We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cannock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Cannock B&B and Inns
Holywell, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having recently stayed at the cottage it was spotlessly clean, the room was on suite, i found it charming and large enough to sleep 3 adults. Steve the owner was always friendly and cooked an amassing breakfast. I would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and we would go back again. Yes the rooms are a little dated and could do with some complimentary body wash and shampoo but they are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are always lovely and who wouldn't want their toast buttered whilst it was still hot!
A pleasant stay for £55 per night for a couple.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Cottage I believe has seen better days but for one night the small room with ensuite was adequate for our needs. If you were a tall person you might fine it uncomfortable. The room was clean and the atmosphere was friendly. The WiFi wasn't working so we walked down the road to the Pub and found their WiFi wasn't working either but the second pub did have access. The hearty breakfast was a good start to the day. The location to the Wedgewood factory is good. All in all not a bad place to stop for the night. Would I stay here again, maybe. We were a bit surprised in the morning to find two dogs in the dining room. They were guests, so this might be a pet friendly establishment. The water pressure could be better for the shower and toilet. The TV was very small and hung in the corner of the room.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any rooms with high ceiling I would ask if you are a tall person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarylAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This review is in no way a reflection on the owner, Steve, who is a lovely man and who made us feel very welcome. The place however is dated and tired and in need of some basic maintenance. Our room (2 I think) was small, which is fine, but had some low sloping ceilings which you have to be careful of. There was a microwave in the room (???), a switch that is broken, the loo handle was also broken. The whole room felt like it needed an update and a really good clean (I counted half a dozen dead wasps which had collected in the light fitting in the bathroom for example). Saying that it was lovely and quite and my wife said she had two excellent nights sleep.

We went for breakfast with a bit of trepidation after Steve told the couple we were with that he needed to know what time we we staying so he could get everything out of the freezer. Once again, service with a smile but the breakfasts truly were bad. The toast came out pre buttered (if it was butter). The bacon was burnt, I had one and a sort of torn half of sausage on my plate etc etc. it's not that it wasn't edible just poor quality.

I can sort of see why people like the place but in many many years of travelling this was just about the worst place I have stayed in. Granted it is cheap but it could charge more if a bit of investment was put into the bedrooms. Declutter them, decorate in plain neutral colours, check everything works as it should, update the showers and bathroom fittings and charge a bit more to pay for it. Also get some decent fresh ingredients for breakfast (it is really important)

We won't be going back but I wish Steve every success.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevee303_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cannock hotels

Almería, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We read all the reviews and only one bad review so decided that the majority sang its praises so thought we would book this B&B for our festive holidays visiting the family as we live in Spain and were looking for a family run place to stay.
Straight away, there was a festive feel to the place; the dining room was lovely and quaint to have breakfast in. Our room was very clean and the overall size was very good, we stayed in room 2 with en suite. The floorboards creaked a little in the bathroom but I can honestly say the bed didn’t!!
The owner, Steve, I would refer to as a character, with a love of his Cottage, and he cooks a mean breakfast. Staying in a B&B for Christmas is not for everyone, but it was the next best thing to home for us, thank you Steve and his partner Jane.

Room Tip: Book room 2 for couples and room 1 if you have children, and im told pets are welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almeria32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed in the Cottage whilst on a bow making course and for a friendly short stay B&B you can't beat it. The breakfast was excellent and perfect for those with a large appetite. Although I had the only room without an ensuite this was not an issue because the bathroom was right next to my room and no one else used it. The room was immaculate although the beam in the roof was a bit low for me if I got out of bed to quickly.

What can I really say in addition apart from when I'm back in Cannock I'll be booking The Cottage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOldToxophilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

stayed at the cottage bed and breakfast for two nights superb very clean owner was allways there to help the breakfast was cooked to order and was fantastic i dont know how he does it at the price he charges once again a big thank you tony and sandra .from the east riding of yorkshire.

Room Tip: all rooms are great and no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apl15jul51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannock
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock South Hotel
2.7 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Roman Way Hotel
Roman Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatherton
2.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock (Orbital) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Cottage Pear Tree Close | Huntington, Cannock WS12 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cannock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing