We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines Special, Must GO!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calypso Caribbean Restaurant

Calypso Caribbean Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 219 Restaurants in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Valentines Special, Must GO!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This Caribbean restaurant is a great experience to try. The food was tasty and you got a reasonable amount for the cost. If you're not sure on what to eat you can order a platter which comes with a mix of Caribbean foods. The cocktails are greatly priced and to die for, I'd recommend buying a pitcher as thats all you'll need to drink all night.

The staff were very helpful, and friendly. Fast service and we both left with a smile, plus I got a real red rose as it was valentines day, which was a really nice touch to an amazing evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AbbeyJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    86
    29
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I don't like spice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

As I said above. But. My partner and father do so....I'll give it a go...they were very accommodating and advised what I wouldn't have to avoid the burn and ended up cooking a sirloin steak for me it did have a bit of seasoning on I but was capable for my pallet...the young waiter was attentive funny and very chatty felt like he was one of family b end of meal...he wine is very reasonable for restaurant prices...apparently the spicy food is excellent...tasted the Puddings very nice...would go again even though I am limited on what I can have

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olwen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England UK
Level Contributor
232 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Taste Sensation - Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Using the Tastecard this restaurant is a no brainer - you cannot get food as unique and flavoursome anywhere else in my opinion.

The restaurant itself was quiet and I think could be renovated, but, the food is genuinely outstanding.

The king prawn starter, beef patties and jerk chicken (black bean salad goes very well) are all dishes I would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aash23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been to calypso many times now and are never disappointed. The staff are so helpful on explaining the menu to you and if you're first time visitors the platter for two gives you a selection of everything and is great value for money. We now visit frequently

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jade_holdsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wifes Birthday fancied a change THE CALYPSO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Simple to book with friendly staff on the phone.
Welcomed and made at ease as soon as we stepped through the door.
The waiters were second to none, attentive but not pushy. They also responded immediately and without hesitation to our unusual request for a sweet pudding to be served first.
It was the banana and pineapple dishes served with rum and raisin ice cream. My wife described it as divine.
As newcomers to Caribbean food we chose the set platter.
An excellent choice for anyone coming in.
Comprising a selection of spiced chicken wings, coleslaw, sweetcorn, pasties and a curry dish with peas and rice, red snapper, and more. it was more than a match for two healthy appetites. ALL the food was cooked to perfection. The sweetcorn obviously fresh without a hint of the starch you can get, and the snapper moist and delicious.
The ambience is lifted by quiet enough to talk reggae that really takes you there.
Drinks wise we had a rum cocktail, the obvious accompaniment, well presented.
As we paid and were ready to leave we met the owner and head chef. A fine gentlemen of great personality and generosity.
We are the first of a group of friends interested in trying new cuisine and assured him of a hearty recommendation to all our friends and to those here on trip advisor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Caribbean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing