We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, great food and beer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one night in a double on a good value deal, Dinner Bed and Breakfast for a really good £159.

It was a lovey little place, room was not the biggest, but nice, proper homemade biscuits, Luscombe Grove drinks in the room and nice staff.

The evening meal was great and you had free reign over the menu, save for a small supplement for steak, but I had duck breast starter, rack of lamb with onion rings and chips and cheese board to finish, with a glass of complimentary fizz! Wife love it also.

Fabulous breakfast, good black pudding and sausage and nice thick bacon.

Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: My only comment was that the pillows are very very soft, almost too much, I prefer a bit more firmne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bljibm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Many thanks for your comments. Our dinner B&B packages are proving to be very popular especially our seasonal packages which often include some nice extras like the glass of fizz!!
It also pleases me to hear that you enjoyed your meals. We have a very enthusiastic young brigade in the kitchen who work very hard to ensure that all the dishes are cooked and presented in the manor our guests expect. I hope you will return and try another one of our fantastic deals!

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 460 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just spent a night at the hotel, and ate in the restaurant. Our room was large and cosy, with a window in the bathroom, always welcome! All the usual amenities you could want eg real coffee and chocolate as well as a choice of teas in the room. And home made biscuits. Took my 80 year old Mum who likes to eat early. No problem as they serve from 5pm. The choice was extensive enough for us, the service was friendly and efficient. The tables are large, well spread out, proper napkins. Breakfast was very good, choice and quality. Really nothing to complain about. The village is quaint. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad to hear yourself and your mother enjoyed your stay at the Millstone. We get a lot of positive comments about the welcome trays in the room, the shortbreads always prove to be very popular! I’m also glad to hear that you found our meal times accommodating, we serve food all day-from 12-9.30pm. I hope we will see you at the Millstone again soon.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

heard a lot about it so wanted to try it. definitely not disappointed. lovely, lovely, lovely food, couldn't fault it. one slight criticism, long wait between courses.
will definitely go again soon, maybe on a quieter night.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rixy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I appreciate your patience in between courses, at peak times things can get a little hectic as we ensure we maintain the quality & consistency of the food. If you’re in the area again why not stay over we have 22 bedrooms and we’re recently awarded 5 star Inn status by the AA one of only 29 such Inns in the UK.

Kind Regards
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at the Millstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having just spent three nights in an awful big chain hotel in Manchester the Millstone is a welcome relief. A warm welcome, comfortable rooms, great beer and wonderful food all wrapped up in excellent personal service. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Rooms aren't huge but each is individual and unique. Beds are really comfortable, great nights s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriskent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Many thanks for your kind Feedback. I’m glad we were on hand to help banish the memories of your “Chain Hotel” experience in Manchester. We’re really proud of our home from home reputation & we look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron, Sarah and all the team at The Millstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Millstone. This was not our first visit. However we took friends who had never been before. They were not disappointed. The environment , atmosphere and food were exceptional. The appearance of the staff was what you would expect from an establishment of this standard Not only that they were very friendly and attentive. We will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Many thanks for your kind feedback, we really appreciate you introducing new guests to the Millstone & we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron & all the team at the Millstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel was a disappointment. We stayed in Room 232. Small room the luggage we had took up a good portion of the room; in need of decorating, carpets needed cleaning. Bathroom okay, towel rail was supposed to be heated according to the information but wasn't. Might be a good idea to have mugs rather than a small cup and saucer in the room. The breakfasts were good and staff friendly.

Room Tip: I couldn't recommend a good room fairly noisy close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancashirelass869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback! The Millstone dates back to around 1750 and as a result the sizes of the rooms do differ & are priced accordingly Room 232 is one of eight classic rooms which are slightly smaller than our County rooms.
In an effort to be environmentally friendly we switch our towel rails off & leave this to the guest’s discretion. I sincerely apologise if you felt the carpets needed cleaning.

On a positive note I’m glad you enjoyed your Breakfasts and that our staff looked after you.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone at Mellor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were lucky enough to have a fantastic family lunch out at this wonderful pub on sunday last. I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone for a special occasion. The village of Mellor is delightful and the Millstone itself a real treat. It has a great atmosphere and is very French in many respects - in a good way. The food is clearly locally sourced as far as possible and the uality of the preparation and presentation top notch. I would have given the Millstone a definite 5 star rating had it not been for one or two very minor criticisms: 1. Waiting on staff were efficient and curteous but not very friendly 2. Our empty glasses were left uncleared on the table the whole time we were eating - 2 previous rounds of drinks - a biggish party - a lot of glasses to stare at 3. I agree entirely about the bar telephone - it did not personally trouble me but it did so to one of our group (who was sitting nearest to the bar).
These niggles aside ( and I expect the management/bar staff would have no trouble in addressing them as they also seemed excellent) you must make a special effort to visit the Millstone. I can 100% guarantee you will have a great time in a great setting.
As we only went for lunch I obviously cannot comment on the hotel accommodation etc but I feel certain they would be on a par with the superb restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.7 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
0.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
5.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range: $99 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing