We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectations”

Millstone at Mellor
Ranked #8 of 226 Restaurants in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $81
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated in the picturesque Ribble Valley, Lancashire, the Millstone is an award winning restaurant and bar. Chef patron Anson Bolton has worked hard to create a menu inspired by the local produce around the inn. Anson's hard work has earned him 2 AA Rosettes which he has held for 10 years.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

First class food in a friendly atmosphere. The staff were professional and attentive, the lunch we enjoyed was fabulous. We will be returning with family real soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GB1UK2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We've only just realised we haven't thanked your kind comments from last year!
Its very much business as usual her at the Millstone & we have some great Inn season dishes gracing our menus at the moment.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Anson Bolton
Chef Patron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Millstone at Mellor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 387 of 483 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I arranged a lunch meeting with clients, I can honestly say the food and the service were top quality my guests were suitably impressed and one is returning for a weekend stay with his wife. Thank you to the staff and management for making our meeting comfortable and relaxed.

Andy Bell

Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Many thanks for your great feedback, I'm really glad we could be of service and hope your lunch meeting was successful. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Visited with the family, one starter wasnt up to the normally high standards. We had a starter of scalllops and uneven sizes but more disappointing to feel grit for the first time. everything else was to the normal high standard, just need to be carefull with the finer details.

Wont stop us returning as they have been so consistant over the last few years.
Service as always was unobtrusive and friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Millstone. We found the hotel and the accommodation to be very good. Everywhere was clean and the bedroom was well maintained and comfortable.
We had booked to stay in the hotel to allow us to spend the night in the restaurant. Our visit did not disappoint. The restaurant was well presented and all the staff were very attentive. The food was superb, the lamb was one of the nicest I have had in a long while. We had a really nice evening, sat by the fire eating lovely food and drinking nice wine.
The breakfast the following morning was also very good, there was plenty of choice.

Over all our experience at the Millstone has been a very positive one. We would recommend this to anyone.

Thank 684phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely feedback, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having been to the millstone a couple of times before and loved it, I took my mum out for a post Mother's Day meal. She likes her plain food but my apprehension was allayed as she had the "best fish & chips she's had" and loved the sharing dessert! All of the food was excellent (the spring menu is great!), the staff were great and extremely attentive and it was great seeing Anson! We are looking forward to booking another meal soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback, we're really glad you enjoyed your meal and was particularly pleased to read your feedback on our new Spring menu. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millstone at Mellor also viewed

Blackburn, Lancashire
 
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing