We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 day visit to chessington world of adventures resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“2 day visit to chessington world of adventures resort”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

First visit to the hotel, although we have visited the park on many occasions. Hotel was very nice staff very pleasant. Breakfast very good and plentiful. rooms large and clean, bathrooms good, only complaint was only had shower and the children prefer bathing. Did not have time to visit the pool although it seemed very busy.Nice after 7 to visit the village reserve in quiet, open at that time only to residents. Would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacknanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your recent feedback, I am glad you hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Chessington Resort.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the room, facilities and breakfast with us at the hotel. I do apologise that your room only had a shower, we do have rooms with baths available if you return to us in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again at 'Britain's Wildest Adventure'!

Kind Regards,
Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    579
    290
    155
    136
See reviews for
1,287
106
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here with my 2 children aged 15 and 13 and my 2 grandchildren aged 4 and 1 room was lovely. We booked a room with the waynama view and wow it was wonderful. The room was spotless and comfortable..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_ayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay at Chessington World of Adventures! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Wanyama view across the reserve.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards,

Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Chessington World of Adventures. We had an Executive Room which was excellent - wonderful King Size bed and fold out sofa bed, very well equipped with a great view of the animals in the park. We had our young son with us and the staff we very accommodating. The restaurant was good, although the menu and food was better on the Thursday than the Friday - think this might be for the benefit of business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mason_pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Chessington World of Adventures resort. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your executive room and that the staff were very helpful in the restaurant.

We look foward to welcoming you back to 'Britain's Wildest Adventure'.

Kind Regards,
Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

-No WiFi in rooms
-No refregirators in rooms
-Internet only using cable and very slow
-Reception is understaffed only one person
-Food is poor quality and there is no dining table in rooms
-park is good
-Has swimming pool for kids

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SALMAN_SMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Good Afternoon,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all of your stay with us at Chessington World of Adventures. If you would like to contact our guest experience team within the hotel, we will be happy to respond.

Kind Regards,

Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a 2 night stay with our two children aged 5 and 1years old.
The hotel is really nicely decorated and is in perfect position for the theme park, the rooms were zoo themed and the childrens beds were seperate to the main area with their own tv which was really nice !.
We had a go in the swimming pool which was pretty basic but ok ! And the restaurant was nice food.
Hotel was friendly and very family orientated to the point where moshi monsters were at bfast the next morning which both of the kids loved and had pictures with. You get after hours access to the zoo part connected to the hotel and early access to the theme park.all in all a great little weekend away for our sons birthday

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadeynjakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Chessington World of Adventures Resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the separate children's sleeping area within your bedroom.

We hope to see you again at Britain's Wildest Adventure!

Kind Regards,

Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I ummed and aahed about booking a weekend package with the park included. I did not know anyone who had been to the hotel and it was a bit more than we would normaly pay but blimey THANK GOODNESS that did not put us off. We had the time of our lives and all my concerns vanished as soon as we entered reception. The staff are EXCEPTIONAL, they are friendly, welcoming, and nothing is too much trouble. We booked a room with the Waynama view and WOW its a wonderful view, you could be on safari in Kenya seeing giraffes, zebras, ostriches roaming free. The boys (8 and 6) were blown away by the decorated animal themed bunk beds. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. You could just sit at the window watching the animals all day as it is so relaxing but there is so much else to do. We went from Friday to Sunday and booked the 2 days at the park Saturday and Sunday, So the Friday we were able to enjoy the hotel. There is so much going on; animals visit, madagascar characters, moshi monsters at breakfast, entertainment for the children on an evening, We had no idea this was all provided. Please note that if you do not have children you can enjoy this hotel just as much. After dinner(which was delicious and you can watch it being cooked) they open up a dusk walk around the animals. Its super and a lovely way to walk off dinner, The sunsets were amazing too. I really couldnt believe our good luck in finding this place and I am only sorry I hadnt known it was there before. Breakfast is wonderful and there is more choice than I can list and have ever seen at a hotel breakfast. It is clearly stated in the hotel information that the busy times are between 8 and 9 so we avoided these times and we had no problems whatsover. The breakfast is open 7.30 to 10.30 so caters for early and late rises. The following day we had early access to the park due to this package which is brilliant as you can enjoy a few of the most popular rides without the need to queue! It truly is a great way to do the parks over 2 days as you are not trying to rush to do everything. On the Saturday we spent half a day in the park and then came back to go in the hotel pool which we had to ourselves! Sunday, another day in the park butwe did not need to rush to do everything. It is the best way to enjoy a theme park. We did not want to leave (including the dad!) A special mention to Krish in guest services as nothing was too much trouble. If he could have made the traffic on the M25 less busy he would have done, to give us an easy journey! I have told all my friends and plan to visit again before the year is done.
If you never go to this hotel then you are missing out! A truly wonderful place.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a bit extra for the Waynama View,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Good Afternoon Julie S,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Chessington World of Adventures Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the service you received as well as views and bedroom you stayed in.

We hope you can join us again at 'Britain's Wildest Adventure'!

Kind Regards,
Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed one night only and it was lovely. The room was very clean the meals were nice and the kids loved sitting outside near the park for supper :) we had a good day in the park we got in at 9.30 as we stayed in the holiday in the night before . The only thing I could say I was not happy about was waiting in line for so long for most of the rides but 3 broke down and no one told anybody so people were left waiting for longer and did not even get to go on . my little girl was very un happy that we waited so long for one for this to happen ! Most signs do say there is to be no line jumping this happens alot we had it done about 5 times .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N1234567889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWOAR, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Good afternoon N1234567889

Thank you for your recent comments following your recent stay at the Chessington Resort Hotel.

I am glad you found our rooms clean and you got to enjoy your evening with us


we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to the Chessington Resort Hotel.

Kind regards

Habib Kopti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#143 of 1,068 in London
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Property: Chessington Safari Hotel
Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing