We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic venue for a special celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millstone at Mellor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue for a special celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just spent a wonderful afternoon at The Millstone celebrating a family birthday! There were thirty plus guests ranging from 85 to 2 weeks old and everyone was catered for perfectly. Even though there were so many of us to serve the food was faultless and the staff were wonderful. Would not hesitate to book the Millstone for any occasion in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It really pleases me to see that your celebration was such a success and that you enjoyed both the food and service so much. I very much hope that we can welcome you back for another occasion in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    119
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
73
194
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We have dined out for Christmas Day lunch for the last 14 years now and wouldn't have it any other way. Being quite keen home cooks and home bakers it is difficult to find an establishment that will provide exactly the high standards one would expect when dining out. But dining out on Christmas Day has become a great tradition of ours that we will continue forevermore and having chosen the Millstone at Mellor again to celebrate such we were not disappointed.

From the moment you step into the bar area it feels special with a warm reception from the lovely staff and the wonderful atmosphere not to mention the award winning ales and a good selection of carefully selected wines to choose from. Despite a very busy bar we were greeted with our chosen choice of drink and guided through to the wonderfully refurbished dining room. The Chef Patron Anson Bolton personally ensured that all I had preordered on the menu was free from wheat, gluten and yeast as I have special dietary requirements, nothing I requested was too much trouble which lead to a very relaxing meal indeed. From the canapés right through to my specially prepared dessert we enjoyed each delicious mouthwatering course.

The service was superb, friendly and as always very discreet when it comes my my dietary needs (we've dined often at many high ranked hotels and restaurants all over the UK whereupon unfortunately this has not always been the case and such a fuss has been made that it has guaranteed we would never return despite all else being delightful).

However we now tend to stay or dine with only the hotels and restaurants that know exactly what they are doing without question and whom provide the best quality local, seasonal food with the highest standards of service and the Millstone is ranked very high on the list as one of our most favourite establishments.

Thus we commend Anson and his team for yet again a truly magnificent and thoroughly enjoyable time at the Millstone at Mellor and for making our Christmas Day ever so special.

We would recommend you to all and very much look forward to our return.

Regards,
Sara Louise Morris

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Its always a pleasure & many thanks for your glowing feedback.

Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Anson & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in a twin room, three nights b&b and one evening meal. A few small details away from excellent : Room was clean, quiet and tidy (bathroom immaculate), if slightly small, given two rather large upholstered chairs. Bulb missing in a bedside light when we arrived - quickly remedied, but why not noticed when the room was made up?. A halogen light fitting in the bathroom, however, had been disconnected, presumably for safety reasons and remained so during our stay. One day housekeeping failed to notice our tea mugs had been used - so we rinsed them out ourselves. A small thing, but excellence requires perfection. On two mornings the service at breakfast was smooth and friendly, on the other, which was admittedly very busy, there was a lack of supervision resulting in slow service and the buffet table running out of crockery and fruit salad. Our evening meal was excellent. Friendly service, food cooked to order, lovely atmosphere. So all in all, a place we would gladly recommend, but if the small details were given just a little more attention, one which we would rate as excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was in an annex across the car park, which probably meant that it was quieter than ones in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I've noted your comments and thank you for bringing these to my attention.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future and can assure you we'll be pushing for an "excellent" from you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Anson Bolton
Chef Patron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was the fourth year that I had spent Christmas at the Millstone whilst visiting a relative in Blackburn. We had dinner on Christmas Eve and lunch on Christmas Day and had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and beautifully presented for both of the meals, and the staff were delightful and they were so accommodating about special diets. I can confidently say from past experience that there is nowhere in Blackburn that would do better. I am clearly not alone in taking that view, as the restaurant gets booked up weeks in advance because people vote with their feet. It was a perfect Christmas.
During the year, I travel widely around the world and stay in many good hotels but I think Anson Bolton could teach many of them a few things about good food and how to cook it and present it imaginatively.
I stayed for two nights and I had a very comfortable room with everything I needed. The breakfast was also excellent (I chose lovely poached egg on poached fish which was cooked to perfection), and the yoghurt was so delicious that I checked the label - it was sourced locally in the Ribble Valley (Ann Forshaw I think - full marks to her too). On departure, I booked for next year - and for Easter - I think that speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Whether or not you stay overnight, the restaurant is a must. You will want to come back time and ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnLeedsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
A big thank you for choosing the Millstone to spend your Christmas, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back at Easter when hopefully the weather will be a little warmer!
Kind regards
Anson & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The family Christmas meal is something of a tradition for my wife's family now but as the family grows the event gets bigger and bigger!!! but once agan the Millstone ensured we had a brilliant evening. With 21 members of the family taking part in the Xmas celebrations and we had a fabulous time. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff they even had a good laugh with us when the "Reeve" side of the family started the Christmas Cracker battle... The food was excellent as hot!. We will return again as we often do on a regular basis. I expect my wife will be rebooking very shortly for Christmas 2014! Finally thank you everyone at the Millstone for a great night! Cheers to you all! - Nigel x

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letstakeabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Many thanks for your great feedback, it’s always nice to know that the quality our food is consistent & staff love nothing more than to join in with Christmas crackers wars! Have a great Christmas & we look forward to seeing you all in the New Year.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We visited the Millstone for a family Christmas meal and had a brilliant evening. There was a large number (21) of us in the top room and we had a blast. The food was delicious as always and the staff were really polite and friendly. The atmosphere is great and we return on a regular basis. I would highly recommend a visit to the Millstone for anyone in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DowntonDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Many thanks for your glowing review, such feedback really does motivate the team especially at this time of year when we’re so busy. Not sure if you follow us on twitter @MillstoneMellor or like us on Facebook as we regularly keep our guests posted on what happening throughout the year.

Have a lovely Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the the Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on 7th December after being at a wedding at nearby Hoghton Tower. There were a good few in the wedding party that had also booked at the Millstone.

We arrived not long after midnight and were able to check in at that time with no fuss as the bride had called ahead. However we had been advised that bacon butties would be available but when we asked for food, we were told everything in the kitchen had been switched off.

On going up to our room, we were met by a wall of stifling heat and immediately had to open the window to make the room barely liveable. The room was much smaller than I'd expect when paying £105 per night, however the bathroom was a good size and with modern decor.

Unfortunately there were no towels in our room so at close to 1am I had to go back to reception and request that some were brought to the room. This was done speedily but it was disappointing that they weren't readily available.

The noise as other guests made their way through the hotel was loud and intrusive and didn't lend itself to a restful nights sleep.

3 of us went for breakfast together at 9:30 and our orders were quickly taken, however the selection on the "serve yourself" continental breakfast table was poorly replenished and when my friend took the last available croissant, no more were brought out. When our toast order arrived, me having ordered white and my two friends having ordered brown, I received two full rounds, yet they were presented with half a round each. Despite this, the full cooked breakfasts we ordered were tasty and enjoyable (apart from the veggie sausages!) however I'd be reluctant to pay the price advertised if you were buying breakfast separately.

Despite our stay at the Millstone only being a short one, I feel that I saw enough to be able to say that I will not be spending £105 again at Millstone at Mellor.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zahir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. It sounds like a fantastic wedding you attended as many guests were in good spirits on their return. I apologise for the shortfall in our housekeeping and I’ve mentioned this oversight to our housekeeping team.

It would appear we got our wires crossed with the bride as we do offer “Bacon Butties” to guests arriving back from such venues, but as we don’t offer 24 hour room service we do ask that “bacon butties” are pre ordered, however it was pleasing to note that the team on duty were able to offer cold sandwiches.

Breakfast can be a little hectic on a Sunday mornings & I apologise for the buffet not being replenished quickly enough, I was surprised by your feedback on our vegetarian sausages as we have had many favourable comments about them.

The room you stayed in has recently been refurbished and I believe a bed and breakfast rate of £105 per couple represents good value compared to similar hotels within the area.

Given the length of your stay I do find your comments a little unfair though I’m sincerely sorry that you left the Millstone feeling the way you did.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.6 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
4.2 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
5.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Property: Millstone at Mellor
Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing