We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveler rating
326
137
39
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
137
39
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar area steak and kidney pudding ribble valley fresh milk birthday celebration sunday lunch church bells main building small village high standard scallops cooked to perfection main course lovely atmosphere stayed for two nights fantastic food top class
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Exceptionally long wait for our main course to arrive, eventually when it did it was very enjoyable. The few who ordered desserts had another unreasonable and unacceptable long wait. Maybe some staff training would be in order.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled with family
Thank redpip2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone_Manager, Manager at The Millstone, Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review, after reading it, I can only apologise that there was a sufficient wait on food, unfortunately we have a brand new menu, which the chefs are still learning, and an almost brand new front of house team who are currently undergoing training. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food, however this does not make up for the fact it was an unreasonable wait. We hope this will not put you off visiting us again. If you would like to discuss this further, then please do not hesitate to contact us further.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just had a Saturday night over at the Millstone with friends for my wife’s birthday celebrations.
Really enjoyed everything about it with very comfortable rooms, friendly and attentive staff and first class food.
It would be have been 5 stars but for a long wait for breakfast.
We will definitely return and thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: The county rooms are slightly higher spec but are in a separate building from the pub
Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank TennisFan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone_Manager, Manager at The Millstone, Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time out to review us, we really appreciate this. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that it was a comfortable, most pleasant one. I will pass on your lovely comments to our staff, who i assume will be very pleased with what you have said. Hopefully we will welcome you again soon to The Millstone.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a weekend, quite busy and the staff were great, fab food - tandoori chicken was yummy, and the cod special was delightful, the service was great - highly recommended and definitely worth a visit

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Emmylou1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone_Manager, Manager at The Millstone, Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good evening,

Thank you for reviewing us. We are thoroughly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the tandoori chicken, is a firm favourite with all our customers, and im sure they would agree with you, that it is yummy! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

We booked this for our 14th anniversary and were looking forward to our stay having looked at photos on the web site for the rooms and social areas.

Unfortunately we were extremely disappointed with our room, it was shabby to say the least and bore no resemblance to the images on the website. There was mould on the bathroom ceiling and tiles, lampshades were wonky, bulbs missing, stains on the carpet near the bathroom, stains on the bed throw and only one bathrobe and one set of towels, we did ask for another to be sent up but waited too long so ended up sharing the towels.

However the bar area, restaurant and food were excellent.

We did raise our concerns again on check out to be told there is a phased refurbishment ongoing, which we appreciate as we can see the improvements in the social areas. However the web site is misleading and had we known this we would have requested a refurbished room, that said we would go again but would specifically request the rooms displayed on the web site.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Road709378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely blown away with the millstone!
My room was very clean and well equipped with all the usual Necessities and even your own personal fan bed was very comfy and room was peaceful. Most of all the food has really blown me away! The menu was so inviting and I was torn between so many dishes! Had the haddock crocquets as a starter which was top notch and for main I had the boiled and pan searded lamb rump with carrots broccoli fruity cous cous and a corjette mousakka finished off with a red wine jous. This dish was to this day the best meal iv ate out! That’s really saying something. Chefs certainly known what there doing. For breakfast I kept it simply and had a coffee and poached eggs on brown toast with spinach. Dish was lovely, eggs cooked to perfection. Service was impeccable couldn’t fault the millstone at all and will certainly be recommending it to friends and family. They also had a great selection of beer which you could tell they kept in good condition

Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
Thank Alexander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews