We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Sunday dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Prince William

The Prince William
Ranked #47 of 94 Restaurants in Castleford
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Prince William is a family friendly Carvery restaurant situated just off Junction 31 of the M62. We Serve food from 8am to 10pm everyday. Come in for our great value all you can eat buffet breakfast at just £4.29, 8am-11:30am, or enjoy a main meal from just £4.99. Hand carved roasted meats, 100% hand rolled fresh dough pizzas, and stacked up burgers, all with unlimited salad or veg. Enjoy great value draught Beers & ciders, or maybe a craft beer. We show all major sporting events across BT Sport & Sky Sports channels LIVE on 6 big screen TVs in the bar with all our great food and drinks offers available to all.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quick Sunday dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Heard decent reviews so called in for a carvery. Arrived at 12, wouldn't recommend arriving later as it's busy. Apparently it's more expensive on a Sunday but children under 10 eat for free, we have two!!. Choice of four meats, plenty of fresh veg as well. Good value, you get what you pay for, certainly better than much of the local competition.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RubadubHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    40
    25
    23
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A good carvery. Good selection of beer and wine.Clean. And friendly staff. If you like to eat when its quiet. Then go between 4pm and 5pm

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geraldtaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First time on Sunday - and the last”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went for the first time on a Sunday as our oven broke down. We were very disappointed and didn't get value for money. More than twice the midweek prices, and the meat portions were pitifully small. OK you can fill up on veg, but only as much as the small plate will allow, but that is hardly the point. I expect reasonable portions of meat - it's called a CARVERY!
Not part of the deal, I know, but some smiles and pleasantness from the staff wouldn't go amiss, they were dull as dishwater. No one asks if the food is OK, I know some people find the interruption annoying, but on this occasion we were just dying for someone to ask!

Disappointing, we won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Proper value for money!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We have visited many times during the week and you simply will not get better value for money. Couple of different carvery options for smaller or larger appetites plus good desert options. Two of our children wouldn't eat a full meal so they give you a small plate free of charge. Ends up costing us less than 20 quid including drinks and ice cream for kids!!! Best that. Well done to all involved at crown carvery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris1979lufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average.. but you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The place itself is very nice, staff are friendly and atmosphere is good.
The carvery is usually quite nice but can sometimes be a bit dry although this is to be expected somewhat with a carvery.
You get what you pay for and if you don't go on Sunday it's really good value..the price doubles on sundays though so it's less tempting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davecl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince William also viewed

Castleford, West Yorkshire
 
Castleford, West Yorkshire
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Prince William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing