We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely NOT impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,056 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
“Absolutely NOT impressed”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We paid full price for one of the county rooms; simply because they were larger than the classic rooms. Well, I'd hate to see the size of a classic. Room was pathetically tiny. Website brags 'fresh milk', 'fluffy bathrobes', 'homemade biscuits'. In reality what you get in a room for 2 people is 4 horrible little cartons of long life milk, ONE robe, ONE bottle of water, and ONE tiny biscuit. Will welcome comments from management.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Many Thanks for your feedback I sincerely apologize that your stay didn't live up to expectations.
Unfortunately there was an oversight within our housekeeping department which lead to your room being set for one guest as oppose to two.
We offer a flask of cold milk as standard on arrival and again I apologize this didn't happen, as a result of your feedback I've implemented further training to ensure we don't make the same mistakes again.

If you wish to discuss your visit further please don't hesitate to call me on 01254 813333

Kind Regards

Anson Bolton
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    125
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
82
200
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We visited The Millstone tonight after not having visited for a while. The service was very efficient, the mains lovely, although my fish meal could have had a few more chips on the plate, and we shared a knickerbocker glory which was lovely. A very enjoyable meal.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank grubgobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Many Thanks for your feedback, we're really glad you enjoyed your meal.
The knickerbocker Glory will be having a facelift in the Spring & we'll be introducing our new Rhubarb and Custard Sundae which we feel is well worth a try.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future.

Kind Regards

Anson & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have had several excellent meals at this restaurant recently. The staff are always welcoming, friendly and attentive, the ambience is just right for a busy country eatery and the quality of the food is also very high.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseekers017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Many Thanks for your great feedback. Its always good to know we're on the right track.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the very near future.

Kind regards

Anson & all at Team Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had not had Xmas day out for nine years always cooked at home. The last time we did was spent at the millstone , so we had no hesitation in booking again as our first experience was so enjoyable.We do visit the hotel on a regular basis as we live in the area. Looking at the menu which we had from November there was a great selection to suit all tastes including my eight year old daughter. We arrived at the hotel and it was clear that it was going to be a busy day. It was very busy in the bar area which I do think is rather small. But this did add to the atmosphere of the day, we sat down at our own leisure at our table were we enjoyed our drinks from the bar in the really Xmas feeling restaurant. We then had a glass of champagne and canapes to start . The rest of the food then followed not to rushed and not to slow just right. We all enjoyed the food not one complaint about anything from any of our party, a really great day. Any family who is concerned about changing the traditional family meal at home I can only say go for it the Millstone go out of their way to welcome the great British family xmas day celebration.Really well done can't wait for next Christmas xxxxxxxx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely feedback, your description of "The Great British Family Christmas day celebration" just about sums up everything we strive for.
So thanks again
Kind Regards
Anson & All at Team Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just spent a wonderful afternoon at The Millstone celebrating a family birthday! There were thirty plus guests ranging from 85 to 2 weeks old and everyone was catered for perfectly. Even though there were so many of us to serve the food was faultless and the staff were wonderful. Would not hesitate to book the Millstone for any occasion in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It really pleases me to see that your celebration was such a success and that you enjoyed both the food and service so much. I very much hope that we can welcome you back for another occasion in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We have dined out for Christmas Day lunch for the last 14 years now and wouldn't have it any other way. Being quite keen home cooks and home bakers it is difficult to find an establishment that will provide exactly the high standards one would expect when dining out. But dining out on Christmas Day has become a great tradition of ours that we will continue forevermore and having chosen the Millstone at Mellor again to celebrate such we were not disappointed.

From the moment you step into the bar area it feels special with a warm reception from the lovely staff and the wonderful atmosphere not to mention the award winning ales and a good selection of carefully selected wines to choose from. Despite a very busy bar we were greeted with our chosen choice of drink and guided through to the wonderfully refurbished dining room. The Chef Patron Anson Bolton personally ensured that all I had preordered on the menu was free from wheat, gluten and yeast as I have special dietary requirements, nothing I requested was too much trouble which lead to a very relaxing meal indeed. From the canapés right through to my specially prepared dessert we enjoyed each delicious mouthwatering course.

The service was superb, friendly and as always very discreet when it comes my my dietary needs (we've dined often at many high ranked hotels and restaurants all over the UK whereupon unfortunately this has not always been the case and such a fuss has been made that it has guaranteed we would never return despite all else being delightful).

However we now tend to stay or dine with only the hotels and restaurants that know exactly what they are doing without question and whom provide the best quality local, seasonal food with the highest standards of service and the Millstone is ranked very high on the list as one of our most favourite establishments.

Thus we commend Anson and his team for yet again a truly magnificent and thoroughly enjoyable time at the Millstone at Mellor and for making our Christmas Day ever so special.

We would recommend you to all and very much look forward to our return.

Regards,
Sara Louise Morris

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Its always a pleasure & many thanks for your glowing feedback.

Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Anson & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in a twin room, three nights b&b and one evening meal. A few small details away from excellent : Room was clean, quiet and tidy (bathroom immaculate), if slightly small, given two rather large upholstered chairs. Bulb missing in a bedside light when we arrived - quickly remedied, but why not noticed when the room was made up?. A halogen light fitting in the bathroom, however, had been disconnected, presumably for safety reasons and remained so during our stay. One day housekeeping failed to notice our tea mugs had been used - so we rinsed them out ourselves. A small thing, but excellence requires perfection. On two mornings the service at breakfast was smooth and friendly, on the other, which was admittedly very busy, there was a lack of supervision resulting in slow service and the buffet table running out of crockery and fruit salad. Our evening meal was excellent. Friendly service, food cooked to order, lovely atmosphere. So all in all, a place we would gladly recommend, but if the small details were given just a little more attention, one which we would rate as excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was in an annex across the car park, which probably meant that it was quieter than ones in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I've noted your comments and thank you for bringing these to my attention.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future and can assure you we'll be pushing for an "excellent" from you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Anson Bolton
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.7 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,061 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
5.6 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Property: Millstone at Mellor
Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing