We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome day out for all the family!!”
Review of Diggerland

Diggerland
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Castleford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Diggerland is the Ultimate adventure park experience where children and adults can drive REAL construction machinery. With over 15 rides and drives there’s something for everyone at Diggerland. For the daredevil in you, take a ride on ‘Spindizzy’, unique to Diggerland; prepare to feel the ultimate adrenaline rush on this world famous attraction. Want to get some real JCB experience? Try out your excavating skills on our giant dirt diggers, or drive a monster JCB 3CX. Or you can relax and take in the views, from 50ft in the air on our ‘Skyshuttle’.Diggerland is open weekends and every day during school holidays. Please check website or call for details.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An awesome day out for all the family!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We (myself, my husband, & our son) went with some friends & their kids for a day out. What an amazing place! I never realised you could do so many different things with diggers. My son (5) was in his absolute element, as was his best friend who'd been before. They started with the mini land rovers, great fun, he loved it, shouting "look mummy I'm driving!" most of the way round the track. Then attempted to knock down skittles & hook ducks with the smaller diggers. We all went on the large digger ride, scary lol. A bit of advice, if you're going on that one (down at the far end by the go kart's) DON'T eat first, it's a tad bumpy ;) Another one lifts you up way above ground (not good for anyone with a fear of heights) which gives a fab view over the park & surrounding area. My husband was brave enough (or should that be crazy enough?) to go on Spindizzy, a wide bucket digger that spins you round several times as fast as it can, then spins you the other way (like I said, crazy lol). All in all I'd say this is definitely worth a visit!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    180
    61
    33
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive and Poor Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our visit to Diggerland was expensive and disappointing. We paid just short of £80 for 2 Adults, a 6 yr old and a 4 yr old. The park itself is good and our boys had a great time, they enjoyed the rides and outside go-karts (which are included in the entry fee). The three other ride-on attractions are not free however and require £1 a time.
We went for lunch to the cafe upstairs and were really disappointed. The woman serving appeared to be caring for two small children whilst working behind the counter. The older child had taken over a 6 seater table to himself with his own toys, along with snatching a ride-on toy from another visiting family whilst we were there. The baby was in a pram to the side if the food preparation area, this was not best practice in both food hygiene and also health and safety.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieTheMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherene M, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. At Diggerland, we take our reviews very seriously and appreciate all feedback. We are happy to hear your boys had a great time and enjoyed themselves. We do have a few coin operated rides such as the dodgems, and this is stated on our website.

With regards to the restaurant, this is an outside company. We appreciate your feedback and will speak with the restaurant directly raising each of your points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent day out”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was a fantastic day out which we started as the doors opened at 10am and went all the way through to closing time at 5pm. We went as a family group with 3 kids under 7 and two teens and they loved every minute of it. Able to go on everything and for the 6 year old even getting to drive the main JCB was a quality moment in the day, thank you Ryan. No queues but this could have been the fact that the Tour de France started in Yorkshire today. It did mean that we could go on everything as many times as we wanted. The Spindizzy ride lives up to its name and gives some of the main theme park rides a real run for their money. That could be down to the operator, also called Ryan, who seemed to take great delight in making the ride as scary as possible. Even though it can appear expensive, it was worth every penny and you can go online to get a discount or sign up to the news letter and they send offers via text occasionally which is how we got a 25%. It is also great fun for the adults! I loved it and would recommend it to anyone looking for something a bit different.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Grandson's Selection”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was one of our grandson's birthday selection's to go to Diggerland as he is nut's about building equipment. As we were guests of our daughter I cannot comment on the cost, I will let others comment on that.

The day was drizzly & chilly early on but brightened/warmed up later, this did not stop the children having a brilliant day after the older two realised what was on offer. They were somewhat skeptical at first thinking it was for the young one's.

We had taken a picnic to have there but the wether put an end to that, so after 2 hours + playing, it was decided to go to the restaurant on site. The menu had a good selection, it was very clean, the staff were very helpful the price was very realistic for the food you received.

If we had better wether we would have sat on the grass and let the older children do there own thing. It was fairly busy but no queue's the staff were very good engaging with the children. All-in-all a good day was had even the baby of the group had thing's to do.

The only down side is the paying of some of the ride's like in the restaurant for the go-carte's and the quad-bike's, then the outside it's the bumper car's. I can understand the entry price is to cover the initial cost - maintenance and fuel for the plant equipment but not for those that run on electrical power, also as I understand the plant has a "working life as well" so that will offset some of the initial cost.

All that aside if you like messing with big boy's toy's this covers all ages and sexes'. We staid until the end.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous day out”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went here on a Sunday and had a great day. Lots to do for all ages, not sure who enjoyed it more, my 45 year old or my 9 and 6 year old. Highlight of the day was my nine year old daughter driving us around in a jeep!!!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank townsend4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diggerland also viewed

Castleford, West Yorkshire
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Diggerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing