afternoon to drop off the presents and balloons and to order some Champagne to be on the table when we get there. The staff were very pleasant and amazing to chat to.

When we got over to the restaurant that evening I was shocked and amazed that they had done everything that I had asked them to do. Normally something gets missed but not here. Lovely warm welcome, lovely atmosphere and the food is exquisite.

I can't comment highly enough on the food here from the starters through to desert and coffee, And the only thing that I can say is Please go over and try it. You will not be disappointed.

Tip though the ceiling is quite low when you first go into the reception so if you are in high heels then just watch your head :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjbunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Really pleased you enjoyed your celebration at the Kingswell. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was my husband,s choice as we had an excellent meal here before.The starters were fine ,but the main course was very disappointing ,the plates were not hot,we didnt eat the roast potatoes which seemed to have been cooked earlier,cauliflower didn,t have a sauce just a covering of cheese.Yes you were busy but a freshly cooked Sunday lunch shouldn't,t be that difficult.

1  Thank Lyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Sorry to hear you were a little disappointed with your Husbands choice for Lunch. Please be assured we note all comments from our Clients in the hope we learn and can improve on the expectations of their visits to the Kingswell. Trust you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We eat at the Kingswell quite regularly and thought it was about time we gave them a review. The food is consistently good. The menu is pretty varied and reasonable value and there are always specials which means that you can have quality different food each time you visit. The service is also invariably good and the wine good quality and reasonably priced. I have no hesitation in recommending the Kingswell and, if you don't want to pay a bit more and visit the best local restaurant (the Sweet Olive), the Kingswell should be your destination in the Didcot area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

So good to hear you enjoy visiting the Kingswell. We take pride in what we do here and its so gratifying when people take the trouble to recognise what we are aiming to provide. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Got together with some school friends from too many years ago to mention and their wives.
Had a lovely lunch with a menu which was hot and interesting in its variety. The starter and main left little space for the excellent variety of desserts. Fortunately I chose not to have the starter and could be smug when desserts were served!
All round good service and excellent cuisine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Great to hear you had a good lunch with us. PS no need to worry about making sure you leave room for a dessert. We have a magic way of leaving calories out when we make them !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing