We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good resting place for a friends birthday weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cannock
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good resting place for a friends birthday weekend.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Found the Ramada in North Cannock easily using electronic guidance device and Mk1 eyeball, as the hotel is an impressive feature which stands out on the landscape. Arrived at 4:30 P.M. after travelling up from the South West, parked easily and was greeted and booked in at reception by a very friendly and efficient member of staff. Our room was on the 7th floor with commanding views of the M6, train tracks and power pylons. The room itself was clean, warm with air conditioning and catered for our requirements for the one night we would be staying. Good shower (no bath) room, the wife said a comfortable bed and a sofa bed with a thin mattress for the lad which was ok as he is only light. Off to the bar to meet some friends before proceeding to the birthday party venue. There were 2 weddings being held in the complex that weekend and the bar was full and the staff a little stretched physically and mentally. After the wedding guests had been called for the reception and thing s calmed down we managed to have a laugh with the staff when ordering further drinks. Check out the following day was a relaxed affair and completed a good weekend. I would use this establishment again without hesitation and would recommend it to friends for a similar occasions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnO87, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give this feedback on the hotel. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
David Tucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    183
    124
    85
    77
See reviews for
95
192
38
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had our wedding here on 28th April 2012. It was a perfect day and made perfect by the service and package we had at the Ramada Birmingham north. They could not do enough for us to help us and to add the finishing touches that really made the day special. They did everything possible to take the stress out of the day! Dawn and every single member of staff we encountered on the days before, the day itself and the day after were so polite and genuine!

The wedding package we had from them was fantastic and excellent value for money! the food was fantastic and everything was spotless and every guest extremely well looked after. I would definitely consider them for any other events in the future and would recommend them highly to others!

Thanks for a fantastic day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnO87, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted to see that we made your wedding day so perfect. Reading comments such as this about the staff here is fantastic and it is also nice to know that you would consider us for future events.

Kind Regards
David Tucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently stayed here whilst attending v festival. As did quite a few others!
We checked in on the Saturday night after getting in from the festival. It did seem to take a while but this could have been as we were tired. We had asked for a quiet room so the night receptionist did do this. However when we got to the room it reeked of smoke. The hotel is non smoking so someone had covered the smoke detector with a bag. We asked for a new room and this was arranged straight away. This room felt a little large than the other and thankfully smoke free. Bed was comfy, although the pillows were non exist. Tiny flat things. Amenities in room were fine. Bathroom also good. Although near a very busy road we did not here it.
We were between two rooms with groups of young festival goers and near the lift so there was some noise but we were so tired it didn't really bother us.
Overall it was fine for the purpose and would use again if we go to v festival.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikivara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnO87, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I must apologise about your room smelling of smoke when you checked in and am pleased to hear that our reception found you another room. I have ordered new pillows for the hotel this week. I hope to see you again next year should you choose to attend V Fest again.

Kind Regards
David Tucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelsall, walsall
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently got married at this hotel and would just like to say everything was excellent. From the moment we decided to go ahead and book this venue the staff could not do enough to help us. We had the PDL room and it was laid out brill. We did have to arrange our own chair covers and a few other things but i'm sure if i had asked the hotel they would have helped sort something. All our guests commented on how nice it all looked. We stayed at Hotel in the suite on the wedding night and also had the room the night before. The room was very clean and comfortable and bed also comfy, bathroom had everything you needed and again very clean. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic. We will definately be returning to here for our anniversary. Again all staff very friendly & helpful with everything.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnO87, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted to see that everything went so well on your wedding day and that you found the hotel and staff to be excellent. It is always very pleasing to read feedback such as this, particularly your comments about the staff as we pride oursleves on having friendly and helpful staff who will go the extra mile for our customers. I look forward to seeing you next year when you return for your anniversary.

Kind Regards
David Tucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I recently returned to this hotel on a complimentary visit, as I had such an awful time in Jan 2012.

Checking in fairly late, the reception staff didn't really seem to be on the case, I was allocated an 8th floor room, which when I arived in it had a sofa bed made up in addition to the main double bed reducing the floor space to virtually nil!

I asked the reception staff to remove this bed which they grudingly did. Being late, I did not try thr bar this time, but when I went to use the toilet, I discovered it would not flush properly, and as in January the shower water pressure was pathetic!

The room cleanliness was not good, lots of dust on surfaces, stained toilet, and the fridge (the alleged mini bar) had just water and milk pods in it, and was not that clean.

Real shame that despite all the complaints logged here early in 2012 things don't seem to have improved. I don't think I would stay here again, even though it is the most convenient hotel for my connections in the N Midlands.

Room Tip: I guess the lower the floor the better the shower pressure. Top floor dribble!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essex_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnO87, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your return stay with us. I was not aware of the issues that you had in January as I was not the Manager of the hotel at the time. I have however taken your recent comments on board and will be improving upon the areas of concern that you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to write this review as all feedback is extremely valuable to us.

Kind Regards
David Tucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great view from the windows, rooms have glass walls (windows), hence it is bright and give you maximum chance to enjoy the view at day and night.

Nice big shower cube (double length), clean bathroom. Hotel amenities are very basic (you only get soap/shampoo supply on the wall), but it says you could get other things from the reception if you need some.

Bed is comfy, clean sheets, telly with basic programms (i could only find 4 or 5 programms but at least it has itv on the list hehe),

internet connection in the room is not wifi, so i couldn´t connect because my notebook does not have the plug for it anymore.

The hotel is located in the middle of other premises (beauty center, indian restaurant; english bar and another suits hotel), you will always find a spot for your car on normal days, i believe.

It has train line nearby, but can´t hardly hear it from the rooms, and it is not a busy line.

breakfast is very basic (english breakfast, some yoghurt and fruits, oats, coffee, tea and juice facilities). but the food quality is good.

overall, it is a good hotel for short business trip to north birmingham area.

Room Tip: try to get the upper levels, the view is amazing from the 11th floor (where i stayed last time)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingvigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnO87, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent feedback on the hotel. With regards to not having wifi in our rooms, this is currently something I am looking into having installed throughout the hotel. I am sorry if not having it caused you any inconvenience. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
David Tucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on a Saturday. Payed £38 with breakfast so very reasonable. Room was small but well presented - carpet needed a good clean though - there was something on it so feet kept sticking to the floor. Pillows wafer thin - asked for some more but they didn't materialise. Bed was comfy though. Hotel was busy - had a wedding party - which meant the very small breakfast room was heaving the next day and they loitered waiting for all their friends which meant everyone else had to wait. There were no attempts by staff to move them on even though they all sat for a good hour after finishing. Breakfast ok - congealed beans, undercooked bacon - the usual but at £38 not complaining - might have been at the full rate of £69!
All in all ok stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnO87, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. Generaly our breakfast area can easily accomodate all of our residents. I do recognise however that occasionally on a Sunday morning the volume of people can become an issue due to the reasons that you have stated and us having many families staying with us. I am currently looking into ways of improving our breakfast service on very busy Sunday mornings and these will be in place very shortly. I am sorry that you found our pillows to be thin. I am currently awaiting a quote to have all pillows and duvets in the hotel replaced. I am pleased to see that you found us to be good value for money and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
David Tucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannock
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock (Orbital) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock South Hotel
2.3 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll
1.3 mi away
Roman Way Hotel
Roman Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatherton
2.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
Address: Bridge Street, Cannock WS11 0DQ, England (Formerly Orbital Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cannock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a striking contemporary 95 bedroom 12 storey hotel benefiting from FREE Parking and FREE WIFI. Located in Cannock Town Centre easily accessible from the M6 and 20 minutes away from the UK’s second biggest city Birmingham. Ideally located near to many local family attractions including Drayton Manor Park, Alton Towers, Cadbury’s World and Black Country Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham North Cannock Hotel Cannock
Ramada Cannock
Cannock Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing