We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff - nothing was too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff - nothing was too much trouble”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

On a family visit to Lancashire with three generation the thing that such us all was how professional and friendly every single member of staff at the Millestone was during our three day stay. On arrival we asked to change one of our rooms and this was done without any fuss. This level of service was continued by the bar staff, in the restaurant as well housekeeping. We ate twice in the restaurant and were thoroughly impressed by all the meals. A particular highlight was the take on summer trifle with Pims jelly. We plan another trip next year and will be returning to his friendly well run inn.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I’ve passed your comments onto the team who work very hard to make sure our guests are happy so its fantastic to hear you’ll be back to stay again.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    122
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
76
195
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at The Millstone, great food, really nice room and good staff until 1.30am this morning when I was woken by someone talking loudly in a foreign language. Worse to come when he stopped talking I think to his mobile, he put his radio. I managed to get back to sleep but my early morning call from the same source was Guns and Roses, Sweet Child of Mine. Utterly knackered down to break to find this miscreant drinking beer with his breakfast what a slob.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am really sorry to hear about the disturbances during your stay and I hope it will not deter you from coming to stay again. We are a quiet country inn and incidents such as this are very rare so if you contact me directly before your next stay I can arrange a quiet room and I am confident you will have a much better experience.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just had another family "do" at the Millstone, and although it's not the only time we've eaten there this year, this was another wonderful occasion and worth another review.
It's always a good measure of a place that both the service and the quality of the cooking is sustained when the place is busy. The Millstone was full today and the service was exceptionally good. So too was the food: lots of seafood, seasonal specials and Sunday lunchtime favourites,- plus a good range of modestly priced wines and beer. A lovely occasion for our family: many thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, is it a Lancashire thing but you just can’t beat a good old “Family Do” and we really appreciate you choosing the Millstone for such a special occasion. As ever, whatever the occasion, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We always stay here when visiting relatives in Blackburn. The atmosphere is welcoming from the minute you enter and arrive in the warm, paneled bar where there is always a good "buzz".
Anson and his team are friendly and professional and there is great attention to detail, both in the well equipped and stylish bedrooms and bathrooms and in the menus on offer. The food is very good indeed and the breakfasts are generous with ample choice. Having stayed at several other establishments in the Ribble Valley in the past, some considerably more expensive than the Millstone, we would not be tempted to go elsewhere nowadays, and in fact must have stayed at the Millstone on at least eight occasions, all with complete satisfaction.










anson

Room Tip: they are all different ,but good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granny6Monmouthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Many thanks for your kind feedback. It’s always pleasing to hear such positive comments.
We really appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.

P.S Have you signed up for our affinity card? It’s a very generous loyalty card offering you points to spend on stays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

20 of us went for dinner in the private dining room of the restaurant on Saturday evening. We had a varied menu choice and the food was excellent. Service was good and although the restaurant was full all 20 meals were served together. Everyone commented on how much they had enjoyed the evening.
We go regularly to this restaurant and always enjoy a good meal, this is the second time they have arranged a private party for us. The duty managers we dealt with on both occasions went out of their way to help us with the planning and accommodated all our specific requests.
Congratulations on a well run establishment Anson and your team.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Many thanks for your kind feedback, we’re really glad you enjoy your dinner, we feel the Harvest room is a great location for up to 20 guests. You can be sure I’ll pass your comments on to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future.

Kind regards
Anson Bolton - Manager and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just visited the Millstone again and excellent as always. My Husband is extremely happy to see the Fish curry on the new menu as it's his favourite dish there. The food was excellent as always as was the staff.Lovely place, lovely staff, we will be back :-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We did take the fish curry off the menu for a while but so many of our diners asked for it to be put back on I couldn’t refuse, it’s definitely a best seller! I’m really glad you enjoyed your visit, no doubt we’ll be seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just got back from a lovely three day stay at the Millstone. We had a very warm and friendly welcome and found lots of little extras in our room on arrival which was charming.
The evening meals were delicious and a generous , freshly prepared breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the inn as the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, I’m sure there’ll be one or two dishes you never got round to trying on our menu during your 3 night stay, so hopefully we’ll be able to tempt you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.7 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
4.2 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
5.6 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Property: Millstone at Mellor
Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing