We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to beat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millstone at Mellor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
the lakes
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hard to beat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just stayed for one night at the millstone but were impressed with everything the staff could not of been better and the breakfast was lovely also its makes your stay that bit better when your room is lovely and warm and you have bathrobes for after your shower, one tiny little niggle tea does not taste the same when you dont have any biscuits to nibble.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodandnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologise for the lack of biscuits with your tea, as we normally serve our Homemade shortbread with Tea and coffee but as it Christmas we’re serving Mince pies instead.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near Future. In the meantime have a lovely Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron, and all the team at the Millstone at Mellor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    119
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
73
194
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

as always i never know what to buy my parents for birthdays and aniversarys so i bought a night at the millstone, four poster bed three course dinnar and a glass of champagne and breakfast. my parents had an amazing time, excellant service, room fantastic, and the food to die for. thank you so much for making my mum and dads evening so special and they are coming back in january for my dads 80th.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. On behalf of all the Millstone Team we’re really glad you choose the us to celebrate such a special occasion for your parents. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Millstone in the near future. In the meantime have a lovely Christmas & a Prosperous New Year

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron, Sarah and all the Millstone Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked the two night dinner, B&B “hibernation” package as a birthday surprise for my good lady. Hadn't been before but the recommendations seemed OK, so arrived with fingers crossed. The welcome was good and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Anson, the chef patron, did everything to help make our stay special, even though they did have large functions on both nights. I’d booked the four poster room which lived up to expectations. The food was above excellent and reasonably priced, and as we were “all-in” we did expect some limitation to the menu, but there wasn’t which was a pleasant surprise. We will be visiting again and would thoroughly recommend this establishment. Thanks for your help in making it a memorable birthday treat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It’s great to hear that we helped you to have an enjoyable birthday. Our dinner, bed and breakfast packages are very popular and we are so proud of our menu that we wouldn’t like to limit what our customers can choose from! We change our menu seasonally so next time you come and stay there will be a whole new range of dishes for you to try.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

No complaints at all. From my booking experience with Tim to arrival and greeting until 'goodbye' with 'would you like coffee while you wait for you car?'..complimentary with a home made biscuit...customer service spot on...made for a really pleasant experience.
10 of us had dinner which was lovely...we sat down at 7.30pm and some of us where still there after midnight and never felt under pressure to buy more drinks or coffee or leave.
My room was smallish but it's an old building so felt cosy. Lovely and warm, clean and very comfortable. Lots of extras in the room, pillows like home...highly recommended. Thanks very much Anton and team. I hope I can return one day.

Room Tip: I had 24 which was perfect for me, just off the dining room - but never heard a thing except church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It is always a great boost for the team when we read a review like yours. Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts and I hope you will return one day, too!

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I'm sorry but this was a massive disapointment! Poor service, long wait and uncooked lamb. Yes it may have been an off day but still......I want good service and good food for the good money I pay! Room was ok nothing flash. The shower was terrible! Hot or cold with nothing in between.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. From talking to the team I know we were made aware of your unhappiness with the main course and Maria tried hard to rectify this to your satisfaction on the day. I will ensure the shower in the room you stayed in is checked and any work needed is undertaken.
As you can see by other Tripadvisor comments we do strive to get things right, so we’re all genuinely really disappointed that you left us feeling this way.

Kind Regards
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on Sunday night en route to the Lakes. Being a Sunday we got a good price for B&B. the place was quiet but still enough atmosphere to make it feel comfortable. Our room, in the main building was small but very nicely turned out. Bathrooms a bit old fashioned and could do with a refit, but the shower pressure in the above bath shower was amazingly strong. We opted for a simple bar meal as we'd been over indulging all weekend and what we had was freshly prepared and very nice. Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and one of the best Eggs Benedict I've ever had! Would definitely return if we are up this way again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Eggs Benedict has recently been put back onto our breakfast menu and has proven to be a popular addition. I will certainly pass your comments onto Val, our breakfast chef. We are slowly but surely carrying out a refurbishment program in the hotel, the next time you stay if you contact me directly I will make sure you get one of our rooms with a new bathroom.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, West Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Normally when you stay at a pub hotel these days there is an air of decay about the places.. maybe it's me but it is rare to stay at a place that is so well maintained and clean. There was no visible issue with the Millstone.

The staff were friendly and courteous. The food (I had an evening meal and breakfast) was excellent. The simple fact that breakfast was freshly prepared not stacked up under a chafer was brilliant.

My room was really nice - again very well maintained. Even though it was above the bar there was no noise and I had a very good night's sleep.

Recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. We work hard to ensure that all our public areas and bedrooms are well maintained and kept to the high standards which our guests expect.
I'm also glad that you enjoyed our food especially the breakfast – which as you mentioned is always cooked fresh to order and never left in chafing dishes even at our busiest times. I hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.6 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
4.2 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
5.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Property: Millstone at Mellor
Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing