We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for over-priced food”
Review of The Winding Wheel

The Winding Wheel
Ranked #60 of 99 Restaurants in Castleford
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At The Winding Wheel Harvester in Castleford food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Castleford, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Glasshoughton, Ferry Fryston and Whitwood, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited this restaurant as a birthday treat. Although there were several empty tables we were told the wait was about 20 minutes and after that time we were shown our table - it was one of the tables we saw empty when we first went in. The Waitress was quick in taking the order and in bringing the drink drinks. The salad bar wasn't up to the usual standards of other Harvesters and a couple of the items weren't fresh. We finished the salad and waited and waited and were on the verge of leaving when our food eventually turned up nearly an hour and a half after ordering. No one came to apologise for the delay nor was an apology offered when we paid. Certainly won't be visiting this one again, no-one seemed to care.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank neighbours911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 341 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Waited ages for the food. To then receive stodgy mash. 3 burners sausages and cold "bisto" gravy. Won't be returning. Drinks expensive too £2.80 for a bitter shandy is ridiculous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank abbie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Frequented the establishment today for a family meal - service slow - salad bar running out of ingredients - and wait for it - took 25 minutes for a drink to be delivered to the table - asking why - human error!!
This place seems to run on the excuse that all that is failing or failed is due to human error - so why is this not addressed - the honesty is that after 3 years frequenting this establishment - with complaints to the higher persons - human error has been the acceptable excuse!

PS - chicken that I ordered was still bleeding - I rest my case!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 28NickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is one of Mitchells & Butlers Harvester pubs. It's OK for the price, bearing in mind the free salad bar. We both had the chicken breast with a baked potato and peas which was OK. The chicken was moist and tasty and at £5.99, including as much salad as you can eat, was good value. The salad bar was well stocked with a good variety of items and gave you something to nibble on whilst the main meal was being prepared. My wife's Tonic Water at £1.35 was about average but I thought my Diet Pepsi at £2.40 was a little expensive. One thing I did like was the calories shown for each dish, good if you are on a diet. The staff were pleasant despite clearly being rushed off their feet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Greeting from manager was not exactly welcoming. The restaurant area was full of griddle smoke from the open plan kitchen. The table was sticky and the salad bar was messy. Food standard was what you would expect from a more down market establishment and did not represent value for money. My daughters pasta dish from the childrens menu was frightful. This was mentioned to the manager but she chose to ignore it. I also noticed that the aforementioned manager was cleaning tables so there was no point persueing this either. It honestly make me wonder if senior management in Harvester really care about how their restaurants are operated at a local level. Do they even care? Probably not - guests are a real pain. Lets face it all we do is generate income and profits for their company.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2888alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit, and if you would care to contact us directly by email at harvester.reviews@gmail.com we will be happy to reply more fully.
Thank you
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winding Wheel also viewed

Castleford, West Yorkshire
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Birdwell, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Winding Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing