We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Blackburn Museum & Art Gallery
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Blackburn
Attraction details
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Call in here now and then with the children especially in the holidays when there are activities for the children

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireJanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“School holiday time well spent....(wouldn't be able to go at any other time!)”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Easter holiday visit with 2 kids. Enjoyed very much and found it very interesting, great for a free free couple of hours and in town centre! Kids loved the activities. Highly recommended. Love the textile history section, as a result of the Lewis museum closure years ago. My only complaint about the museum, being a blackburn resident, is that it isn't open at weekends which is when many people, especially children, are actually able to visit! I thinks it's also closed Mondays, so that's most bank holidays out too. It used to be open weekends and but no longer due to budget cuts I'm guessing. Should open sat or/and sun and maybe 2 or 3 weekdays.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank catburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting and surprising”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The museum is big and interesting. It has many interesting things and has everything from beetles to cotton mill objects. Its very diverse and has a tastefull decor. The staff werent friendly and just seemed to be too interested in their moblies! Will go again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sabxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Blackburn's museum will be a pleasant surprise for most . Worth a visit.Good resident art and constantly changing activities especially for children

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank annegornall55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Well worth a look.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had an hour to spare, whilst in Blackburn, so I popped in here, and I was pleased that I did. There was loads to look at, and plenty of interesting exhibits.
Well worth a look.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackburn Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

 
Blackburn, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Blackburn Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing