We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calypso Caribbean Restaurant

Calypso Caribbean Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 219 Restaurants in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

i went for a meal here on sat 05th Oct with a group of friends i had a platter and it was amazing the staff were attentive, and polite the atmosphere in the place was buzzing and every one in our company was very complimentary i would highly recommend this place and we are returning again on sat 25.10.13 cant wait coleslaw to die for !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tony o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    86
    29
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant place amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited with a group of 9, 7 of whom had never eaten Caribbean food before, the staff were amazing at recommending dishes and we enjoyed a mix of everything on the menu. Can't recommend this place highly enough! Great food, great staff, great atmosphere and fantastic value for money. Top marks! Will return!

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calypsocaribbean, Owner at Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
It was great to have your custom and we would like to thank you for taking the time to review Calypso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Lancashire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great goat curry! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Having looked long and hard for a decent restaurant in Blackburn, it would seem there is only one and this is it! Having seen they had goat curry with rice and peas on the menu - a favourite from Caribbean holidays - we thought we'd give it a try. We weren't disappointed! The goat curry was delicious - well spiced, tender meat and authentic rice and peas - well done! Otherwise the staff were friendly and helpful, the atmosphere relaxed and comfortable, and the prices very reasonable. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank rspjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calypsocaribbean, Owner at Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Calypso we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
1 review
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I'd heard good reviews from friends who had visited previously, so wanted to try it for myself. I went for a meal with the parents and wasn't disappointed. The food was flavoursome and the chicken I had was marinated perfectly. We were definitely made to feel very welcome and even had a chat with the owner, Dave, who was a very pleasant chap. Will be making a return visit hopefully in the near future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theakston11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calypsocaribbean, Owner at Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Calypso and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Came here last night (16th) to celebrate my friends birthday having been here before, i was expecting a good evening....what we got was pure excellence
The staff are very welcoming the music sets the tone for the evening and the food stunning and very tasty
the licencee was a total star staying open until we left late
thank you so much for a great night we really enjoyed it :-)
Joe

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joepmcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calypsocaribbean, Manager at Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure having your custom and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Caribbean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing