We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here on a football trip / weekend. The hotel was very clean except for stained carpets. we booked for a family room and got too interconnecting rooms which were a fantastic size. Great room facilities, free toiletries, no bath. Shower wasnt overly hot each time used but certainly acceptable. The staff were very helpful and attentive. I would definately stay here again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuvriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,511 - 1,517 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

As a Christmas treat for the family, my husband bought a winter break - overnight stay with breakfast, and Chessington Zoo and Sealife entrance. We asked for an upgrade to a Safari room, which we were happy to pay for, and the children had the delight to see the Stone Aslan and Emus from the window. The room had a section for the children with a TV and so did the adults. Tea and coffee facilities were available and in all the room was perfectly clean, comfortable and adequate. We had a swim in the pool and a great bonus was they provided towels for the pool. There was a sauna and steam room too.
We booked a table in the restaurant and the children enjoyed their meal and we had great steaks, (as good as any reasonable restaurant). I was especially pleased they served pistachio ice cream for dessert. The children watched a film in the bar, so we could sit nearby and have a relaxing drink.
The next day was spent in the zoo and park. Highlights were the Sealion show, gorillas, lions and tigers, as well as the monkey walk through.
All in all, we had a lovely family experience and will be looking to book again next festive season.

Room Tip: Ask for a Safari room. Prepare to pay for the upgrade. The children will be very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaborc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed here several times and each time there has been one issue or another. This time, they really seemed to get their act together. There were some Xmas parties on but the noise was well managed. Despite some screaming drunk girls at 3.00am, all was good. Let's hope they have learned and offer consistant quality all of the time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A truly terrible ongoing experience with this hotel.

They double charged me on the room (agency having already charged full amount in advance). First they failed to follow-up and then they deny that double payment has been taken despite being sent the documentation. No responsiveness from the management, who clearly don't care about their customers. Never experienced this in >25yrs of business travel.

May be being next to a zoo has rubbed off but through no fault of my own they have caused stress and much waste of time. Best avoided.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokyo_JapanAndrewT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Tokyo_JapanAndrewT,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel regarding your stay.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service you have received was less than satisfactory. Our goal is to provide the best guest experience and we deeply regret that we have failed to deliver on this occasion.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed and will be used to reconsider improvements. We hope that you can give us another chance so we can show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here and paid extra for a room with a view of the animals. The room was lovely very clean and spacious. The bedding was lovely, all clean and fresh, bathroom was clean too. We paid for a buffet as part of the package and the food was good. The only thing to watch out for is we paid for a room with a view of the animals, it was dark when we arrived and the next morning we opened the windows and there was no way from the room we had we could see any animals. We could however see the diggers etc where they are making further animal grounds. When we complained the hotel refunded the extra we had paid but we had one disappointed 6 year old.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia_MPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Lucia_MPoole,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you liked your room accommodation and the quality of food served. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. However, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your room view. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in May 2012. The hotel looks very impressive and the rooms over looking the animal reserve are a great feature. However......
We booked this hotel even though it was costing over £100 more than where we would normally stay, we thought it would make a great treat. We booked the room over the phone as we have a merlin annual pass and had seen an advert on the merlin website that we could get a discount if we mentioned our membership when booking. We booked a room over looking the animal reserve with breakfast inc for us and our 7 year old. We received an email to confirm our booking which stated the price etc. We noticed on the email that we had been given the staff discount and we had to show proof of employment when we arrived. We called them back and were told that the person who booked it had got it totally wrong and also had quoted us the wrong price it should of been £100 more!!! We were very angry and after a very lengthy argument involving a manager we negotiated the price down to just £40 more than was agreed. The next email we received had the new revised and agreed amount but stated room only no breakfast. so we made yet another phone call back and after another argument and another costly discussion calling an 084 number from a mobile we were assured that they had made a note on the booking that we should get breakfast. we arrived early in the morning and we went straight to the park. when we finished around 5pm we were so excited to see the room over looking the animal park. however we didn't have this room when we got there. We went down to reception who informed us that every room in the hotel was booked out as it was the bankl holiday wknd and the busiest time so they could not move us to what was promised. We decided to speak to the manager in the morning and to just settle in for the night as at this point we were exhausted. We decided to try the restaurant and to chill out. We called down to book a table for tea and were told they were totally booked until 9pm! Our daughter definately couldn't wait that long and so we went out in search of a restaurant instead. By the time we arrived back it was 10pm and we went straight to bed. It was over 30 degrees that wknd and the air con in the room stopped working. We again went to reception who borrowed us the worst most ineffective fan i have ever seen. It was basically a small square that blew[ish] out air. In the morning we woke up early so we could have breakfast before we could complain about everything that went wrong. Of course no one knew about a note saying we had breakfast included and again had another argument to explain that the last person we spoke to while booking had promised it would be included, all in all we spent over £150 more to stay in a hotel that we couldn't eat in, was boiling hot and we spent more time at the reception complaining than in the room [ that didn't even look over the animal reserve] We had a very tired and upset little girl who wanted to know why she couldn't see the animals like we promised. A total nightmare and waste of our hard earned cash!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Kelly B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret our hotel fell short in rendering great service during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here as we were spending a couple of days at the park. The hotel was really lovely and clean. Our rooms were good and very comfortable.

The que to get into the dining area at breakfast was ridiculous, dinner was pretty much the same, I suggest booking a table for dinner.

The breakfast was good, lots of varieties. The dinner was ok, I couldn't really rate it so highly and it was pricey for what it was especially the drinks.

The pool changing area could do with modernising and a good clean. Only 2 showers of which one worked. Toilets in the gym area was grim. Too many people in a small overcrowded changing room. Pool was good though.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
#9 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
5 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
659 reviews
6.7 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price Range: $82 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn
Chessington Safari Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing