We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Moreton House

North Moreton House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Didcot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Moreton House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Didcot
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was looking for something a little bit different from the normal run of the mill hotels that are available in main towns and cities. Trip Advisor alerted me to this house, and I have to say I was not disappointed! Katie, whose house it is was not able to be there when we arrived. However, this was not a problem, we spoke on the phone and made the necessary arrangements for us to gain access to the property. The room was lovely, large and airy with a lovely four poster bed! Katie had left me a note asking what we would like for breakfast and at what time. This was a lovely touch as normally times are set for breakfast. There was also a lovely sitting room that we were able to use if we wanted to. Katie was an excellent host and made us feel very welcome. Thank you very much Katie and Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b3ano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

North Moreton House is just magical. The building alone (a charming 16th century building with good facilities) makes staying here worthwhile, but it just gets even better. Katie is one of the nicest people ever to run a B & B. I came over with friends from Brazil who were utterly enchanted by the whole experience (and by Katie's warm welcome) and when we arrived for breakfast next morning, we got an absolute treat. I'm a veteran of many an English breakfast, most of which are forgettable, but I still remember the fantastic food that awaited us; delicious fruit compote that Katie made herself and superb tasty sausages from the local butcher among several other items. This is such a wonderful place and Katie is such a thoughtful host. I'm so glad to have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metalbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife, and I, recently spent two wonderful nights at North Morton House. Katie is by far most helpful and accommodating host I have ever known whether it be a hotel, or guest house. Her advice about getting around the local area and Oxford was priceless. And to cap it all she cooks a superb breakfast which sets you up for the day. Definitely be back to stay there again.Oh, and if you like dogs Toto, the resident Black Lab, is truly a wonderful dog.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulandLinda33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

North Moreton House is not only a gorgeous, historic home (as in 500 years old, but beautifully kept up and modernised in the areas that matter), and in a perfect setting, in a truly quaint village, but Katie (and her husband David) are absolutely lovely hosts! It's about 2 miles outside of Didcot, so we just took a taxi from the Didcot Parkway train station. It would be easy to find if you have a car and your GPS. The rooms are beautiful, very nice beds, and the bathroom we had was quite nice. The views are just gorgeous. Breakfast was superb each morning (we were there for 3 nights). Two of the mornings, David or Katie actually drove us to the train station, or all the way to Oxford. They were so gracious! If you want a quiet place to get away to, yet one that is very convenient for Oxford and surrounding areas, i highly recommend this place. The pub is just a short walk, and the food there is fantastic, and the prices are very reasonable! I dream of returning to North Moreton House someday before too long.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quietspirit82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
283 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

North Moreton House is a very quaint, cozy and clean B&B located in Didcot near Oxford. Katie is a wonderfully friendly hostess, very attentive to our needs and full of energy.

The B&B is quite large, very clean and as a Historic building goes, very well kept.

The rail link from Oxford is very convenient and the B&B is only a short taxi ride from Didcot Parkway. Just remember to tell the driver, you need to be in HIgh Street, North Moreton, outside of Didcot as there is also a High Street in Didcot. Katie's website is correct but Google Map is not detailed enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WSS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Didcot
5.6 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
4.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
8.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Moreton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Moreton House

Property: North Moreton House
Address: North Moreton, Didcot, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Didcot
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Didcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
North Moreton House Didcot, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing