We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right for a Sunday Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Just Right for a Sunday Night”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on Sunday night en route to the Lakes. Being a Sunday we got a good price for B&B. the place was quiet but still enough atmosphere to make it feel comfortable. Our room, in the main building was small but very nicely turned out. Bathrooms a bit old fashioned and could do with a refit, but the shower pressure in the above bath shower was amazingly strong. We opted for a simple bar meal as we'd been over indulging all weekend and what we had was freshly prepared and very nice. Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and one of the best Eggs Benedict I've ever had! Would definitely return if we are up this way again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Eggs Benedict has recently been put back onto our breakfast menu and has proven to be a popular addition. I will certainly pass your comments onto Val, our breakfast chef. We are slowly but surely carrying out a refurbishment program in the hotel, the next time you stay if you contact me directly I will make sure you get one of our rooms with a new bathroom.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    125
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
82
200
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Otley, West Yorkshire.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Normally when you stay at a pub hotel these days there is an air of decay about the places.. maybe it's me but it is rare to stay at a place that is so well maintained and clean. There was no visible issue with the Millstone.

The staff were friendly and courteous. The food (I had an evening meal and breakfast) was excellent. The simple fact that breakfast was freshly prepared not stacked up under a chafer was brilliant.

My room was really nice - again very well maintained. Even though it was above the bar there was no noise and I had a very good night's sleep.

Recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. We work hard to ensure that all our public areas and bedrooms are well maintained and kept to the high standards which our guests expect.
I'm also glad that you enjoyed our food especially the breakfast – which as you mentioned is always cooked fresh to order and never left in chafing dishes even at our busiest times. I hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one night in a double on a good value deal, Dinner Bed and Breakfast for a really good £159.

It was a lovey little place, room was not the biggest, but nice, proper homemade biscuits, Luscombe Grove drinks in the room and nice staff.

The evening meal was great and you had free reign over the menu, save for a small supplement for steak, but I had duck breast starter, rack of lamb with onion rings and chips and cheese board to finish, with a glass of complimentary fizz! Wife love it also.

Fabulous breakfast, good black pudding and sausage and nice thick bacon.

Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: My only comment was that the pillows are very very soft, almost too much, I prefer a bit more firmne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bljibm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. Our dinner B&B packages are proving to be very popular especially our seasonal packages which often include some nice extras like the glass of fizz!!
It also pleases me to hear that you enjoyed your meals. We have a very enthusiastic young brigade in the kitchen who work very hard to ensure that all the dishes are cooked and presented in the manor our guests expect. I hope you will return and try another one of our fantastic deals!

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds UK
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just spent a night at the hotel, and ate in the restaurant. Our room was large and cosy, with a window in the bathroom, always welcome! All the usual amenities you could want eg real coffee and chocolate as well as a choice of teas in the room. And home made biscuits. Took my 80 year old Mum who likes to eat early. No problem as they serve from 5pm. The choice was extensive enough for us, the service was friendly and efficient. The tables are large, well spread out, proper napkins. Breakfast was very good, choice and quality. Really nothing to complain about. The village is quaint. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad to hear yourself and your mother enjoyed your stay at the Millstone. We get a lot of positive comments about the welcome trays in the room, the shortbreads always prove to be very popular! I’m also glad to hear that you found our meal times accommodating, we serve food all day-from 12-9.30pm. I hope we will see you at the Millstone again soon.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

heard a lot about it so wanted to try it. definitely not disappointed. lovely, lovely, lovely food, couldn't fault it. one slight criticism, long wait between courses.
will definitely go again soon, maybe on a quieter night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rixy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Many thanks for your kind feedback. I appreciate your patience in between courses, at peak times things can get a little hectic as we ensure we maintain the quality & consistency of the food. If you’re in the area again why not stay over we have 22 bedrooms and we’re recently awarded 5 star Inn status by the AA one of only 29 such Inns in the UK.

Kind Regards
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having just spent three nights in an awful big chain hotel in Manchester the Millstone is a welcome relief. A warm welcome, comfortable rooms, great beer and wonderful food all wrapped up in excellent personal service. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Rooms aren't huge but each is individual and unique. Beds are really comfortable, great nights s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriskent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Many thanks for your kind Feedback. I’m glad we were on hand to help banish the memories of your “Chain Hotel” experience in Manchester. We’re really proud of our home from home reputation & we look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron, Sarah and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Millstone. This was not our first visit. However we took friends who had never been before. They were not disappointed. The environment , atmosphere and food were exceptional. The appearance of the staff was what you would expect from an establishment of this standard Not only that they were very friendly and attentive. We will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Many thanks for your kind feedback, we really appreciate you introducing new guests to the Millstone & we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron & all the team at the Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.7 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,061 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
5.6 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Property: Millstone at Mellor
Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing