We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roomali

Roomali
Ranked #12 of 220 Restaurants in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just got back from this restaurant and the food was lovely, well priced and quick service considering they were busy. Onsite parking is a bonus. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adamb_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    34
    18
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Holds much promise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

A very good restaurant with a Moroccan / Turkish theme in decor.

There is seating both upstairs and downstairs with tables and chairs. There are also private traditional seating areas with lowered tables and curtains for conservative couples or families. Very comfortable, if you can manage sitting lowered. The restaurant is of small to average size and I would guess seats a total of 70 guests total.

The starters were delicious. We ordered the mixed grill and papadoms with relish. Very nicely cooked and the meat was tender and soft. I generally find that starters are the best in most restaurants.

We ordered the signature tawa dish for the main course which is a large pan with a variety of dishes and a lentil bowl in the centre. This fed our family of 8 (4 adults, 2 children and 2 infants) comfortably. I enjoyed the chops and chicken tikka pieces and the chips were nice and chunky. The lamb and chicken curries were nice, but I needed to add more salt.

The desserts were very nice. The coconut shell ice cream was better than expected. We finished off with a masala tea which helped very much.

We had two jugs for drinks. Mango lassi and lemon & lime, both very nice indeed. Yes, £15 a head is what to expect.

Overall a very good experience, which holds much promise.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iqralearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chilles with a kick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice little restaurant and discrete out of the hustle and bustle of the main high-street. Me and the lads went after a recommendation from a another work colleague. Was recommended with upstairs dining area with a different unique seating pattern which is known as the DustarKhan.Still not establishing the uk market seen one of these restaurants in Mumbai.It was more relaxed friendly seating experience you would find sitting on the floor on really fluffy cushions rather than the normal table and the chair. Very clean very warm welcoming restaurant very friendly staff extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about their menu and their preference was appreciated with a special request as one of the friends work hard a special dietary requirement. Very pleasant in taking the orders repeating correctly from the minute the order was placed approximately 15 minutes wait for the starters as there was no rush followed on by the main course which was approximately 20 minutes onwards to the deserts which was wonderful I would totally recommend chicken chilli if you can take fresh green chilles A restaurant which would I totally recommend to others 10 out of 10. Well done ROOMALI keep it up. Hope to visit you again in the near future. Also not expensive average £15 per head

Helpful?
1 Thank immy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best indian restaurant in Blackburn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Everyone who loves indian food needs to visit here. The food is excellent very tasty especially lamb kari and masala dishes ( sure everything else will be has tasty) just can't pull myself away from the kari!Food is very reasonable priced and well presented. Staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you. Word of warning should you want to go at the weekend you need to book a table and pending on what time you go may need to wait for a little while longer but believe me you will not be disappointed. We are now regular customers and enjoy our food every time it really is to die for try it

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times on different occasions sometimes with friends, family and acquaintances, The service is exceptional and the general feel is very warm and welcoming, the food is also very tasty and speed of service has always been second to none however I would advise to book early as weekends appears to be very busy and waiting around to get a table could be lengthy. The management have always been obliging to requests and have a very hands on approach being hospitable wherever they can. The special biryani is my favourite and a trip without this would not be complete, the deserts also adds a nice finale to your meal if you fancy pushing the boat out, i would highly recommend Roomali and say well done for a fantastic dining experience

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mebs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roomali also viewed

 
Blackburn, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Roomali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing