We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child friendly hotel with lots of entertainment and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel because we were meeting friends that have a child. If you don't have children or you don't like being around them think twice about visiting this hotel. It's a familyhotel with all the childern and child-activities to prove it.

The staff is very considerate and professional. We were more than once surprised by their attitude and service.

Breakfast is quite okay, but consider going early if you want to avoid a very crowded breakfastbuffet.

The rooms are clean, modern and nicely outfitted. Our friends stayed in a theme room with a special child-area. It even had a special game in the room that made their son feel like a real adventurer.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank TM-op-reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the Chessington Resort. It’s great to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the family room that you stayed in and that our little touches really make a difference! We will ensure your great feedback is passed on to all staff members. We hope to welcome you back to ‘Britain’s Wildest Adventure’ again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I highly rate this hotel having stayed here on a Saturday night in September. We were are a large group of 20 people representing 7 families and the restaurant staff bent over backwards to accommodate our needs. The family rooms were superb - clean, comfortable and spacious and both breakfast and dinner were excellent. We will be back!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank KSB2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your five star review of the Chessington resort and we are glad to hear that you and your group could experience the great service which we strive to achieve. We hope to welcome you back to ‘Britain’s Wildest Adventure’ again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This trip was a special birthday weekend for my daughter who was 11. From the moment we arrived through to visiting the adventure park and back to the hotel all the staff were so helpful,accommodating, happy and were lovely with the children. We couldnt fault anything, well if we had to it may be that the lighting in the restaurant was a bit dim but thats all.
My daughter lots of birthday wishes from the staff throughout the day that made her feel special. The hotel room was delightful and the kids loved their themed beds. Great view out the window of the zufari too.
Would Defanatly come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your five star review of the Chessington Resort!

We are so happy to hear that your daughter had such a great time on her birthday and that we were able to be a part of the happy memories which we hope she will have for a long time to come. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and thank you for choosing 'Britain's Wildest Adventure'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in August with my family, combined with our visits to both chessington and Thorpe park. As merlin Pass holders, we got a special rate for bed and breakfast,which was a bonus. The african theme of the hotel is great, and all the rooms/public areas are stylish and contemporary but with that safari atmosphere. The views of the nature reserve were great, and overall stay-highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your five star review of the Chessington Resort! It’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the views of our Wanyama Reserve and that you loved the hotel's African theme.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘Britain’s Wildest Adventure’ soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I only stay here on my own as its near head office but would love to stay here with my children - jungle themes everywhere and rooms and restaurant looking over the park and the animals. Usual HI prices and quality.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank The_Canal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of the Chessington Resort. It’s great to hear that you would like to come and stay with your children; we have plenty of entertainment and activities for children of all ages to enjoy!

Hopefully we will see you and your family soon at ‘Britain’s Wildest Adventure’!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed a Saturday night during a"Chessington" weekend birthday treat for our son's 6th birthday. On our arrival the reception staff were efficient and very friendly. After a day at the theme park we were in our room within 10 minutes. Although at the front of the hotel and not a themed room, it was large enough to accomodate a large double bed and african animal themed bunkbeds, along with a nice bathroom. The restaurant staff were friendly and cheerful, during dinner and especially at breakfast arranging a surprise birthday table for our son's birthday, along with a visit by Alex the lion and King Julien characters. Overall a really nice place, although meal prices in the restaurant are very high for standard quality food

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndoverG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your brilliant review of the Chessington Resort! It’s fantastic to hear that you have given our restaurant team such great feedback and that you enjoyed the visit from Alex and King Julien!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at ‘Britain’s Wildest Adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here after booking two for one tickets at the Theme Park. The family rooms are excellent and the kids loved having their own TV. Lovely to look out from the bar area to see Zebras, Giraffes and Emu's. Dinner was ok but not brilliant and the service considering they weren't busy was very slow. In their own write up it states there is a games room for kids. This consisted of two games you had to pay for and nothing else. The TV area where they could watch films on beanbags was according to their website in a place where they could watch TV while the parents enjoyed a drink at the bar. No. It is situated in the foyer, 20 yards from the exit and if you were in the bar you would not be able to see them at all and if you came to where they are watching the film there is nowhere to sit. I have been to a fair few Holiday Inns around the world and have always been delighted but this was disappointing. If you advertise yourself as a hotel linked to a theme park where lots of kids will stay, give them something to do or at least move the TV area to a place where adults can sit and relax as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for recent review of the Chessington Resort. It’s great to hear that you and your family loved the family room you stayed in. Additionally, it’s great that you enjoyed the fantastic views across our Wanyama Reserve, which is home to many free ranging animals including zebras, giraffes and ostriches. We do offer many activities or children to do around the hotel during weekends and also over the current Halloween period. This includes our animal encounters, where children can get up close to many of the Chessington Zoo animals and also our Rangers Club during the evening which includes many games and colouring in activities. Additionally, King Julien and Alex the lion from the Madagascar show do like to make an appearance! We have taken your feedback and passed it onto our hotel team for their consideration. We do hope you’ll come and visit us again soon for you and your family to enjoy what we have to offer at ‘Britain’s Wildest Adventure’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
#9 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
5 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
660 reviews
6.7 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price Range: $81 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing