We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The House on the Corner

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Didcot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The House on the Corner
Ranked #5 of 14 Didcot B&B and Inns
Birmingham, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Thanks Wendy, for making us so welcome, for our weekend visit to Didcot Railway Centre. The House on the Corner is just a few minutes walk from the centre and Wendy made us feel very welcome.

We had a lovely room on the second floor, our own fridge, a settee, table and chairs and TV/DVD. This was called the Studio Room.

We had a wonderful time at the Railway Centre wholeheartedly recommend both the Centre and the House on the Corner if you're visiting the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Studio room and, although we only stayed for a weekend, it looked a great option fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
4
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I couldn't disagree more with the last reviewer. We stayed here in June for the third time, whilst visiting friends and family.

It's an old house and, yes, the stairs to the top rooms are a little steep for the elderly but the studio room was charming and worth it. Not all rooms are at the top. No cooked breakfast but we were delighted with the fully stocked fridge, cereals, juices and usual tea and coffee. Everything in our room was fresh including the flowers.

Rooms are spotlessly clean and we'll certainly be here next time and not the Premier Inn which was over £100 when I last stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed for one night as it was very close to friends we were visiting. Booking was an utter shambles and had it not been so convenient I'd have given up after about the fourth phone call. I was told a variety of stories as to whether or not there was a room available and at no point did Wendy seem to have the faintest idea that she'd spoken to me before! I was repeatedly asked to call back although I had provided my contact details. The room was clean, but that's about all I can say in favour of this B&B. It was also cluttered and does NOT come with all facilities, contrary to what you will be told. Read the website carefully - the following are not made clear:
1) Yes, there is a shower and basin, but these are IN the room (not en suite).
2) The only loo is shared between three rooms. If you're in one of the top floor rooms, this is also one floor down a flight of very steep narrow stairs. I do not consider a room without a loo to have all facilites!
3) The stairs make the rooms inaccessible to anyone not fully able-bodied - narrow, steep, short treads and no hand rail on the top flight (not a problem for me, but my parents wouldn't have coped)
4) This is a B&B that doesn't (in my opinion) do breakfast. You are given a small selection of breakfast cereals (some in open boxes that have been there for god knows how long), a loaf of white sliced, a pint of milk, tea/coffee and the remnants of someone else's butter.
The bed was also pretty uncomfortable - you could feel the springs even through the mattress topper, so no expense spared on guest comfort, then! I was told that she didn't do breakfast to keep the costs down, but at £60 per night, this is hardly budget accommodation. It is more expensive than the Premier Inn at Milton Park, where at least you know what you're getting and someone will be available should you have any queries. Payment only taken in cash on arrival - you have to let yourself out when you leave and post the keys as no-one is around. Draw your own conclusions on that one!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed at the house on the corner for two weeks when I was working at milton park. I can't recommend highly enough and I will stay there next time I'm working in Didcot.

Great location, close to work and very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EalingRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Didcot
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#2 of 7 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southern Wood B&B
Southern Wood B&B
#9 of 14 in Didcot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kingswell Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Steventon House Hotel
Steventon House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on the Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Corner

Property: The House on the Corner
Address: 2C Hagbourne Road | Corner of Broadway and Hagbourne Road, Didcot OX11 8DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Didcot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Didcot
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The House on The Corner B & B Guest House The House on the Corner is a late victorian town house, was originally a farm house, and retains many of the original features. We have 3 guest rooms and one self contained serviced flat next door. B & B Guest House Working in or near to Didcot? We're conveniently located for Milton Park, Didcot Power Station, Harwell Innovation Centre, Diamond Light Source, Culham Science Park, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Didcot town centre and mainline railway station. Visiting friends & Family? We are located in the town centre and close to Restaurants, the Cornerstone, Cinema, Didcot Railway Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The House On The Corner Didcot, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing